We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Westbourne B&B”
Review of Westbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westbourne House
Ranked #2 of 4 Tillicoultry B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Good B&B location for stay in Stirling area :
- Very nice welcom
- Perfect English style (a little bit kitch...)
- Very good breakfast (full scottish)
- Old house with style
- Quite place
Advantage is also that this B&B is out of crowdy usual location at Stirling (for visiting castle, Wallace monument,...) but not so far away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wimcld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 101 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Westbourne B&B for a weekend as we had a wedding in Alloa. After getting a little lost (my terrible sense of direction!) we found the gorgeous house. Evie was such a fantastic host and could not have done more for us. She explained everything from where to park, what keys opened what door, when & where breakfast was, where to eat in the area and even how to work the TV. I was worried about the beds as I'm awaiting back surgery for slipped discs and sleep on memory foam at home but I had no problem at all.
The house has alot of character and the rooms are basic but clean. Yes it's not the Ritz but then again nor are the prices! The whole family were polite and friendly. We paid for a late checkout on the Sunday and Evie even brought up bacon, sausage and haggis sandwiches to our room. Well above the call of duty! Overall we would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicwham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Another lovely visit to the area and to Westbourne. Great house run by a lovely couple.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdrew3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had a beautiful big room with ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was fabulous with choices for each of three days. This is an ideal base for visiting anywhere in Scotland, particularly the central belt; Stirling, The Trossachs, St Andrews, Glasgow areas in particular, but also an excellent half-way stop between the Borders and the Highlands. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I picked this B&B because I looked for a place to stay which should be close to my friend's wedding venue, not too expensive, accessible by public transport and have opportunities for hiking in the vicinity. I couldn't have picked better. I had a wonderful time, starting each day with a splendid breakfast (even for a non meat-eater), followed by a hike on one of the nearby trails into the Ochil Hills, and ending relaxing on the lawn. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights whilst attending a christening in Dollar. It was very convenient. Ken came out to meet us and was most welcoming. There was no problem with parking as he explained where to leave the car! We had a very pleasant family room for 4 adults with bathroom. It was warm and comfortable. Plenty of towels and hot water. Chocolate biscuits in the room! A great breakfast - prob the best we have been offered, and served in a lovely hall! Evie, Ken and Billie are a lovely family and were very hospitable. Would stay again and recommend it! Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed 1 night in this B&B. The hospitality was so so so great, the breakfast's place was wonderful, and the bedroom was good. Evie and Ken was very friendly, it's a very good adress for you Scotland's trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pascal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tillicoultry hotels
0 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Clock House B&B
The Clock House B&B
#3 of 4 in Tillicoultry
19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyvis Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Wyvis Boutique Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Tillicoultry
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne House

Address: 10 Dollar Road, Tillicoultry FK13 6PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Tillicoultry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tillicoultry
Hotel Class:3 star — Westbourne House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westbourne House was built in 1856 and originally the home of local woolen mill owner, John Paton and his family. This fascinating Victorian mansion is set within its own wooded grounds, nestling beneath the Ochil Hills. There are dramatic views of the hills rising steeply behind the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbourne House Tillicoultry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing