We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house in a peacefully location”

Review of St Kilda

Welcome to St Kilda In Auchencrow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to St Kilda In Auchencrow
 Dining to seat 12 Spacious kitchen dining room with doors leading on to the patio for outside dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Welcome to St Kilda In Auchencrow
Dining to seat 12
Spacious kitchen dining room with doors leading on to the patio for outside dining
Breakfast Bar
Living room with log burner and French doors leading to large patio with great views.
Master bedroom with dual windows and great views
En-suite bathroom with separate shower and lovely views.
Bedroom 2 twin beds (suitable for wheelchair on ground floor )
Bedroom  4 double room with great views.
Bedroom 5 three single beds good views.
Family room upstairs with Sky TV which makes up the 6th bedroom that sleeps two ( sofa beds)
Family Room down stairs for reading and games
Family Room down stairs leading from the kitchen - dining room making the house very open plan
Utility Room and drying area clothes boots
View from the large patio
Enjoy the vast skies
Table Tennis
Table football
Traditional village pub that you can walk to serving real ales, beer and food.
Greats walks from the house
Local beach a short drive away
Dunbar
Berwick - Upon- Tweed
Eyemouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
giraffeon...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a peacefully location”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

St Kilda is a lovely spacious and comfortable house that is so well equipped you won’t be wanting for anything whilst you’re there. It comfortably managed six adults and three children and we still had plenty of space. At one point we couldn’t hear the children – it was heavenly!

The house is tastefully furnished and offers everything you need for a weekend or week away, and some more! A full Sky package and broadband in the house, games, books, and a few games tables in the garage served us all very well. Each of the bedrooms were comfortably furnished and the bathrooms were very modern. The house was spotlessly clean and we couldn’t fault anything. The kitchen is huge and we joked about the hike from the fridge freezer to the kettle when making cups of tea! Didn’t use any of the cooking facilities but a large cooker and every utensil you could imagine was available. A dishwasher made tidying up that much easier, finding where things went again was the main problem we had as there are so many cupboards! We even found the cupboard full of children’s plates and cups – such a nice addition as it’s usually something you have to carry with you.

The little touches like the soaps and the welcome pack, as well as the fact that things like dishwasher powder and washing up liquid was provided was really helpful. It really is like home from home – and some!

Auchencrow is a tiny village but the Craw Inn is a short walk and the owners are very welcoming. The food was very good too.

We used St Kilda as a base to visit Eyemouth and the surroundings and we weren’t disappointed. The booking process was very easy and Mary Clare was very helpful throughout the whole process. I emailed her on our last day to advise of a minor maintenance issue and she replied within hours to thank me and confirm that the maintenance man would get onto it. I wholeheartedly recommend the house to any family groups wanting to stay near the Borders.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara H
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous house for a family weekend away”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Large family group stayed, wonderful house lovely and warm even without log burner on.
Great well equiped kitchen, with plenty of dishes.
We were a group of 11 aged from 2 months to 94 yrs and lots of room for everyone to do what they wanted to do.
clean bathrooms and nice comfortable beds
would highly recommend and would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: clean and warm and loads of room inside
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caz726
caz726
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb Christmas, couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at St Kilda over Christmas with my family and had a brilliant time.

The house itself is lovely and spacious, there were 8 adults, 2 children and 2 dogs and we never felt like we were all on top of each other. Every room is decorated beautifully and was immaculate. The kitchen, dining room and lounge area that are all linked together is a great area to all get together and we spent much of our time there.

Of all the holiday cottages we've rented St Kilda was by far the most well equipped. Everything we could possibly have needed/wanted was there. It was particularly well equipped for children with toys, books, games etc as well as a cupboard full of children's plates, cups, cutlery. I'm used to having to take all of these things with me so was lovely to see it all provided.

The weather prevented us from using the garden but it was lovely and big with fabulous views that can also be seen from kitchen, dining room and sitting room.

The local pub, The Craw Inn was also lovely. The staff were very friendly and made us feel more than welcome.

Overall we really couldn't have asked for a better Christmas and I would not hesitate to book St Kilda again for myself or recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so glad that you and your family had a great Christmas at St Kilda. the house is prefect for family 'get-togethers'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H
Selsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, house and facilities- ideal for activities on the coast and in the country, and relaxing afterwards.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had some lovely days out- to St Abbs, walking up near Watch Water Reservoir, and at North Berwick, including a trip out on the catamaran to Bass Rock. Our group included 2 from Melbourne and we all loved the area and thought it'd be worth us going back, probably in spring when the birds are there at Bass Rock.
St Kilda was very good for the 8 of us plus a gentle old labrador- good spaces and facilities; we spent most time in the kitchen/dining area which was great, but lit the fire twice- extremely warm it was too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size, facilities and location.
Liked least: a chair that broke and left an uninjured surprised man on the floor
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and I can see you were out and about a lot. The log burner is lovely at St Kilda and I am glad you had a relaxing time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauracam8...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Happy Halloween at St Kilda!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Myself and my friends have just returned from spending Halloween down at St. Kilda cottage for the second year running. Neither myself or any of my friends (aged 23-26) have had any complaints at all regarding the house, the location or the service provided by Mary Clare and Josef (or indeed the lovely staff at The Craw Inn who have now twice applauded our halloween costume efforts on arrival at the pub) :) We've now stayed at St.Kilda twice and we'd more than happily return again next year!! The house itself is beautifully decorated and comfortably sleeps 12. The kitchen is ideal for large parties as, apart from being massive, it has a large cooking area making it easy to cater for large numbers (if you plan to cook). The bedrooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Excellent stay all round and I imagine we will be booking up for Halloween next year :) Thinking about a wee visit in the summer too as the scenery in Auchencrow is stunning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2013
Thank you for your review , I am glad you enjoyed your holiday at St Kilda and we would love to see you all again.......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanette...
herts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fantastic week in a fantastic house”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

just got back from a fabby week spent at st. kilda in Auchencrow. there were 11 of us & the house was so big we didnt get in eachothers way, there was plenty of room for everyone. the house is so fully equipped you dont need to bring anything else other than yourselves. we took 4 cars & there was plenty of parking space. the boys were kept occupied with table tennis while the girls kept occupied with a glass of wine or two in a choice of 2 living rooms. the surrounding scenery is gorgeous & we would definatley reccomend a visit or two to the stunning coastline nearby. i would definatly reccomend st. kilda to anyone & would love to visit again in the not to distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of the property, the value for money & the cleanliness
Liked least: if i was being extremly picky, the mattresses were harder than im used to. but it really wasnt a problem
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad you all had a good time, we hope to see you again soon....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theryans4...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous house with amazing views”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our family stayed in this lovely house and had a great time & the huge bonus being we were able to take our dog who also enjoyed all the walking we done. The beach at Coldingham was were nice. We had a lovely meal at Oblo in Eyemounth but our meal at the Crow inn wasn't so good. Mary Clare made booking very easy & was very helpful. The house had every thing you could ever need and was spotlessly clean. We also loved the log burner at night very homely. We would love to visit again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2013
So pleased your stay at St Kilda, it is important to us that you all have a good time as well as your dogs, it sounds like you had some good days out. Thank you again for coming, we look forward to a return visit. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing