We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High tea heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tillicoultry
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“High tea heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just enjoyed a heavenly high tea at the Harviestoun Country Hotel. Exceptional value for money at £12.50/person, lovely tender home made steak pie. In fact all the goodies seemed to be home made and when I checked this is the case - melt in the mouth shortbread, chewy meringue and delicious raspberry jam. Definitely worth and visit and I know we will return very soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babydoll1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    38
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
60
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

This place enjoys a spectacular location, and a great building. It's such a shame the food and service is merely average. Could be a fantastic Gastropub style restaurant with a little bit of imagination.a missed opportunity. It's not that this place is bad, it could just be so much better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tillicoultry
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

the harviestoun is a very nice hotel and restaurant ,serving tasty food and with friendly staff .The menu is varied and interesting and we had a very enjoyable Sunday afternoon meal .The surroundings are lovely ,with the Ochil hills as a backdrop .Well worth a visit .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valerius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stayed at the Harviestoun two nights on a business trip and I found it very cosy and welcoming. It was a pleasure to go back to the room after a long day working.
Breakfast was ok - not spectacular, but tasty - and provided an ample enough choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mirasuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Bit of a delayed review as I wasn't really aware of Trip Advisor at the time. We booked the Harviestoun for my wee boys christening for Oct 2010. Elizabeth and her staff couldn't have been more helpful in both the arranging and the day itself. She was happy to discuss our needs and nothing was too much hassle. The function room was clean, plenty of space and very well laid out. The catering was also more than sufficient as we had been worried whether the buffet would be enough for all the guests- we needn't have worried at all.

The christening had been in Dollar and it was only a short journey to the Harviestoun, but worth the effort.

Just to let you know, we chose the Harviestoun as our first son had his christening reception at the Castle Campbell in Dollar which was the antithesis of the Harviestoun, run down, poor catering, rude staff (the manager changed completely once we had actually handed over money) and in a word 'horrendous'.

Well done to Elizabeth and the Harviestoun staff.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickeyblue1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed one night and enjoyed our stay very much. Room clean, tv a bit small, but food and service could put many other (and bigger) hotels to shame. A lot of attention to detail and staff attentive without being overbearing. Had a delicious meal and choice of food good. Every hotel should be as good as this !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macallan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel a few times. It is very good and has never disappointed me.
It is easy to find and a great deal of effort had been made to make it attractive with fine displays of flowers in hanging baskets. But more importantly, I was made to feel very welcome as soon as I stepped into the hotel.
The rates are reasonable, the hotel is scrupulously clean and the rooms are very comfortable. They are also fine for working in with a decent desk and lighting.
In this part of Scotland there are quite a few good places to eat nearby. However, we found the food and service to be so good and of such good value we ate in the hotel each night.
Why is it like this? ... the answer is obvious ... it is largely down to the excellent leadership of the owner, Elizabeth, who must have high expectations of all her staff and who models good customer service. A good example of leading from the front!
What of the future? I suggest that the hotel considers updating the decor of the bedrooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillicoultry
4.4 mi away
Broomhall Castle
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
8.0 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
6.5 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk North Hotel
7.3 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Dollar Road, Tillicoultry FK14 6RR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Tillicoultry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tillicoultry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant Tillicoultry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing