We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning to return next year”
Review of Westbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westbourne House
Ranked #2 of 4 Tillicoultry B&B and Inns
1 review
“Planning to return next year”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My journey had taken nearly two hours longer than expected. Sat nav said you have reached your destination but I couldn't see Westbourne House, I turned round and saw B&B sign.
I received a very warm greeting from Evie and welcomed into the house. Wow, beautiful hall and staircase.
My room was large with a double and two single beds. It was clean and warm and quiet.
I was told I might need to close the window shutters as the morning sun streams in here, it did.
Only a few minutes walk into the town so very convenient for local shops and to get something to eat.
I had very good nights sleep and breakfast next morning was five star. My pot of tea had a teacosy,homely. The full Scottish was plentiful and interesting preserves were on offer, "pomme de gellee" for example
I plan to stay at Westbourne House again and would recommend if you like a quiet well run friendly establishment.
The reviewer not liking their stay here must have unusually high standards or have been very very unlucky.
I plan to return next year.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    17
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
22
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I went for a school trip in Scotland and I was so surprised when I saw this beautiful house. And the service is excellent as well.
I've had a wonderful week in this house. Everything was perfect !
This place would be a perfect place for your holidays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Booked two rooms as visiting family. Eve came out to greet us, then showed us to our very spacious rooms. Fully equipped with all we needed for our stay. Breakfast was huge and set us up for the day. Set in a secluded location at the foot of the hills, parking on-site. Will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ennaid57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

After struggling through very busy mid-day traffic in downtown Stirling we decided to keep driving out of town to find a more quiet location to stay the night. We stopped at a small hotel which had no rooms available, but a friendly and helpful staff member (who made a call to check on availability) gave us directions to the charming Westbourne House located a reasonable distance from Stirling Castle and in a quiet area.

B&B owner, Evie, met us with a cheerful, warm welcome and, after showing us the rooms, gave us a thorough rundown on everything we’d need to know to ensure a comfortable stay, including local restaurant suggestions. Our en-suite room was the largest we’d seen on our trip throughout the UK. High ceilings also contributed to the feeling of spaciousness. A very tasty full English breakfast was available with the always appreciated pot of piping hot tea. (We’ve given up on ever being served a ‘proper’ cup of tea in a restaurant or hotel here in our native U.S. and so took full advantage of this wonderful tradition each day of the trip.)

Although an old house, Westbourne has loads of character and the owners have done a lovely job of presenting its best features. We would offer only one piece of constructive criticism and that would be to perhaps invest in a few new mattresses. Understanding that mattress comfort can be a highly individual thing, we found the beds to be much too soft. Other than that it was a comfortable night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the large en-suite (with three beds) and found it very spacious and bright. It was help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We felt very comfortable there. Very nice host familiy, a great decoration in the house, it is all very clean and tidy. We felt like little princesses in the the big victorian house wtih high rooms, wonderful ornamentations on the arches and a staircase like in a old fairy tale movie. The dinner was good and rich. We also enjoyed the pubs, which were just 5 minutes away by foot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himmelsgucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Evie is the ultimate host, and her breaklasts are legend. The home is large , homey , and quiet. The location, next to lovely Stirling, and half way between Edinburgh and Glasgow, made most of Scotlands sights an easy day trip. Their recommendations for restaurants, theatre, and even laundry made our trip a pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemeau Tournai Belgique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hi,

We had a great time in Tillicoultry. Home perfect and enjoyable. Beautiful house. Comfort and impeccable breakfast.
An address to remember absolutely in the nearby region of Stirling.
De Cock Family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank De Cock B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillicoultry
0.2 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Broomhall Castle
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clock House B&B
The Clock House B&B
#3 of 4 in Tillicoultry
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Bridge Inn
The Bridge Inn
#4 of 4 in Tillicoultry
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne House

Property: Westbourne House
Address: 10 Dollar Road, Tillicoultry FK13 6PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Tillicoultry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tillicoultry
Hotel Class:3 star — Westbourne House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westbourne House was built in 1856 and originally the home of local woolen mill owner, John Paton and his family. This fascinating Victorian mansion is set within its own wooded grounds, nestling beneath the Ochil Hills. There are dramatic views of the hills rising steeply behind the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbourne House Tillicoultry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing