We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Castle Stay-must do in your lifetime”

Review of The Tower

Dollarbeg Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dollarbeg Castle
Dollarbeg Castle at night Dollarbeg Castle Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Dollarbeg Castle
Dollarbeg Castle at night
Dollarbeg Castle Entrance
Open plan living & kitchen area
Kitchen & Dining Area
First Floor Hallway
Master bedroom with En-suite Shower Room
Red Bedroom (may be Superking or twin beds)
Red Bedroom (as a Superking bed)
White Bedroom - located half-way up spiral staircase
White Bedroom - another view
Private roof terrace view towards Ochil Hills
Private roof terrace evening view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dollar, Clackmannanshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jodi P
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Castle Stay-must do in your lifetime”
Reviewed November 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wow!!! Our stay was perfect. My sister and I took my Dad to Scotland a bucket list trip as he has terminal cancer and we wanted this to be memorable. The castle was gorgeous, peaceful and well done. The location is great, central to everything and very easy from Edinburgh airport. From the fabulous welcome basket complete with champagne to the picnic basket for our day out at the Highland Games, there is everything you need. The castle was clean, beautiful and the rental process was flawless. We are already planning our next trip with our whole family.
Thank you Susan for your professionalism and hospitality, it truly was a fantastic trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty, location, the sound system
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braddon75
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a fantastic flat overlooking a beautiful area of Scotland”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in the Tower at Dollarbeg Castle for just two nights at the tail end of a UK trip. We fell in LOVE with Scotland and the Tower. We came to Scotland to get married and held our small intimate (just us, two witnesses and the registrar) at the Tower. Originally we were going to use the Private Terrace at the top of the Tower with the 360 degree views but weather decided that we would hold our ceremony inside which turned out perfectly. Up to date, modern, and all the conveniences you'd want inside a 200 year old castle, we couldn't have asked for a better place to enjoy our short stay in Scotland. The small village of Dollar down the street was just as great. You won't regret staying here in The Tower at Dollarbeg Castle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, decoration, bedding, sound system, interior design
Liked least: nothing, love it all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five star comfort”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This a superlative apartment in a beautiful location. Furnishings are of a very high spec, like a 5 star hotel, and you will feel instantly on holiday with every home comfort catered for. The cinema room was a great hit with our teenage children and perfect for rainy days. The balcony at the top of the tower is a lovely spot to catch the sun and view the rolling Ochil Hills and Castle Campbell. Very relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High spec furnishings
Liked least: Would have preferred more grounds for walking rather than driving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victo D
Antibes, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent a long week-end with an extended family in this apartment for a special occasion which was my husband 40th birthday. Everything was simply wonderful: in the interior of the apartment every single detail was perfectly thought in such a way to combine comfort with a discrete luxury experience making one's stay unforgettable. At our arrival we had a welcome pack composed of fresh local products (cheese, eggs, milk, bread) and a bottle of champagne. In the interior, listening to musing was a pure delight: the sound system permitting doing it in every piece and the level of light could be also tuned to a convenient level for everyone. The cinema room with its 50" screen and a large collection of movies and documentaries was a real plus. The exterior of the castle was also wonderful and quiet, surrounded by a large park and woods. Moreover, before our stay, Susan, the manager, was very helpful and made the booking extremely fast and easy. In conclusion, we simply loved everything which was far better than the pictures could show.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeOct195...
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodations, highlight of our trip”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

My family of 4 plus my father-in-law stayed in the apartment for 4 nights during a 18 day tour of Spain, Scotland, and Ireland. The apartment, castle, and town of Dollar were the highlight of our trip. The apartment has top of the line furnishings and finishes. We enjoyed movies in the cinema room and lounging in the living room after days of exploring Scotland. Dollar is a good base location for exploring that area of Scotland. Edinburgh is 45 minutes away, Glasgow is 1 hour, and St. Andrews is 45 minutes. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer and plan a day to stay close to the castle and explore Castle Campbell and Stirling Castle. We recommend supper at the Castle Campbell Hotel in Dollar. Note that you need a car and need to be able to climb steps to use the apartment, but it is well worth it. Also note that it is a little hard to find the castle the first time it is actually about a mile south of Dollar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of the castle apartment and views from the windows and tower.
Liked least: Getting our luggage up all of the steps.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossoptr...
Derbyshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute delight”
Reviewed June 6, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I believe we are the first guests to try this property & can honestly say that it exceeded all expectations. The rooms are beautifully furnished to the highest standard, including the most up to date entertainment systems (you can even have your music playing in the bathrooms!) and the views from the room terrace are absolutely stunning.
Both Edinburgh and St Andrews are within an hour's drive & Dollar is easy to reach from the motorway network.
If you are looking for a top quality apartment , with home comforts, you will not be disappointed .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of property, location, views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing