We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitehouse Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 St. Boswells B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Whitehouse country house. We had a very warm welcome. Our room faced the countryside and the view was just astounding! One could stay there and gaze at the view for hours...

The breakfasts were really delicious. Angela, the hostess, was very accommodating on our day of departure.

The host, Roger, lit the fireplace in the lounge for us where we watched the opening ceremony of the Olympics. Yes, the fireplace was lit in July! They are very sweet and caring hosts.

The location is perfect to visit the abbeys but also to take walks (Scott's view, Wallace statue, etc.)

The room and the bathroom were very spacious but the beds were not quite firm enough.

Room Tip: We had a room with two double beds and they were a bit worn out. The view was spectacular. The coun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

After a long flight and drive, we landed at Whitehouse. Thank heaven we booked for two nights because it was the perfect place to repair jet lag damage. Angela greeted us with a hug, tea and cake. We couldn't ask for more. Not only is Angela a warm,wonderful hostess, but also a fantastic cook. Be sure to book for dinner, and take time to enjoy an incredible breakfast. We got a lot of sightseeing suggestions while enjoying the gorgeous views from the dining room. I cannot recommend this B and B enough. It truly was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank umagooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights last week and enjoyed our short stay. The hosts were wonderful and the rooms, common area and Breakfast were all excellent. We had a early start on our day of departure and a breakfast tray awaited our 5:30 am departure! Most excellent. The walk down by the river was very nice. Take the time for the walk. We shall return when we visit Scotland again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. We are glad you made your flight in time as you had such an early start. The river bank walk is so peaceful, just now there are lots of swans and ducks to be seen.We look forward to welcoming you back to Whitehouse Country House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

For our fourth trip to Whitehouse, we celebrated my husband's 60th birthday along with 18 of our close family and friends. Following canapes and bubbly in the drawing room, served by Whitehouse's attentive staff, we enjoyed a fabulous 3 course dinner at a banqueting table overlooking miles of beautiful Borders countryside. Angela, the hostess, could not have been more accommodating, catering to the smallest request. After a very comfortable night in luxurious rooms, we were treated to a first class breakfast. Cannot recommend Whitehouse highly enough!

As always, we're looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

A roaring log fire, tea and cake greeted us on arrival after our long, rain and wind swept journey across Scotland. Angela Tyrer was a great host; very welcoming and an excellent cook. We stayed for one night B&B and dinner. We recommend the dinner (remember to bring your own wine - which we did and it was perfectly chilled for us, ready for the meal).

Very much a horse/shooting/fishing house with lots of prints, paintings and ornaments related to these passions of Angela and her husband. Also be aware when looking for it that the house is soft red stone, not white - the original building was apparently white, hence the name! Tall ceilings, large comfortable rooms; plenty of books. Very quiet location with great long views across the surrounding countryside.

Our bedroom and (inside) ensuite bathroom were spacious, well decorated and with thoughtful touches. We voted the super king size bed the most comfortable of our 14 day tour!

Room Tip: All rooms would be, we're sure, be very quiet, because this is in a rural location well away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

What can I say about the Whitehouse Country House? Rooms are magnificent. Marshmallow wraparound beds that you don't want to leave. The en-suites are also huge and very well kitted out. Actually, that's my only slight criticism...the shower unit is a bit on the wimpy side...not powerful enough...but that really is me splitting hairs.
The views are wonderful...across green fields...and the morning I woke up it was like a Tuscan dawn...the light was amazing. Didn't meet Roger, but Angela the host (and her three brilliant dogs) was an absolute delight. Nothing was too much trouble. Her breakfasts in the morning for me and my four colleagues were terrific...lots of food and really well cooked. And hot milk with the coffee...wow!
The Whitehouse is located about 3 miles outside St Boswells and there's no bar so you will have to go out if you want an evening drink, but it's a small price to pay for the excellent service and accommodation in the B & B.
I stayed here on business but would love to come back for pleasure to explore the lovely countryside of the Scottish Borders. All in all a cracking stay and somewhere I would have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ripley0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela_at_Whitehouse, Owner at Whitehouse Country House, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Thank you for your review about your overnight stay at Whitehouse. Your feedback is much appreciated. We are not licensed to sell alcohol, however our guests are very welcome to bring their own drinks in with them. Indeed many do ,particularly when they are having dinner here. We look forward to welcoming you back, whether it be for business or pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I live 8 miles from The Whitehouse Country House. My mother had a very special birthday recently. We decided to take mum along with her children, grand children, great grand children and her brother for a specia meal. Some of us stayed over in the Whitehouse and along with the meal, we couldn't have had a better time. The food was fabulous and all the staff were so kind and attentive. I met with the owner prior to the event and Mrs Tyrer was super, nothing was to much trouble. The whole experience was great. The rooms are very comfortable and a bit specal. Unbelievable to think this is on my door step. For people on holiday and needing to stay over to explore the Borders this is certainly a must. I am just trying to think of an excuse to do it al again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela_at_Whitehouse, Owner at Whitehouse Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you all at Whitehouse for your birthday celebration. We have another "local" birthday dinner coming up next week and are looking forward to that. Best wishes to you and your family from us all at Whitehouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Boswells
5.7 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
375 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
969 reviews
4.8 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
227 reviews
3.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
5.7 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehouse Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehouse Country House

Address: St. Boswells TD6 0ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > St. Boswells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St. Boswells
Price Range: $205 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Whitehouse Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitehouse Country House is a five-star Bed and Breakfast at the heart of the Scottish Borders, close to Melrose and Kelso. All guest bedrooms are en suite, spacious and have uninterrupted countryside views. Public rooms are elegant and comfortable with open fires. The award-winning cooking at Whitehouse features the best local ingredients. From the house there is easy access to the Scottish Borders' many amenities and attractions and to the area's charming villages and towns. For more than 20 years Whitehouse has been a byword for hospitality, comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitehouse Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehouse Country House St. Boswells, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing