We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”
Review of Westbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westbourne House
Ranked #2 of 4 Tillicoultry B&B and Inns
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Evie our hostess was simply a delight and so natural.....We enjoyed only one night but everything was perfect.....lovely bed, delicious breakfast, and beautiful surroundings.....This is a perfect B & B....Thank you Evie

Room Tip: Quiet and very comfy.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marymair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    17
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
22
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had 2 wonderful days in Tillicoultry, Scotland with our gracious hostess, Evie. The house, with its spiral staircase and large airy rooms was an enchanting step back in time. The breakfast was large and delicious. The beds, comfortable warm and inviting. But, it's Evie, the hostess that makes the Westbourne memorable and significant. Evie pays attention to detail and makes you feel at home. She even provides a library and invites guests to keep the book if you happen to fall in love with a good novel (which I did). All in all, the Westbourne is an easy 5/5 and we hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auxerre, Bourgogne, France
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A good stay . The rooms are very beautiful and comfortable.
Thank you for this welcome.
Evie your are a very good hostess. For my part I felt very well at home. To be honest I'll have stayed a few more weeks to even discover your country and enjoy our room which was very comfortable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auxerre, France
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very warm welcome. The rooms were comfortable and the food was good. It's a nice place to relax. Moreover Evie is a wonderful hostess. I hope that I might come back one day and why not with some friends or my family !

Room Tip: The room left is perfect if you like the darkness with streaks of light the morning ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaux H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We only stayed one night at Westbourne Guesthouse (April 2013) but I wished our schedule would have let us stay longer. We were very comfortable. We got a warm, friendly welcome from Evie. She even came out to the car to meet us. The room was large and spacious, comfortable bed. It was quiet and restful. I loved the large wooden shutters over the window to keep out the early morning light. The full Scottish breakfast was delicious. We were treated like we were special guests and would definitely come back if we are in this area again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My journey had taken nearly two hours longer than expected. Sat nav said you have reached your destination but I couldn't see Westbourne House, I turned round and saw B&B sign.
I received a very warm greeting from Evie and welcomed into the house. Wow, beautiful hall and staircase.
My room was large with a double and two single beds. It was clean and warm and quiet.
I was told I might need to close the window shutters as the morning sun streams in here, it did.
Only a few minutes walk into the town so very convenient for local shops and to get something to eat.
I had very good nights sleep and breakfast next morning was five star. My pot of tea had a teacosy,homely. The full Scottish was plentiful and interesting preserves were on offer, "pomme de gellee" for example
I plan to stay at Westbourne House again and would recommend if you like a quiet well run friendly establishment.
The reviewer not liking their stay here must have unusually high standards or have been very very unlucky.
I plan to return next year.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I went for a school trip in Scotland and I was so surprised when I saw this beautiful house. And the service is excellent as well.
I've had a wonderful week in this house. Everything was perfect !
This place would be a perfect place for your holidays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillicoultry
0.2 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Broomhall Castle
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clock House B&B
The Clock House B&B
#3 of 4 in Tillicoultry
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Tormaukin
Tormaukin
#1 of 1 in Glendevon
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bridge Inn
The Bridge Inn
#4 of 4 in Tillicoultry
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne House

Property: Westbourne House
Address: 10 Dollar Road, Tillicoultry FK13 6PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Tillicoultry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tillicoultry
Hotel Class:3 star — Westbourne House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westbourne House was built in 1856 and originally the home of local woolen mill owner, John Paton and his family. This fascinating Victorian mansion is set within its own wooded grounds, nestling beneath the Ochil Hills. There are dramatic views of the hills rising steeply behind the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbourne House Tillicoultry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing