We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR!”
Review of The Tyndrum Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tyndrum Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyndrum
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“POOR!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Been taking over recently and not for the better,food was bland and staff not bothered if you're there or not. I used to pop in here when it was known as Paddy's rock n roll diner(yeah crazy name) but at least it had a good atmosphere and the food was good,not now. I usually stay at the Tyndrum by the Way where you can hire a Hobbit hut for £40 a night, sleeps up to 4 at a push but 2 is great its clean,warm comes with a fridge and tv and good showers etc onsite,for £20 each for two of us what more do you need after a walk/hike. If you want some decent grub then go down to the Real Food Café which also sells beers and wine,breakfast was nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rustyc1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    77
    47
    34
    69
See reviews for
32
105
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had the misfortune of staying at the Tyndrum Inn whilst doing the West Highland Way.

All I can use to describe what our room was like is "brown". Brown walls, brown towels, brown walls in bathroom and light brown carpet (I assume it was meant to be cream, but it looked horrifically dirty and has many odd stains). Walls were very thin, could hear everything in the next rooms including TVs (which was huge; seems like the only thing the Inn spent any money on was TVs that are too big for the room they hang in). The shower had a hole in the pipe so we had a random spray of water just at eye level. The sink was also at the other side of the room and not in the bathroom. It looks like this room got decorated in the 1980s...and never since.

The corridor leading to the rooms was unpleasant and there was no fire extinguisher underneath the sign outside our room (this probably violates some sort of health and safety law).

Breakfast - inedible watered porridge.

The ONLY redeeming feature were the packed lunches for walkers. We got a very decent ham and cheese sandwich, crisps, chocolate bar and can of coke. No fruit and it did cost £6.50 each though..! My tip: Go the the Green Welly the night before and buy your lunch there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tyndrum hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

we were in the inn twice this weekend. Friday night and everything we asked for was a hassle ... dark haired barmaid hardly broke a smile. Next night we arrived to find the bar full with same dark haired barmaid commandeering not one but two tables for her kids
Staff still unfriendly ... with the exception of young dark haired waiter who at least smiled!general unpleasant staff with unwelcome atmosphere. Felt like

they have a monopoly in

tyndrum and have forgot about customers

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank weerobbie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stopped off here a couple of times the last being yesterday. On arrival the place was quite empty, but it was early for lunch. Staff where very friendly. The lunch was good and value for money. Especially the kids lunch at £5.50, which included main course, drink and dessert. The place soon started to fill up with walkers and locals all keen to watch the football on a large screen TV. Lots of families too. So seems very popular. I would use again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merseybankman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal tonight, three had gammon and one had lamb shank, followed by Cranachan, apple crumble and eton mess. Two had coffee. Very tasty, lamb could have done with more mashed potatoes, carrots a bit undercooked. Staff very friendly and helpful, would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank edithsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Tyndrum inn should have it sewn up. The only hotel to stay at in the nearby vicinity and right next door to the well known Green Welly shop, yet it was a huge disappointment. The decor is tired and the TV picture in the rooms often broke up although there may not be much that could be done about that. The breakfast was poor: plentiful but not the best flavours at all. The evening meal however and the bar service was good. I understand that there are new owners and I am sure that they can really improve what is on offer because this inn could be fantastic but isn't!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherSt091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This place is getting away with murder!! I stopped here on the fourth leg of the west highland way. First of all they had lost our bag and tried to blame the transfer company. They eventually found it in another part of the hotel. The room was dull and dirty. Window looked onto residential houses and no blinds or net curtain. The television had very little or no reception and was also plugged into an extension cable that was halfway up the wall (health and safety inspection?!!!). The shower was dirty and held together with duck tape. The wash hand basin was in the bedroom beside the bed and gurgled everytime someone in a neighbouring room used theirs. And the icing on the cake was that there was no hot water for a shower. We reported this to reception and was asked why we needed hot water in the summer!! We told him if he was joking that we weren't really in the mood for that. We decided to try to get on with it and eat in the bar as there didn't appear to be many other choice. The food was terrible and over priced. I don't know what kind of meat the burger had been made from but it certainly wasn't beef! The following morning there was still no hot water. Breakfast again was very, very poor. Very little choice and very sloppily served. A man at a neighbouring table said to the waitress that there was no salt and pepper on the table. He was told he only had to ask for it. On looking around I noticed that there wasn't any on any of the tables. On being served our breakfast (inedible) we were asked if we would like salt and pepper. For goodness sake!! I have never eaten anywhere that didn't have salt and pepper on the table!! On checking out we complained along with other guests to what appeared to be the manageress that there was no hot water. She said she couldn't understand it and it was the first she had heard of it despite us complaining when we arrived. She said she would arrange for half our money to be refunded but it wasn't the point. When you are doing a long walk like the West Highland Way a hot shower is a must! We couldn't get out of the place quick enough! As there is little or no alternative on this leg of the walk they seem to think the can do what they like. It was also the most expensive of all the hotels we stayed in on the walk (every other one was excellent). Please avoid this hotel at all costs - even if it means walking a bit further! It makes Fawlty Towers look like The Ritz!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
4.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
16.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#6 of 7 in Tyndrum
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Doran Hotel
Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tyndrum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tyndrum Inn

Property: The Tyndrum Inn
Address: Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY, Scotland (Formerly Tyndrum Lodge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyndrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tyndrum Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tyndrum Inn has established itself for excellent food, accommodation, atmosphere and service. Set in the heart of some of the most stunning scenery that the British Isles has to offer, The Tyndrum Inn is becoming ever more popular with local people and passing visitors alike. We are located directly on the West Highland Way, and close to Glencoe with its hillwalking and skiing, and The Nevis Range with all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyndrum Hotel Tyndrum
The Tyndrum Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing