We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gorsebank Camping Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalbeattie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gorsebank Camping Village
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent 7 nights in a Timber Tent at Gorsebank this June. Absolutely delighted! Gorsebank is set in a beautiful picturesque location with convenient amenities only a stones throw away. The onsite facilities (kitchen, showers, bathrooms) are all spotless and highly maintained. The location is perfect as a base to explore the area - would definitely recommend Rockcliffe Beach and The Anchor Hotel for food in Kippford. Will definitely be staying again, such a nice place to rest and relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamarie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    24
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
49
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed in wigwam CREE for one night. Everything was great. Very welcoming owners. Helpful when booking and sending info before we arrived.
Easy to find without SATNAV. Facilities really clean, great walks around farm and forest. If you want good fish and chips go into Dalbeattie and look for The Chip Shop in Alpine Street awesome.


Would recommend

Wgmac

Room Tip: If you don’t need the fridge turn it off at night as in can be noisy. If you have a dog make sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in wigwam with my partner, a 6year old and a 2 year old. wigwam was very clean on arrival. I have nothing negative to say about this place at all. As it was Amazing and excellent. very Clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Shower brilliant. Toilet block spotless. Have already recommended to friends. Will certainly b going back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlb2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for one night in the timber tent - they are basic but are all you need - heating, lighting, power sockets, window, lockable door and if you're under 6' you can just about stand straight in the middle.We got an airbed in no problem but you may struggle if its a really thick one. The setting, on a gorse hill, is idyllic with wildflowers and birds all around. The timber tent looks across to another one, so be prepared to wave to your neighbours ;)

There is a deck outside the door for sunbathing or prepping food etc, and your own 4 seater picnic table plus a fire pit, also a stone slab for disposable BBQs etc. We found the owners really friendly & hospitable and the working farm was both interesting and beautifully set in lush fields and forest. We didn't bike but it's really close to the Seven Staines MTB trails and hires out bikes and equipment. We bought firewood etc from the owners - all the stuff is pretty well priced, which was nice. The kitchen area is good with all you need, the toilets & showers were first class.

You can tell a lot of thought and good planning has gone into Gorsebank - no expense spared and the location is brilliant. The other accomodation - Hobbit Pods, Bothy's et al - look excellent, and we'll definitely be going back :)

All in all, great site - definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Timber Tents have a wooden floor and no equipment as such, so remember to bring what you need! The o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl-UKdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darvel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Tho only a few hours from home this is an ideal getaway, with good weather u could imagine ur anywhere!! Amazing stars, amazing wildlife and with amazing friends it was the ideal short break for unwinding. We were certainly more than comfy in the bothy, glamp up or camp down according to ur own wishes. Farm is sooooo quiet, owners soooo friendly, as a famous fella once said " I'll be back"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeDarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been goign to the wigwams for a few years and enjoy all the mod cons. Microwave, fridge, kettle etc. The folk running it are very helpful and I have to say i enjoying the individual firepits and picnic tables. Great getaway.
The bed is proper comfy and can easily sleep 4 people, the heating makes it nice and cosy and its nice an peacful. Highly recommended as a wee romantic break or family getaway,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IRB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Gorsebank has become a regular short break destination for me because of the great standard of accommodation and excellent location for mountain biking. Have stayed in the wigwams here on a number of different trips - with my partner, with a group of friends and with family - and it has been a success every time.

The site itself consists of a few wigwams, jumbo pods and timber tents and never feels crowded. The wigwams are very well equipped - each has lighting, heating, electricity sockets, a kettle, a toaster, a small fridge and a microwave. Outside, each unit has its own campfire and picnic bench. Up to four adults can be comfortably accommodated in a wigwam and all you need is a sleeping bag, as there are raised wooden platfoms with a foam mattress to sleep on.

The shower/toilet block is clean and the showers are great - good water pressure and easy to get the temperature you want. The only bad point is that quite a draught gets in under the doors on a windy day! There is also an indoor kitchen area if you wish to self-cater (although good dining options nearby), which has a microwave, four ring hob, kettle, toaster, sink, pots & pans, crockery and cutlery.

Other onsite facilities/features include: bike storage unit, scavenger hunt, fishing pools (carp). You can buy basic supplies and charcoal from the reception/farmhouse. Bike hire and horse riding are also available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CairngormCatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalbeattie
22.0 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
15.0 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kerr Cottage
Kerr Cottage
#1 of 5 in Dalbeattie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorsebank Camping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorsebank Camping Village

Property: Gorsebank Camping Village
Address: A710 Coast Road | Greenhill Farm, Dalbeattie DG5 4QT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dalbeattie
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Gorsebank Camping Village Hotel Dalbeattie
Gorsebank Camping Village Dalbeattie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing