We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Hoped for in a Castle Stay”
Review of Duns Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duns Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Duns
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A stay at Duns Castle was the highlight of our visit to Scotland. Aline and Aleck Hay welcomed our large group into their home and castle, parts of which date back to the era of King Robert the Bruce. The three generations of Hays currently residing there are surrounded by centuries of family and Scottish history, including many amazing paintings and artifacts. In fact the castle itself is a work of art--especially the carved woodwork in the fabulous dining room. Finally, the staff is extremely attentive, and we also enjoyed the flexibility and informality of the honor bar that was available at all times.

Room Tip: Some of the most interesting and historic rooms do not have a bathroom ensuite, so do inquire about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for three days in July 2013 as a family - in two rooms in the main castle as part of a Clan Hay reunion event worldwide. The view is amazing all the way around...the castle is beautifully maintained and the staff are excellent, gracious, and caring. The owners/operators Aleck and Alene are amazing - wonderful, gracious people with huge hearts as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Friend of a friend booked this accomodation for 5 adults for a long weekend getaway this April. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment in the carriage mews. It was cold!! The heating came on for only a few hours of the day and went off at 10pm. We shivered in the hallways and in our bedrooms. We were told that we would be billed an extra 3 GB pounds/hour to have the heating on longer. Bring a hat to wear at bedtime as your head will be cold. There was only cutlery and crockery and one roll of toilet paper for 5 people. No sheets, but comforters and wool blankets were provided. We found two hot water bottles in the apartment, so we shared those among the five of us to take the chill off the beds. One of the guests brought a fan heater which we used in the hallway with the bedroom doors open to let some heat in, but the consensus was to turn it off at night. We had to go shopping for kitchen supplies which I have found as standard in other accommodations. The shower was a cold sprinkle. One of us couldn't get a heat in her bones, no wonder, and wanted to take a bath to warm up, she decided to boil the kettle a few times to add to the bath water. I didn't shower, just did pits and parts.
Also bring a flashlight. We walked into the village to eat at night and there are no lights in the grounds. You will not be able to see a thing without a torch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RNnyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My family stayed in Cedar cottage on the Duns estate when my brother-in-law was married at the Castle recently. We had a wonderful time, the wedding was the perfect combination of 'fairytale' beauty and totally down to earth, relaxed, and enjoyable.

I particularly appreciated the chef's kindness in catering for my special dietary needs (coeliac, no dairy). The estate is a special place, the water is lovely, the air is beautiful, and very quiet and peaceful at night, a real break from the city. Lovely walks round nearby forest and lake.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our son was married at duns Castle. We stayed there for two nights and had the entire castle to ourselves (except of the owner and staff). The rooms were spacious and well equipped. The wedding was held in front of the castle which provided a beautiful backdrop except for the cars that were parked out front. Aleck (owner) was very pleasant to talk with and very helpful. The wedding dinner was very good as was the breakfast. Very private setting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We attended a family wedding here last year. Admittedly the castle is set in wonderful surroundings with lovely scenery but we found the accommodation somewhat shabby. Our room didn't have an adjoining en-suite - down the corridor and round the corner to the bathroom and we felt that the price was somewhat steep for this arrangement.

A positive is that the owners were extremely hospitable however we were disappointed again with the standard of catering.

Room Tip: One wit en-suite facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pink_LadyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and I were married at Duns Castle 10 years ago. It was an extraordinary and spectacular venue... everything we wanted and more. We were impeccably cared for by the staff and every detail of the wedding went off without a hitch. That's a big accomplishment given we planned it via email from Los Angeles! The photos don't come close to doing the castle justice. The detail and care of the staff and the inherent ambiance of the castle and grounds made our stay simply magical!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCK6401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duns hotels
0.0 mi away
Ravelaw
Ravelaw
#3 of 9 in Duns
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Hope Guest House
0.0 mi away
Bank House Duns
Bank House Duns
#8 of 9 in Duns
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lady Penelope's B&B
Show Prices

Been to Duns Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duns Castle

Address: Duns TD11 3NW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Duns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Duns
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Duns Castle Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing