We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent venue for our son's christening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Arms Hotel

The Kings Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalbeattie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dalbeattie
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent venue for our son's christening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We used the Kings Arms as a venue for a small get together after our son's christening. It was great. We live 400 miles away and booked everything over the phone. The day before the christening we took in some balloons, table decorations and a cake and they prepared everything for us. We had a private room at the back of the hotel and it looked lovely. The buffet they provided was just great and was topped up (we even took some home). The price was very reasonable. We would definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sayhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Suffolk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've never stayed in the hotel but have eaten here on a number of visits to Dalbeattie. My last meal here was in July 2012. As usual, the food was good quality and in good portions. The menu gives a good selection, including lighter options if you don't want a full meal. I have always found the staff to be really friendly and helpful, so it's a pleasure to go back when we are in the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe9
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We ate at Kings Arms one night during a stay in Dalbeattie.

There were many choices on the menu, all reasonably priced and our food, (lasagne and chicken curry), arrived quickly, were filling and very tasty.

Recommended for very good pub food.

(Didn't stay here, so cannot review the accomodation).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morecambe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were all greeted with an extremely friendly welcome.
Secure parking in the rear car park for our 5 motor bikes; it was just the job.
On entering the hotel you could immediately see it was well cared for and immaculately clean.
The rooms were of a very high standard - modern with fantastic en suite (Double Shower). This was certainly the best hotel we stayed in on our 1400 mile bike journey up the East Coast - across the North and down the West Coast. This was out final night stop before heading home and it certainly made a huge difference to our outlook on the trip and indeed hotel value for money.
We had an evening meal - I had the wonderful soup starter, followed by Haggis, neaps and tatties and trifle dessert and may I add that it was excellent food. My friends were also extolling the virtues of their meals. We washed it down with a fine bottle of Fish Hoek Shiraz 2010/11, Western Cape, South Africa (Priced at £13). The meals represented terrific value for money all round.
The following morning the breakfast was truly magnificent - self serve fruit juice and cereals, followed by unlimited tea and toast (served by a really kind and friendly elderly waitress - she asked me to refer to her that!!) and a full Scottish breakfast.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I will be returning in the not too distant future.
I have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful 5 star experience.
Well done Kings Arms - keep up the good work

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ubl666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed before. Always warm welcome, excellent food and clean rooms.
Will continue to return!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Visited here 2 nights for meals while staying near here and i must say' the meals were very very good. It has a lovely eating area. nice and clean and decorated really nice. The young lady from manchester behind the bar and also who served our food was very friendly and her service to us was outstanding. She made us feel very welcome. Would definatelay go back there to eat if in that area again. Loved the crispy duck with barbeque sauce. If the roooms are as nice as the rest of the hotel i'm sure they will be just perfect.keep up the good work Kings Arms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gail s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalmellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We just had a lovely weekend in Dalbeattie for family celebration. Mum and Dad had lovely stay in the kings arms while the rest of us stayed in kings arms holiday cottage which was a lovely 3 bedroomed spacious accomadation. We also had dinner in hotel which was excellent and very good value. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalbeattie
0.4 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.4 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.5 mi away
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kerr Cottage
Kerr Cottage
#1 of 5 in Dalbeattie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.6 mi away
Springfield B&B
Springfield B&B
#3 of 5 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dalbeattie Guest House
Dalbeattie Guest House
#4 of 5 in Dalbeattie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Dalbeattie DG5 4HA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dalbeattie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Dalbeattie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing