We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of The Anchorage

The Anchorage
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchorage
Ranked #4 of 12 Eyemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 20, 2011

just excellent ! , janice is a perfect host and can't do enough for you .
the rooms are first class , comfortable and value for money .
will be returning again in the future .

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauldAmble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for The Anchorage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2010

Janice was an excellent host.
Anchorage is very good value for money,lovely breakfast,clean and very nice rooms.
highly recomended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Modern, clean and with the friendliest of hostesses.

Good strong coffee in the morning to set us up and an enormous plate of food. Four rashers of bacon, no less, on a huge Scottish breakfast. We were impressed - and full!

This little B&B offers exceptional value. Thank you Janice for making the first night of our honeymoon so lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiteflyerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The Scottish Tourist Board only rates three stars, but in our opinion the very friendly and cheerful hostess deserves an extra star. We felt very comfortable and enjoyed the very good breakfast. Although we arrived near noon, we were welcomed and allowed to drop our luggage in the room. Some good advices where to walk or where to eat made it a wonderful day in Eyemouth.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmhannover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This is a great Bed and Breakfast and is extremely good value. We stayed in the double ensuite room which was excellent. The room was very clean and well presented with a view over the harbour and to the golf course. The outstanding feature of the Bed and Breakfast is the hostess Janice who goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and cannot do enough for you. The breakfast provided is extremely good and Janice greatest fear is that you have not had enough to eat. Janice take great pride in her Bed and Breakfast. I would recommend to anyone staying in the area of Eyemouth that they could not go wrong by staying at the Anchorage. This is one of the best value Bed and Breakfasts in UK in our opinion having stayed in about 50 Bed and Breakfast in the Uk in the last 6 years..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerbSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Just had a fantastic weekend stay at The Anchorage. Janice is such a lovely person, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are modern and clean and comfortable. Breakfast set us all up for the day and it was all cooked fresh and served up quickly. Felt like I was staying a friends house, not a B & B. Will definately be back.

Stayed: August 2010
Thank HolidayBird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I live in York but work in four towns on the English-Scottish border, including Eyemouth. I first visited The Anchorage in October 2008 and love to go back whenever I can (even for leisure) - I must have spent about 30 nights there in total by now. Janice and Vernon are lovely hosts, real friends, and I look forward to more trips to The Anchorage even though my work in Eyemouth is coming to an end!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorderLinguist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eyemouth
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
306 reviews
5.2 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
482 reviews
8.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bantry Bed & Breakfast
The Bantry Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 12 in Eyemouth
39 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Craw Inn
The Craw Inn
#6 of 12 in Eyemouth
72 reviews
2.2 mi away
The First and Last
The First and Last
#3 of 12 in Eyemouth
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Address: The Anchorage Upper Houndlaw, Eyemouth TD14 5BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Eyemouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eyemouth
Price Range: $96 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Eyemouth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing