We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great visit!”
Review of Kerr Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kerr Cottage
Ranked #1 of 5 Dalbeattie B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We returned to Kerr Cottage for the third time this year last week and yet again we were made to feel so welcome and part of the family. We feel so comfortable there; its easy to forget that you aren't at home! Yet again Liz's breakfast kept us going all day and we honestly didn't eat again until the evening. We tell everyone about Kerr Cottage and how great it is but maybe we should stop now or we might find ourselves without accomodation! Carry on just as you are Liz and Ian because your home is just fabulous.

Room Tip: All rooms are light and airy and equally nice but we just love the ground floor room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrcottage, Owner at Kerr Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for the review, after visiting 3 times this year I feel you are part of our family too. The sound of laughter from the dining room as you sit and chat to our other guests is music to my ears - it means everyone is having a great time.
Looking forward to seeing you again in 2013 - thanks for your continued support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Kerr Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 198 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed again with Liz and Ian at Kerr Cottage - our 4th stay. As usual the welcome was warm and the accomodation tip top and exceptionally clean and.The breakfasts in the newly built breakfast room was plentiful and a joy to eat. The house was as usual warm and cosy.
Highly recommend this homely bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewipoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrcottage, Owner at Kerr Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write another complimentary review of Kerr Cottage. It's so nice when people return to us, we must be getting something right. I'm so pleased you enjoyed breakfast in the new room, we're certainly very happy with it. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back next year and you will see what other improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have visited here twice with family. The rooms are better than some four star hotels that I have visited. We were made to feel welcome and could not have asked for better service. Breakfast was tailored to or requirements and the free wi-fi was most useful. A separate sitting room is provided for guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quietc0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A really nice place to stay. We stayed a couple of nights and can't praise it highly enough. The rooms were simply and beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, light and airy.

The breakfast was superb with plenty of choice and my partner, who decided to try one of everything, was almost defeated by the amount he was given. Everything was fresh and nicely presented.

The lady running Kerr cottage was very welcoming and more than helpful with looking for places to eat or visit locally.

I would have no hesitation thoroughly recommending Kerr cottage, even to the most picky.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room you go for they're all excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Suffice it to say that after two weeks of touring the UK, our friends said this was their favourite of all the b&b's and hotels we stayed at! Liz and Ian have it working so well. You have plenty of space in a beautifully maintained and spacious home that they keep immaculate and pretty with lovely towels and toiletries. there's plenty of good laughter and they make you feel right at home. You feel like it's all yours, as their living quarters are separate but very close to where you are. Parking is dead easy, and the breakfast was delicious. it's a welcoming place for people with mobility problems, as one room has a bathroom that easily handles a wheelchair. We want to go back and play golf with them!

Room Tip: stay more than one night!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hierbenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Another great stay at Kerr Cottage, we just keep coming back as we can't beat it. Liz and Ian are the perfect hosts, the house with its new breakfast room is beautifully kept with a nice relaxing feel to it and the location for us mountain bikers is amazing..... not to mention the fab breakfast!
Thanks for a great stay, Lucy and Joe :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LubyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our third or fourth visit to Kerr Cottage and will not be our last! We come to this region of Scotland for the excellent mountain biking, and Liz and Ians fab place was discovered by a friend, now we all come! The standard of accomodation is excellent, breakfasts beautiful, but most importantly, the wecome is fantastic! The owners have the ability to be all things, to all people and really understand their vocation. Every visit, there has been yet more improvements as they strive to make the cottage perfect. Liz and Ian deserve these accolades for the energy and hard work they apply to their craft, but most importantly the willingness to share it with you. Kerr Cottage is our Scotish 'home from home'! Well done to both of you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliobumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrcottage, Owner at Kerr Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Wow - what praise.
Thank you so much for writing such lovely things about us - what more can I say.
We enjoy meeting people and especially welcoming back past visitors who we think of as friends.
Hopefully we will see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalbeattie
0.2 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dalbeattie
59 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
125 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dalbeattie Guest House
Dalbeattie Guest House
#4 of 5 in Dalbeattie
7 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerr Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerr Cottage

Address: Kerr Cottage Port Road, Dalbeattie DG5 4AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dalbeattie
Price Range: $95 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kerr Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerr Cottage is a typically Scottish detached property within walking distance of the centre of Dalbeattie, in the beautiful county of Dumfries and Galloway. All 3 bedrooms have en-suite facilities together with Egyptian cotton bed linen, digital TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The guest lounge has 3 luxury leather sofas and breakfast is taken in the bright dining room overlooking the Galloway hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kerr Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerr Cottage Dalbeattie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing