We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable and enjoyable stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
Garden front of Wellfield House.  The flat is shown bottom left hand side of the house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden front of Wellfield House.  The flat is shown bottom left hand side of the house.
Drive and fountain at the front of Wellfield House. Private parking area at entrance drive to the flat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Garden front of Wellfield House.  The flat is shown bottom left hand side of the house.
Drive and fountain at the front of Wellfield House.
Private parking area at entrance drive to the flat.
Entrance hall to the flat.
Private outside sitting area in front of the flat entrance.
Large oak panelled sitting room.
Large oak panelled sitting room.
View from sitting room onto top lawns.
1st bedroom looking out onto top lawns.
2nd bedroom looking out onto the flats private sitting area.
View from bedroom 2 looking out onto the flats private sitting area.
Fully fitted kitchen. Cooker, washer/drier, dishwasher, microwave and fridge freezer.
Formal garden.  Guests have access for walking and sitting.
Formal garden.  Guests have access for walking and sitting.
Our own chickens.  Free ranging on grass they produce deep orange yokes.  Eggs available.
Field.  Guests can excise their dogs and walk here.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Duns, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LizzieDub...
Dubai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and enjoyable stay!”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in this great, unique property. It's a very quiet and relaxing place to stay with the convenience of Duns centre on the doorstep. Kevin, the owner, responded very quickly to our enquiries from the moment we booked until the end of our stay and nothing was ever too much trouble. The flat is well equipped with gorgeous, comfortable beds and plenty of hot water day and night. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review. It is very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C
Bold, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“3 nights at the lovely Wellfield House”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Me, my wife and our 1 yr old daughter stayed at the flat adjoined to Wellfield house for 3 nights in August 2017.
The pictures shown do not do the flat justice.. its a lovely place to stay!!

The flat itself is part of the main house itself, but entirely self contained as an individual unit.
The location is nicely situated just on the edge of the small town of Duns, making its location excellent for walking distance to the center of duns and the amenities there. However, given the surrounding greenery, gardens, woodland and open space the location feels secluded and is not overlooked in anyway.

The flat itself is hugely spacious, consisting of 2 very large double bedrooms, 1 also very large sitting / dining room and a good size kitchen. The whole flat has been gently refurbished to reflect the style of the main house it is attached to and to give a modern and high quality feel but to remain in keeping with the design of the main house.

I cant recommend it highly enough, it was perfect for us and the welcome you receive from Kevin is also excellent.

I would happily stay there again when in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you Rob. That was a such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs D E
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Beautiful and magical”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Quiet, beautiful retreat. Even tho the weather was awful the whole time we were there we didn't care. The apartment was superb, obviously loved and cared for by the lovely owners. Do not go here unless you are prepared to be blown away by the building, and respect all the rules, they are there for good reason. We all loved every moment we were there and were very sad to leave. Truly magnificent, we felt very honoured to have been able to be there. Many thanks.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2017
That is such a lovely review Mrs. Enderby. It makes putting in all the effort into the accommodation worthwhile. Thank you.
Best wishes
Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony R
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect break with warmest of welcomes”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Scottish Borders is a hidden gem and this place goes further providing a tranquil paradise. Our pets were made so welcome and the beaches, parks and walks were wonderful. The apartment is spacious, very comfortable and well appointed throughout. We will both return and recommend to friends. Many thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay and meet you and the dogs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan H
Knaresborough
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend - I shall return!”
Reviewed January 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Perfect spot for a relaxing, dog-friendly break. Well equipped and incredibly comfortable accommodation - the bed in the front bedroom is to die for! Lovely warm welcome from the owners and spoiled with treats upon arrival. Fabulous dog walk 5 mins aways at Duns castle. Just need an excuse to return! :)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2017
Thank you Jan. Your review is much appreciated and hope to see you both again soon.

Best wishes

Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Chose to stay here because it is dog-friendly - great advantage having an enclosed garden. Kevin was very friendly and welcoming, the homemade bread and scones were great. We would recommend this apartment and look forward to our next stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog friendly property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazzalou2...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Loved our stay in Dunns. What a lovely location. Kevin and James were fab hosts expecially loved the home made bread and scones. Perfect place :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review Karen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing