We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A mid term holiday break”

Review of St Kilda

Welcome to St Kilda In Auchencrow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to St Kilda In Auchencrow
 Dining to seat 12 Spacious kitchen dining room with doors leading on to the patio for outside dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Welcome to St Kilda In Auchencrow
Dining to seat 12
Spacious kitchen dining room with doors leading on to the patio for outside dining
Breakfast Bar
Living room with log burner and French doors leading to large patio with great views.
Master bedroom with dual windows and great views
En-suite bathroom with separate shower and lovely views.
Bedroom 2 twin beds (suitable for wheelchair on ground floor )
Bedroom  4 double room with great views.
Bedroom 5 three single beds good views.
Family room upstairs with Sky TV which makes up the 6th bedroom that sleeps two ( sofa beds)
Family Room down stairs for reading and games
Family Room down stairs leading from the kitchen - dining room making the house very open plan
Utility Room and drying area clothes boots
View from the large patio
Enjoy the vast skies
Table Tennis
Table football
Traditional village pub that you can walk to serving real ales, beer and food.
Greats walks from the house
Local beach a short drive away
Dunbar
Berwick - Upon- Tweed
Eyemouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Isabel A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A mid term holiday break”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was a last minute booking and it has been the best holiday house we have ever stayed in. The house is enormous and the space was a godsend for the children who lost themselves in the upstairs lounge. We had a welcoming basket awaiting us and even our dog had one which was extremely thoughtful .The house was so well equipped that everything we needed was on hand even down to drinking straws for the children. As the nights were darker earlier the Sky tv was so much appreciated by us all along with WiFi ...my husband adored the quiet lounge downstairs where he caught up on his reading from books he borrowed from the library shelves which were of a wide and varied nature..This was a good base for our day trips to and over the border. the views from the back of the house were stunning ...so close to nature ...I enjoyed bird watching...over all this was indeed a very restful few days for us and we will certainly be back...Thanks a million Josef and Mary Clare...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space and equipment
Liked least: nothing fell into this catagory
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitu_150
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

It is a lovely place in a beautiful setting. We (some friends, their respective significant others, and my wife and I) had only come up for the weekend to celebrate a friends wedding. However, upon arriving, we all felt that we wished we have booked a slightly longer stay.

The owner is lovely, and extremely helpful through out the booking process, and leaves sufficient information in the property to ensure you have a stress free stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stress Free
Liked least: Not Applicable
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best holiday houses we've ever had”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house is comfortable, spacious and well equipped with lovely views. It was ideal for a big family party.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and comfort
Liked least: The pillows
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWestie20...
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and very friendly hosts!”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from st kilda after 3 days in Mary Clare and Josef's beautiful house. Actually quite a bit bigger than I expected and easily accomodated 8 adults and a 1year old. Many fun days spent playing table tennis and lots of games to choose from. We thoroughly enjoyed the bel haven brewery in Dunbar and visited Eyemouth only 10 mins away which was a pretty harbour town. We also tried the craw inn just a minutes walk away and it's was great - game pie very tasty!! We struggled with the wifi due to a local problem but Josef and Mary Clare were very helpful and it just meant more time having to speak to each other! Lovely accommodation and would love to come back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cfraser20...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Really impressive house in a lovely area. We enjoyed coastal walks and visiting picturesque local harbours and villages.. It was a delight to return to St Kilda at the end of a busy day, a fantastic house that is both comfortable and spacious..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caz726
caz726
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Another brilliant week”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at St Kilda and again we had a brilliant weeks holiday. The house is immaculate as always. When we did have a slight problem with one of the doors, the owners had someone out the next day to fix the problem, couldn't ask for anymore both in terms of the service and the house. Im sure we'll visit again and would absolutely recommend to anyone.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolate...
East Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and plenty of space !”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

St Kildas is a fabulous house for a large family get together or simply as we used it, as a base to explore the amazing coastline on Scuba Diving trips to St Abbs or discovering the beautiful countryside that surrounds the village. The house is very comfortable and spacious and the extra touches of a welcome basket for humans and canines on arrival is a nice touch. The place was spotlessly clean and very well equipped . The bonus of in house entertainment via table tennis and table football unleashed some unexpected rivalry and competition on chilly evenings ! The views from the garden are fantastic and if the weather was warmer, we would have spent more time outside absorbing the peace and quiet with a glass of wine or two while watching the cattle meandering around the hills ! We look forward to staying again sometime !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space
Liked least: bed size & matress quality
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing