We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of The Craw Inn

The Craw Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Craw Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Eyemouth B&B and Inns
Hexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This seemed a very different hotel to the glowing reviews. We had asked for a room with twin beds and were given one with a double and a very elderly bed settee. The decor is very tired indeed. The room was over the bar which was open till midnight and still talking at 12.20 so no chance of sleep till then. At over £70 per night it was very poor value. The soup, which they stressed was home-made was excellent. Shame the rest of dinner wasn't also home made. The wine was good but the beer in the bar was very flat and rather vinegary. All in all disappointing and I think I will start to believe negative reviews on this site more than the glowing ones.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
14
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had heard rave reviews about this place, but when we visited between Christmas and New Year, it was a great disappointment. My husband ordered the chilli and the portion was small for a price tag of £9.95. There was no bread, garlic or otherwise with it. I had the scampi which was ok. The service was pleasant enough, but we certainly won't be going back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay but visited as we have family in Berwick. All four of us had food, beer battered fish was light and tasty, Lamb Navarin very tasty. Good choice of local and further afield real ales and inexpensive. We were welcomed instantly and the service was excellent. I was very pleasantly surprised by our visit and the ladies loo is immaculate! Could not fault it at all, we will be back!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curlybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just back from a overnight stay at this fabulous inn.Can't praise it enough.From the friendly staff and locals to the lovely food. We had a great time and highly recommend The Craw Inn.We will return. X

Room Tip: Thursday night is quiz night, great crowd who make you very welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked a room for a weekend break online , planned our weekend only to receive a message from owner stating room was double booked we had already paid for room , not happy it was not our fault all we got was can we offer you the following night which was totally unacceptable , took 3 day to get money back , then had to find other accommodation not too pleased

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sharjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 2 day break staying at the Craw Inn. This beautiful old coaching inn was really comfortable and the welcome we received was superb. We booked a Dinner bed & breakfast package which worked out very good value for money considering the lovely quiet location of the inn and the excellent food we received there.
The owner Trevor is charming and nothing was any trouble to him we felt very much at home. His staff were also charming in particular a lady called Susan who anticipated our every need.
If you are looking for 5star luxury then this is probably not for you, but if like us, you want to stay somewhere where you are made welcome and comfortable, with everything you need for your stay, as well as eating extremely well, then I would highly recommend staying here.
We intend to return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ate at Craw Inn twice during our stay in the area. We did not stay. The restaurant or the bar area makes no difference. The food is excellent. The Innkeeper Trevor has worked very hard to build this business up with great success. The local use it all the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eyemouth
9.7 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
301 reviews
8.3 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
472 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
413 reviews
24.2 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
940 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast
Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Eyemouth
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craw Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craw Inn

Property: The Craw Inn
Address: Auchencrow, Eyemouth TD14 5LS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Eyemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eyemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craw Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Craw Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craw Inn Eyemouth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing