We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely, quaint, cute”
Review of Tilly Tearoom

Tilly Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Tillicoultry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Third year in the finals of Best cafe/Bistro 2017. Winner of Best cafe/Bistro in SE Scotland for 2016 and Overall Winner of Best cafe/Bistro in Scotland National Food Awards 2015. Small tearoom offering simple food, breakfasts, home made soups, breads and freshly made lunches. Good selection of homebaking including gluten free choices. Very proud of our Scottish Homebaking Award 2013/2014. Inspirational home of Mr Tilly, the loveable pug - available on Amazon books. Another Tilly Tearoom now open in Dunblane.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I first visited 2 years ago, just stumbled across it and glad I did, my friend and I were so taken with it. It has taken us 2 years to return, but we never forgot it and was the highlight of our day out. It won't be another 2 years for another return, I shall be taking all my visitors in future after walking in the glens. Well done to the owner, it's something I had dreamed of doing myself at one time in my life, so I appreciate all the effort put in to make the place such a success. Ditto to all the other great reviews, they weren't wrong.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank veramary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora Tilly T, Owner at Tilly Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

What a great review! The tearoom is in a lovely area and we meet many walkers, cyclists etc passing through - thank you for the wonderful recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 239 of 314 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We all enjoyed an excellent afternoon tea with delicious cakes, good tea and coffee. There were lots of different cakes to choose from, nice cups and cute tea pots. The service was good and friendly. All in all a great experience that we will look forward to again very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora Tilly T, Owner at Tilly Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea experience, we enjoy setting up them and we think they look pretty but it is great to have such excellent feedback from the customers - thank you and we'll glad you will be back! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Very small but lovely place. Good food and home baking. Very busy but service was still good. Will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mawbaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora Tilly T, Owner at Tilly Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

A very good review, thank you, especially reassuring to hear that you thought the service was good even when we were busy as that can be a challenge. Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Have visited many times but have only just joined Trip Advisor and Tilly Tearoom deserves a review. Went today and had such tasty homemade soup with wheaten bread followed by red velvet cake. Past visits have always been as good and everything is homemade, cakes are scrumptious. Atmosphere is homely and great touches like individual tea cosies. Just lovely!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora Tilly T, Owner at Tilly Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

We really appreciate all our customers taking the time to write reviews as we enjoy reading the feedback. The red velvet cake is a comparatively new addition to our 'cake family' and is certainly a hit, the fact it is gluten free has not deterred it popularity among our gluten inc customers! Thanks again and it is encouraging that even after many visits you want to give us such an excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Again, a great trip to this haven from the insanity of the outside world .The clink of cups and saucers, the sound of happy customers conversing and laughing. This complimented by the Barista trained staff providing top notch coffee and the reassuring taste of lentil soup that has never been near a tin!! My team from work booked the wee room today and were totally satisfied with everything we were given; in fact we wanted to stay there all afternoon. It's like visiting yer Grannies but without the fousty ginger snaps (maybe that was just my Gran!!) The tea room has justly been given a number of prestigious awards and they are well deserved. I think this would be a great wee film set and could easily see Allan Bennett and Thora Hird sharing a cuppa with Dusty Springfield and Beth Ditto, all feeling equally at home. Go see for yourself!!! (p.s: I know a couple of these folk are deed but.......)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora Tilly T, Owner at Tilly Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

.......and another great review, thank you. We have lost count of how many new customers you bring along and it is very pleasing that you tell us how much they enjoy the tearoom. We are delighted to have won recent awards - including the trip advisor one! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tilly Tearoom also viewed

Dunblane, Stirlingshire
Tillicoultry, Clackmannanshire
 
Tillicoultry, Clackmannanshire
Dollar, Clackmannanshire
 
Tillicoultry, Clackmannanshire
Dollar, Clackmannanshire
 

Been to Tilly Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing