We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service? What service?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Boswells
Certificate of Excellence
Jedburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service? What service?”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband, son and I went to the bistro to celebrate a family birthday. We were asked to move, once we had sat down and been given drinks, to accommodate a larger party. The starters then arrived fairly promptly but it was a complete hour later that our main course came. We had to ask to have our plated removed and were told only the manager could take a pudding order, despite the waitress standing around, doing nothing (and certainly not removing used plates from tables), and that he had four tables to see before us. We left without pudding or coffee. We dropped in again 2 weeks later at 20.20 Sunday night, intending to have abar meal after a theatre excursion. We were told the kitchen was closed, and that it closed at half-past eight on a Sunday. We pointed out it was only twenty past. No food. We won't be going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    127
    59
    26
    15
See reviews for
69
181
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is a firm favourite. The building is attractively set back from the A68 and the slightly old fashioned feel of the reception area & some of the downstairs is heart-warmingly reminiscent of rare holidays in eras long gone. However, the bedrooms are modern, comfortable, well decorated, well appointed, everything works immediately in the en suites and the only drawback is that relatively few have good views from the windows. The staff are friendly, very helpful & extremely professional, the bistrot restaurant serves excellent food, maybe just a tad pricey, but the menu is varied to suit most tastes and appetites and prides itself ion using locally-produced foodstuffs wherever possible. The bar is well-stocked and merits some serious study.
Breakfasts are sumptuous! Try scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. The full Scottish defeats me utterly but is a feast to the eye on the the plates of fellow breakfasters. Fruit juice, cereals, proper porridge and lots of toast with sensible-sized tea and coffee pots go to make breakfasts here perhaps the best meal of the day. Certainly it sets up visitors for a day of visiting the beautiful Borders, this fought-over land that has yet produced such great hospitality.
An overnight stay, or better still, a couple of nights makes a delightful, indulgent, annual treat.

Room Tip: Book early - this hotel fills up pretty quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here for only one night . I was very comfortable in a lovely large room. Although the exterior of the hotel is very like a pub the rooms and service screamed hotel.
I enjoyed dining in The Bistro restaurant and the menu made it very clear that the chef was very proud of sourcing food locally.
I would be happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreamay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here overnight prior to an event which was being held in the hotel. From the beginning I found all the staff extremely pleasant and helpful: nothing was too much trouble.
The original building is very old and a great deal of work has obviously gone into it to ensure a high standard. My bedroom was of a nice size, recently decorated and spotlessly clean. It was at the far end of the hotel which turned out to be a plus point as I was far away from the traffic noise which could have been a distraction.
I had a meal in the bar in the evening which was most enjoyable and reasonably priced. The menu was extensive and would suit most tastes. There is a restaurant but I chose the bar as I understand the same food is served in both and there was a nice "buzzy" atmosphere in the bar as it was quite busy. Breakfast is served in the restaurant area.
All in all a hotel full of character and very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear may be quieter though I can't say with certainty that those in the front are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Went for Sunday lunch today with friends. Service was ok although a little slow at first with drinks • menu was good but we felt a bit pricey for the offering. All in all we would say ok. Weather was great and they had a small area for the children to play which was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before going to Kelso races on the Sunday. An old quirky building ( which we loved ) a warren of corridors , lovely bedroom and homely atmosphere in the bar and guests lounge.
We ate in the bistro, which has the most eclectic decoration I've ever seen, from doggy pictures on one wall, an old roman scene on another, a chandelier made from old wine bottles, and a map of Scotland made from old corks !
The food was excellent, from the fish cakes to the steak and scallops, then on to the amazing double chocolate cheesecake brownie. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SonsofBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here when I cycled and ran from John O'Groats to Lands End with the RAF. It was a very comfortable stay after a long hard day on the road. The staff were patient with us and very friendly on arrival. Food was fantastic and the beds were very comfy. Plenty of car parking also which is a bonus. It was a nice touch that all the staff came outside in the morning to wave us off for the rest of our journey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Boswells
0.7 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
914 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
258 reviews
11.2 mi away
Black Bull Hotel
Black Bull Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lauder
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
8.0 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
217 reviews
3.4 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders

Property: Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
Address: The Green, St. Boswells TD6 0EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > St. Boswells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Boswells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Scottish Borders the Buccleuch Arms is a charming four star Inn with an incredible history dating back to 1836. In recent years the Buccleuch has earned an award-winning reputation as one of the finest Inns in Scotland, welcoming both locals and guests from further afield. Most recently of course winning Scottish Inn of the Year 2015 at the Scottish Hotel awards in April. So whether you're visiting the Scottish Borders on the new Borders Railway or passing through, make a point of stopping at the Buccleuch. We hope you'll be pleasantly surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccleuch Arms St Boswells
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders St. Boswells, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing