We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
80
17
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
17
1
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 101 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2015

We only stayed one night but wow what a lovely stay we had. Fantastic home. Evie and her son are just great. Our room was so spacious. The ensuite bathroom being the size of some bedrooms we have stayed in!! Hope to visit again one day. Thanks Evie for everything. Nikki and Harry x

Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Nikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2014

The owner Evie is a delight to stay with, and couldn't be more helpful, and the house is one of those hidden Scottish gems with classic original Victorian features everywhere. Huge and very comfortable bedrooms too. We have stayed there several times now. You'll love it!

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mikeblanchard007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2014

First...the location is really close to Stirling and very good to go to all the places around.
Well...we just love Westbourne House in Tillicoultry! It was an unexpected but wonderfull night!!! We came in late...and Evie invited us to dinner with her! The meal and the talk were great! The ensuite bedroom is huge and wonderfull...and the bathroom just marvellous! Everything good...a typical antique manor house! And Evie is a lovely person...and the she cooks very well, it was the best breakfast we had in Scotland!!! Highly recommended!!! Thanks Evie...we LOVE IT ALL!!! Maria & José

Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank maria joão r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2014

Being Spoiled American's we weren't quite sure what to expect upon arriving at Westbourne House. From the outside the house was nice enough. We were greeted by a young couple. Apparently the owner was on holiday. We were the only guests at the time we arrived. The young couple didn't interact with us very much and we really felt more like intruders than paying customers. Our room was huge but the linens were very well worn as were the towels in the bathroom. For us it just wasn't a very comfortable 2 days.

Room Tip: If you like "rustic" this is the place for you
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank AuntBibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I must confess that until we visited the UK from Australia last week I hadn't stayed in a B&B in 30 years! Based on childhood experiences of fierce landladies kicking you out the door after breakfast and warning you not to return until teatime and grumpy old people in dingy living rooms, I had low expectations despite the great looking house on the website. Anyway my fears were banished as soon as we walked through the door and met the lovely Evie. A friendlier and more attentive landlady you could not wish for. My wife and daughter stayed in a double room with additional single beds and my sister, her husband and her kids stayed in a similar room with bunk beds. Both rooms were large and very comfortable. The centre of the house is a fabulous hallway where breakfast is served (a fine cooked Scottish breakfast, wide choice of cereals, breads and toast) and where Evie is very happy to allow guests to socialise. We brought fish and chips and a couple of bottles of wine back one night and had a great time chatting in the fine surroundings. One morning when setting off early Evie made us take away bacon sandwiches and gave the kids donuts to eat in the car. Nothing was too much trouble and the house is full of character - my favourite was the staircase and stained glass skylight. Wi-fi connection was excellent and there are shelves full of books to borrow. Location is great with shops and pubs close by and a short drive to Stirling, Perth and Glasgow. We will certainly book again when we are next in the area. Thanks for a wonderful stay Evie. Jon, Linda and Lucy From Melbourne, Australia.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews