We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kennels Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Dollar B&B and Inns
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcome return”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our second visit to Kennels cottage and we were not disappointed. Tanya made us very welcome in this well presented charming property. After a good meal in a nearby hotel we enjoyed a very comfortable night's sleep followed by an excellent breakfast. We certainly would recommend this peaceful cottage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
99
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Molndal
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spend a great weekend at Kennels Cottage. travelling from Sweden we visit our good friends and celibrated their wedding. Kennels Cottage had all we needed and more! Nice and clean, warm and cozy, close to outstanding hillrunning in Dollar and the Ochillls. First class service and home made organic breakfast. We really loved and enjoyed the hens walking around in the garden! For a couple of nights in peace and quite we can definently recomend Kennels Cottage!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alva
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to kennel cottage and it continues to exceed our expectations. Beautiful location, clearly signposted with no difficulties in taxis returning us to kennel cottage after an evening out. Sandy and Tanya very accommodating, a friendly couple who always give a warm welcome. Would highly recommend kennel cottage to anyone looking to enjoy the countryside and to lap up the genuine hospitality. Due to the extremely pleasant experience of kennel cottages and the local area we have now decided to relocate to the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This week I had my fourth stay at Kennels Cotttage and it was just as enjoyable as my first stay! Always a warm welcome and by hosts that remember who you are! Got the same quality and comfortable room as usual, and as ever, a good nights sleep in this quiet location, set back from the road. Come breakfast time, I looked forward to one of Tanya's terrific breakfasts with oodles of choice, but - my favourite fare - poached eggs on toast, with the eggs fresh outta the free range hens that share the gardens. Then, just time for a quick chat with Tanya and Alex to catch up with the news and views. As someone who's work necessitates being away 3 and 4 nights a week this place is on my permanant list of to re-visit! All B'n B's should be like this! Be back in August with my German friends for a few days touring holiday. Highly recomended and real value for money! Steve S.

Room Tip: All rooms of a quality and a standard that is up with the best and very quiet too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked b&b to attend a friends wedding in a nearby hotel. The taxi driver coming home at midnight could not find the Kennels (it's somewhat off the beaten track) and called the 'hostess' Tanya. My husband and I thought he was calling his controller for directions and thought nothing of it. Next morning I walked into the dining room to hear Tanya mouthing off about us and the taxi's late call to the other guests at breakfast. She then made a 'joke' of this but it was an awful to then have to sit and have breakfast under a terrible cloud. I noticed she was considerably more pleasant to the people who were paying megabucks for the classic car package but £80 for a second rate B&B is still a lot of money. I really I couldn't wait to get out of the place. As we put on our shoes at the front door she literally chucked our bags out after us. Nice enough décor etc but what an unpleasant woman.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My girlfriend organized a stay at Kennels Cottage as my 40th birthday gift and it was wonderful! We were greeted by the owners, Tanya and Alex upon arrival and shown around the beautiful premises. Our room was spacious, nice, clean, and light. We had everything that we needed, such as coffee, tea, water boiler, cookies and fresh water and glasses. The bathroom came complete with organic shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion. The towels were soft and lovely and both the bathroom and the room were cleaned each day. We were treated to a drink on the house upon arrival and Tanya was gracious and drove us to Dollar that same evening so that we could have dinner. The breakfast was delicious and came complete with eggs from their free range hens, tea and coffee. After breakfast, my girlfriend told me to brush my teeth and then to meet her outside only to find that there stood my surprise - the beautiful blue 1974 MG B Roadster! I was blown away and had no idea! I also saw the other cars that they owned and what a collection it was! Alex took time to show me all of the controls of the car and how to lower and raise the convertible top. We then went on a short test run where he explained the car to me and then it was my turn to test drive it back to the B&B. After that, we were given a tour book with detailed driving directions and sights and a road map and we set off for day 1 of touring! The tour was great! For the start of the second day, Alex had kindly driven our car out of the garage and parked it for us ready to go. Upon completion of the second day, we were graciously allowed to keep the car a few hours extra (normal delivery time of the car is 18:00) so that we could use it to do out for dinner. We had chosen to stay an extra day at the B&B, so it was nice to just relax and have breakfast the following morning. Tanya had been so kind to order us a taxi, so we had a comfortable morning with breakfast and then a taxi ready and waiting to take us to the airport.
The B&B also has a living room with numerous books, including many car books, DVD's and comfortable sitting areas. There was a decanter with whisky and port and we were told to help ourselves if we wanted a drink.
All in all, this was a great birthday suprise and our stay was perfect! The B&B was beautiful and the MG B was a lot of fun to drive and in excellent condition! You really could tell that Alex cares for his cars and that the discription of the MG B on their website fit the car perfectly! I would recommend this experience to any person who loves the Scottish countryside and classic sportscars! We felt very welcome and the owners were very kind, caring and professional! I didn't want to leave and I'll definitely be back some time soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent two memorable days at Kennels Cottage..
My husband was given a day's hire of an E- type Jaguar car for his 65 th birthday. We stayed at Kennels cottage the day before the drive and the day after. Tania made us vey welcome in her
immaculate presented home. The breakfast was delicious. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dollar
2.7 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.3 mi away
Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Inglewood House and Spa
1.2 mi away
Soroba House
Soroba House
#1 of 1 in Blairingone
10 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baldiesburn Bed & Breakfast
Baldiesburn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Pool of Muckhart
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennels Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennels Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kennels Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Kennels Cottage Dollarbeg By Dollar, Dollar FK14 7PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Dollar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dollar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kennels Cottage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennels Cottage is a four star contemporary style guest house set just outside the village of Dollar, in the central heart of Scotland, within easy reach of Glasgow or Edinburgh. We are very close to the wedding venue Solsgirth House and only 6 miles from Knock Hill. We have 3 ensuite guest bedrooms, guest sitting room, reading area and plenty of garden to roam around in. We are near to Solsgirth House and a short distance to We try and use local and organic produce in our breakfasts and we have our own free range hens. Our garden has various visitors which include lots of wild birds, red squirrels and deer. This is a very restful place to be.All rooms are ensuite with lots of towels, organic bathroom products, TV with DVD, hairdryer and Tea and coffee making facilities we also offer free internet access.At Kennels Cottage we also offer Classic Car hire we have nine beautiful classics including the famous E-Type Jaguar, MKII Jaguar, Morgan 4/4, MGB Roadster, Triumph TR6, Caterham Seven, Austin Healey 3000 and 2 VW Classic Camper Vans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kennels Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennels Cottage Bed & Breakfast Dollar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing