We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
17
1
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
1
1
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 21 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2016

First of all this is not a B&Bistro, just an ordinary B&B, the bistro closed according to the owner around April/May-16, we booked this on the strength of having both accomadation and eating at the same location. Not knowing the bistro was closed we arrived to find no signage of where the B&B was, the house looked just like a private resident? After asking a local taxi driver he told us it was the house next door.
Room was OK however its position right at the front of the building was only feet from the main through road so even with double glazing it was noisy & with passing walkers in the late evening very noisy.
The owner had a private party the evening we arrived which was ok but due a very late night & lots of alcohol she was not able to provide a cooked breakfast! So a very poor continental breakfast was offered, on Sunday morning we had a early start leaving the B&B around 7:45, no sign of the owner, no breakfast left out not even cereal or fruit!
Returned back around 7pm no one around? Had a meal at local restaurant and returned back around 10pm, no one around?
Monday morning could smell breakfast cooking (horray) my was informed our breakfast was ready? ( funny that no one had asked us what we would like for breakfast)
So it came the full Scottish, wonderful if you wanted it! Would have been nice to asked what would you like? After all we could have been vegetarians!
Having paid strong money for both bed and breakfast and not having what we'd pay for was very disappointing. Housekeeper was away so on Sunday we had no room make up again poor service, it seems that the owner appears to be playing at being a B&B & not giving the attention to good customer service, on thing they need to learn is when answering a business phone is to tell the caller who you are with a professional greeting not just hello! Well it's fairy ovbouis that we were not impressed and cannot recommend this B&B.

Room tip: Find another B&B
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank petermcgowan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P Anne B, Owner at The Clock House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Hi, I have just found this trip advisor account today! Didn't know it was listed and didn't know it was described as having a bistro. I have advised Trip Advisor today. Hopefully they will update their site.
Thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2015

Lovely newly created B&B. My room was in the main house and wasn't big but was well appointed and had a decent size en-suite. The hostess Mrs Ballantyne is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good and plentiful.

I understand that you can have sandwiches made up for you if you wish to go out walking or you could pop back and have Afternoon Tea.

An all round good place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P Anne B, Owner at The Clock House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Hi, Thanks for your great review. I didn't know the B&B was listed - so apologies for the late Thank You.
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2015

This new B&B was lovely, the owner was extremely friendly and very accommodating to our needs. Nothing was too much hassle. Breakfast was a full cooked breakfast or a continental was offered both great. The B&B was lovely and facilities were 5 star. Coffee and tea available in all rooms. There was even a full use of kitchen available, outside garden area. I heard of an outside hot tub coming which looks over the hills. lovely dining area and bathrooms were brand new and lovely. I would truly recommend anyone to stay here with family, business, singles and couples. I left having felt like I had a real nice time, stay and a great sleep in great bedding sheets and comfy beds. THANKS TRISH FOR A LOVELY STAY. Your a great host.

Room tip: En-suite rooms were amazing. lovely boutique new guest house.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P Anne B, Owner at The Clock House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Hello. Apologies for the late Thank You for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2015

This new b&b is was perfectly placed for my touring of St Andrews and Stirling. Very comfortable rooms with beautiful new furnishings and decoration. The rooms are quiet with ample parking nearby, and good public rooms as well should you wish to mingle with other guests. The owner was very helpful, with advice on local attractions, and very importantly for a b&b, was always contactable during my stay whilst amenable to any last minute changes to my itinery

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P Anne B, Owner at The Clock House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Apologies for the late response to your lovely review. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P Anne B, Owner at The Clock House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews