We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food in nice surroundings”
Review of Oblo

Oblo
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Eyemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food in nice surroundings”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went there to eat one lunchtime & ordered Garlic bread & pizzas. Both of which were gorgeous & had we discovered this place earlier on in our holiday we would have eaten there definitely more than once. Sat on the balcony in the sun eating lunch was fab, the only thing that ruined it was an ill mannered lady who decided to smoke while we were eating on the next table. We did mention it to the staff afterwards as we moved inside to finish our meal & they were sympathetic & explained the smoking policy, as ex smokers we are a bit less receptive to people smoking than most particularly when folks are eating. Great food though pity about customers bad manners!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandyG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review of our restaurant - great to hear you enjoyed your lunch so much. We do try to accommodate everyone by allowing smoking on our balcony, but are sorry to hear this put you off your lunch - we can only ask others to be considerate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    130
    43
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice people, nice place”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went to this place for our breakfast. Staff were very nice and helpful. The food was ok but toast was cold and coffee a bit strong. But would go back again as people have said this is a great place to go in the evening and the evening menu looked good. We're told the pizzas are great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Great to hear such super feedback about our staff, who work hard to offer good customer service, thank you. Very sorry to hear you found our coffee a bit strong and your toast should never have been cold, so your comments will be shared with our kitchen team. Hope you can visit soon to try our bestselling pizzas, as recommended to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place but not great food”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Popped in before diving, Worst bacon butty ever,full of fat and mega greasy! On the plus side they do have a nice terraced area for sun seekers

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
There is no excuse for the unacceptable bacon roll you were served - please know it has been taken up with our Chefs by our Manager. We hope you will give us another try in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Good quality food, good menu, friendly helpful staff, nice clean and tidy surroundings, recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 52Robertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Great review and recommendation - thanks very much for visiting and posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had to keep going back”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had a 5 day break based in Eyemouth whilst touring this part of Scotland and Northumberland. On first night went to Oblo's and enjoyed the excellent Fish Platter on offer that night so much that we ate there four of the five night stay. Really enjoyed the menu (especially the desserts, and fabulous ice cream flavours). A great hit for us. Staff were attentive even on a very busy Friday night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nobby00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to visit us on so many occasions on your recent trip to Eyemouth . We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our food so much, you came back for more! Many thanks also for taking the time to post your review - much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oblo also viewed

Eyemouth, Scottish Borders
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders
 
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Oblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing