We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bit boring!”
Review of Oblo

Oblo
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Eyemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“bit boring!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

i will start by saying that i like this place, i have been several times as i like the location, the decor and the staff are always freindly, however, when i go there i always seem to struggle with the menu.
For me personally there seems to be very little on offer for a vegetarian, ive had the margarita which is nice (but bland) and last time i had the vegetarian sandwich which contained aubergine (bland), mozerella (bland) peppers (bland) and tomatoes(bland) would be nice if the vegetarian options were flavoured better, meat eaters always seem to get the better end of the deal, a touch of garlic, spice, salt or herb wouldnt go amiss.
My husband always seems happy with his, normally opting for the mussels or eyemouth cod. My children like it too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SenoraSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Firstly I would like to thank you for your positive comments about our food and service - it's great to hear that children especially like to visit us as we pride ourselves on being family friendly. Secondly it is extremely valuable to receive feedback about our menus - in particular in terms of choices for vegetarians. Our menus are due to be changed soon and please be assured that your comments will be taken on board. We hope that more choice will be available to you next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    137
    44
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Visit Oblo lots as we have Caravans in Eyemouth. Had a big lunch arranged for 15 people on a Saturday afternoon. Food, Service and atmosphere were fantastic. The staff work very hard to keep everyone happy (especially the kids).
The Menu has plenty to choose from for all tastes and the wine list is too tempting.
Could not fault this fantastic Restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
How lovely to receive such fantastic feedback on our food and service! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. It was a pleasure to cater for your party and we really appreciate your ongoing and loyal custom. We will take pride in sharing your review with our staff and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Heard great things about Oblo form relatives in the area. However on the Thursday afternoon we turned up they where very short staffed and seemed to be slow at serving.
The food took 30mins to arrive and when it did was over cooked and a bit on the bland side. I have seen the idea on presentation a few times now but it's always been done better.

Would like to give it a second go as i know they where under the cosh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ESTN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for acknowledging that when you visited our restaurant the other day, we were very busy and staff were under pressure. It is a very unpredictable time in the industry at present and getting staffing levels right can be very difficult to predict. That said, we always strive to maintain a high standard of food and service at all times and are extremely sorry to hear you were disappointed with your food. We do hope you will return to visit us again to give us another try, so we can ensure you have a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food so good I could eat all night!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten at oblo during the day and the bar meals were great but the night menu was out if this world, the speed and quality of service was great, every course I had was cooked to perfection and presented brilliantly, oblo is most defiantly a first class restaurant that we will be revisiting thanks oblo for a great evening

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Flatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We would like to thank you for visiting our restaurant and for taking the time to post such a great review. It's brilliant to hear you enjoyed your evening and were so pleased with the standard of our food and service. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Oblo revisited”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I wrote a very critical review of this restaurant a few months ago.I was reluctant to do so having had good experiences in the past.However I am delighted to say that the food and service has returned to its normal high standards.

We have had excellent shared fish platters in the past which I would highly recommend.This time I had the house burger which was also very good.My wife had a beautifully presented cod and chips complete with newspaper and a wire basket.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to visit our restaurant again. We really appreciate being given another chance and I am so pleased to hear you were satisfied with our food and service on your return visit. Thank you also for taking the time to post another review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oblo also viewed

Eyemouth, Scottish Borders
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders
 
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Oblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing