We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay at Trewan B&B”
Review of Trewan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trewan Guest House
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Jenny is a wonderful hostess - very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast she prepared was delicious and plentiful - great homemade jams!! Trewan is in a quiet neighborhood up the hill from the center of town and has a large parking area behind the house with easy access to rooms. I would definitely stay again on a return trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for Trewan Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 10 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and i stayed here in September and were made extremely welcome by Jenny a lovely friendly lady. The accommodation is very comfortable and provides all you need in the bedrooms. We stayed for three nights with our dog Casper and will definately stay again.The breakfast is superb with homemade jams and all cooked in a lovely farmhouse kitchen where Jenny will advise you on places to visit etc., We ate at Luigis twice an excellent italian restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Dalbeattie and the surrounding towns are not over-endowed with hotels, so I selected Trewan for its proximity to the place I was visiting.

Jenny has an enormous carpark at the back of the house and a beautiful garden. She has arranged a kind of bridge, so you can wheel your suitcase right to bedroom level, from the garden. [There are about 6 or 8 steps from the car park down to the garden]. I had a bedroom with a glorious view to the hills on the other side of town and the sun poured in during the evening.

The room had a television, a kettle kit and a 3 piece shower room. Jenny served breakfast in the big kitchen and finished it while I waited [and chatted], so everything was fresh. One of the choices was home made jam on toast to follow the full Scottish breakfast. she had a fund of local knowledge, when making recommendations.

Next time I'm in D+G, I'll stay at Trewan.

Room Tip: I think there are only 2 and I think they face the same way.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblingRose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We made one mistake; we stayed for only one night! Jenny made our first night in Scotland wonderful and was a great host when we were visited in the garden by newly discovered family we were fortunate to have an opportunity to meet when we traveled. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the breakfast as well as Jenny's company made for a memorable though short stay. An absolute gem!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Jenny is an amazing host providing top quality breakfasts along with first class hospitality - everything was excellent - I will return with my family.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Lovely building with beautiful gardens. Jenny was super friendly and helpful, and her dogs are lovely and friendly. Very quaint, like staying at your grandmother's. Never made it for breakfast unfortunately. Room had tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc and had everything you would need. Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jampat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This B&B is in a beautiful setting. The room was of a good size, nicely decorated and kept very clean throughout our stay. My better half was particularly impressed with the cooked breakfast, the perfect way to set us up for a day's walking in the forest. On the one day it rained, Jenny kindly dried our wet clothes overnight ready for the sunny day that followed. We had a wonderful holiday and will definitely be returning. Thank you Jenny!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank numphar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalbeattie hotels
0.5 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dalbeattie
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kerr Cottage
Kerr Cottage
#1 of 5 in Dalbeattie
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dalbeattie Guest House
Dalbeattie Guest House
#4 of 5 in Dalbeattie
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
125 reviews
4.5 mi away
No photo provided
Springfield B&B
#3 of 5 in Dalbeattie
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craignair Cottage
Craignair Cottage
#2 of 5 in Dalbeattie
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trewan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trewan Guest House

Address: 97 William Street, Dalbeattie DG5 4EE, Scotland (Formerly Trewan Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dalbeattie
Price Range: $124 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trewan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trewan is a 300 year old traditional granite cottage on the edge of Dalbeattie Forest, with immediate access to the forest and the 7 Stanes Mountain Biking Trails. You will get exclusive use of the holiday cottage when you book, which is situated above the owners accommodation. Having recently been refitted to a very high standard Trewan provides guests with their own private full kitchen, dining room and lounge, all of which are regularly serviced, all you have to do is bring the food. The cottage has 3 bedrooms, a triple with en-suite shower room, a twin and a double, a large family bathroom. You will also find a modern kitchen and comfortable lounge area all for your private use. Walkers and cyclists will particularly enjoy the proximity of the forest, just a stones throw away. The lounge area has plenty of seating and a dining table perfect for those who are exhausted after an energetic days cycling or walking in Dalbeattie Forest or exploring the main attractions of Dumfries and Galloway. There is a separate entrance from the garden to the guest accommodation, especially convenient for dog owners and we are happy for the large garden to be used and enjoyed as you wish. This includes a variety of seating and tables, perfect for a garden picnic. You will find a large double garage providing secure storage for bikes and apparatus along with plenty of room for those essential repairs and upgrades. The car park has space for 12 cars so touring caravans are easily accommodated if necessary. Trewan is ideally situated for all the town amenities. It is a 5 minute walk to the shops and restaurants and a variety of friendly village pubs in historic Dalbeattie town. It is a 10 minute drive to the lovely beach of Sandyhills, the sailing facilities of Kippford or the seaside cove of Rockcliffe on traffic free roads. Not to mention local horse riding stables and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trewan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trewan Guest House Dalbeattie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing