We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch with a friend”

Muircot Farmshop Coffee Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lunch with a friend”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I visited the coffee shop on Monday with a friend. The premises are bright and airy with spectacular views of the Ochil hills from a north facing glass window which extends the entire length of the eating area. The place looked fairly quiet given the amount of tables. There were however a few groups of people in for lunch. The lunch menu seemed nice but fairly simple but what was being served up looked well presented and everything was home cooked and I think using locally sourced ingredients. My friend and I both had tomato and basil soup which was very tasty and then a piece of carrot cake to share. I do feel that the cakes are a little expensive and could not have justified spending £3.50 on a piece for myself. Saying that the portions of cake were large. The coffee shop is not on a main road so I think needs to advertise itself maybe somewhere on the A907 to catch more visitors to the area. I see that other trip advisors have commented on the shop being sparsley stocked. Until the shop takes off I feel that the owners have no option in order to minimise waste. I hope this little place takes off as it would be an asset to the wee county.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitten1962_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    54
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Village
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great coffee and cakes”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We read about Muircot in Scottish Field and arrived late in the afternoon for coffee and cake. Both were spot on and the scones were particularly delicious. The view towards the Ochils was stunning too and we would have stayed longer had it not been closing time! The shop also has some great produce and we are very much looking forward to another visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Village
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best lemon meringue pie we've ever tasted”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Having passed Muircot on several occasions, today we finally stopped. We love a good farm shop cafe! The farm shop aspect of the premises felt sparsely stocked; there was not a huge selection. However, what was there was excellent quality local produce including Dunning strawberries (very flavoursome), Puddledub meats and Clyde Valley tomatoes.

The building is large: spacious, light and airy. The view across to the Ochills is spectacular. The menus is very small: soups, pâté, sandwiches. But all is done to a high standard. The homemade Scotch egg looked amazing. The real triumph was the selection of cakes. My husband's lemon meringue pie was served with a generous jug of double cream. We have never tasted a better pie! The pastry was beautiful. And they sell whole pies in the farm shop! I had a chocolate millionaire shortbread thing which was also delicious.

This is a great place of families as there is a children's kitchen to amuse little ones and a fenced outdoor area.

I can't think of a better place to eat cake in a 10 mile radius. A new regular haunt!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doris1981_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lunch/snack”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Well lit and airy ,spacious seating,panoramic views of the Ochils,ample parking,pleasant staff greeted on entry.
4 had the freshly prepared sandwiches Ham/chutney /chicken,2shared the chicken and were given a separate plate with salad,that was really kind as this is unusual in most places.
We believe and could see that all bread and cakes are made on the premises again unusual to find.
Scones were excellent,we felt that some of the cakes were a little pricy.
This our 3 rd visit in the last month and we certainly be back
The staff were very attentive,friendly and smartly attired

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsparkle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent good quality tasty food”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a fantastic lunch in beautiful surroundings with wonderful views. Club sandwiches use puddledub bacon and their own free range chicken with lovely bread. Nice dressed side salad and coleslaw. We were too full to try homebakes but had brownies to take away which were huge and delicious. Great to see local produce for sale and used in the cafe and showcase for local arts and crafts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 477BillyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muircot Farmshop Coffee Shop also viewed

Tillicoultry, Clackmannanshire
 
Dollar, Clackmannanshire
Dollar, Clackmannanshire
 

Been to Muircot Farmshop Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing