We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bull Hotel

Black Bull Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bull Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Duns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times now and really can't complain at all. Friendly welcome and the staff are so nice and courteous. We had a three course meal and a bottle of wine. Food was really good and well cooked and presented Value for money without a doubt I would have no hesitation in going back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank easy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
17
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Last Night {20/4/13} I took my Husband to the Black Bull for a meal, Straight away we were welcomed and taken to our table, The service was great and the food was out of this world I had the venison it just melted in your mouth so tender, My Hubby had the special the Lamb Rump I had a taste and that was just as good, we had starters to I had haggis balls in Drambuie and he had the scallops and prawns both very good we don't normally have a pudding but seen as it was his birthday we both had the sticky toffee pudding and when it cam one portion would of done to and it was to die for. I would recommend the black bull to any one we have been before and we have never had any complaints the food is so lovely you all must try.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I often visit the Black Bull, the staff are extremely friendly especially Hayley and Katie. The food is always perfect, service is spot on. They offer real ale at very reasonable prices. No other pub in Duns comes close to competing with the high quality service, ingredients and atmosphere. Highly recommended - a hidden gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeBiDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The blonde barmaid was such good banter I enjoyed my pints at the bar and would definitely return. Such a charming you g lady. Such a friendly atmosphere, not a fan of other pubs in duns they are rather dull and depressing in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayJay187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Myself, my family and friends eat and drink in the Black Bull regularly. We love the food and the service is fine.
Usually have lunch here and just have snacks like toasties, chips, baked potatoe and they are always lovely!
I had sunday dinner here recently too and there was pleanty meat on the plate, and trimmings were fine.
If you are looking for a nice village pub to visit, Black Bull is a nice place to go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessiee060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We had a family lunch in this quaint hostelry food was good Plenty on the plate Value for money. We had no complaints. Service was slow but the food was hot and it was home cooking. We would go back for another lunch. We will try dinner. I have heard good reports from the locals

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank easy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Well, it had good reviews, so in we went for lunch. For the best part of £15 each we had one course apiece. Mine - lamb with potato and vegetables. Lamb undercooked, no flavour, lumpy gravy, lumpy mash, no sauces offered, small plate, nervous characterless lad who was doubling up as waiter and barman. In the bar itself, children's cartoon channel playing loudly. My other half had a supposedly prime rib steak - very small, very average, with a few chips and sundries and a dollop of ketchup. For those top-quality prices it was jawdroppingly bad. I've no doubt that people have some good experiences here, but this must have been one of their off days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberlight9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duns
6.4 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
12.9 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
5.6 mi away
One Green Hope Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ravelaw
Ravelaw
#4 of 9 in Duns
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Craw Inn
The Craw Inn
#7 of 13 in Eyemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Hotel

Property: Black Bull Hotel
Address: 15 Black Bull Street, Duns TD11 3AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Duns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Duns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Wheelchair Access on Ground Floor Only. *Children Welcome. *Pets allowed in Main Bar/Beer Garden Only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Duns, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing