We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kerr Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kerr Cottage
Ranked #1 of 5 Dalbeattie B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Spotless, comfortable, welcoming, tea, coffee & biscuits in the room, plus other nice touches, great breakfast and free wifi. What more could you want in a B&B? There's also off street parking round the back. Would thoroughly recommend Kerr Cottage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westenddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
98
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent B & B. Our second visit and as good as before. Better in fact with the new breakfast room. Good access and facilities for wheelchair users. Well situated for exploring this unspoilt area of Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosevinecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel en le Frith, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a great place to stay, top class accommodation, fantastic hosts and delicious breakfasts to complete the experience. We stayed 2 nights whilst attending a party up the road and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay or nicer people to stay with. It's definitely staying on our top B and B list. Thank you Liz and Ian!

Room Tip: We had the room for less mobile people and it was top class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalindG194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Great B&B, have been before and will go back again. Friendly welcome, lovely room, sparking clean bathroom, and a really good breakfast (definitely above average breakfast for me, with some local produce). For me the location is perfect as you can cycle to Dalbeattie MTB trails, or drive to Mabie, Ae or Kirroughtree. Only 5 mins walk to Dalbeattie center - it's not a v big town but has a few shops, and good curry and Italian restaurants. The only downside I can possibly think of is its on a fairly big road, not a big trunk road, but sometimes lorries come past at night and you can hear them. We didn't really find it a problem though.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank segill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here with friends as we were attending gigs within an hour or so away, and this had disabled facilities. From the moment we got there to the moment we left, it was like one of our mums was with us. Really looked after :) room was huge (me and my friend shared the double, my disabled friend had her own, oh and the mattress banter!!). On our last day, we all decided to leave Liz a thank you note. We don't do it often, but in this instance it was seriously justified, left it so shed see it when our room was sorted, anyway she came running out with a tear in her eye hugging us all, which we all got a lump at, was nice to know wed made someone feel good and appreciated :) then the best part ever, while we were packing we thought we had everything, oh dear god no, Lizs hubby came out asking whose knickers were these on the bed, granny pants no less!! Not one of us could even move for ten minutes solid for being doubled up in hysterics!! Was such a great stay though, would return in a heartbeat if ever that way again x also stayed summer 2009 but option below not letting me go that far.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Returned 20th april from second visit to Kerr Cottage & the lovely couple (Liz & Ian) who own it.
You could not find a better & more friendly place to stay anywhere.If you need to know anything or want anything you only have to ask.We were highjacked one evening on our way in after having a meal in town to meet Ian's mum sister & some friends(saying no was not an option with Liz & Ian)we had a lovely evening with them.
We will be staying again. Good luck Ian with you're charity bike ride in sept

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrcottage, Owner at Kerr Cottage, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay - it is very much appreciated.
We're so glad you enjoyed your second visit to Kerr Cottage and I hope you will be returning again next year.
It was lovely to have your company, and great that you could meet other members of the family. We really enjoyed the evening and glad you did too.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked Kerr Cottage to attend a family wedding and what a little gem! Liz is the perfect hostess and makes you very welcome. Our room was spotless and beautifully decorated (as was the rest of the house!). Breakfast is to die for!! There is a guest sitting room, free Wifi and you can help yourself to beer/wine etc from the fridge. It's the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janey8572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrcottage, Owner at Kerr Cottage, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking the time to post a review.
If ever your relatives who live in Dalbeattie haven't got room for you, it would be lovely to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalbeattie
0.6 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
3.2 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
5.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dalbeattie Guest House
Dalbeattie Guest House
#4 of 5 in Dalbeattie
5.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
18.9 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 7 in Castle Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerr Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerr Cottage

Property: Kerr Cottage
Address: Kerr Cottage Port Road, Dalbeattie DG5 4AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dalbeattie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kerr Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerr Cottage is a typically Scottish detached property within walking distance of the centre of Dalbeattie, in the beautiful county of Dumfries and Galloway. All 3 bedrooms have en-suite facilities together with Egyptian cotton bed linen, digital TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The guest lounge has 3 luxury leather sofas and breakfast is taken in the bright dining room overlooking the Galloway hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Kerr Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerr Cottage Dalbeattie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing