We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food.”
Review of Glengarry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glengarry House
Ranked #1 of 7 Tyndrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Troon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I were booked into the Glengarry House when we walked the West Highland Way. We were welcomed by Andy on arrival and Ellen gave us afternoon tea with the most delicious flapjacks imaginable. Then, although we weren't booked in for an evening meal, we had seen Ellen's menu and asked if we could stay for our dinner. What a delicious meal we had. My husband had the fish and I had the cottage pie. I wish I could cook as well as Ellen. The room was excellent and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast. Thank you both very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
177
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Day Four of our West Highland Way Walk and we saw Glengarry House, or rather a small sign to it pointing over a river and a large fence, just as we came to the outskirts of Tyndrum. We needed to stop at that point - or at least our feet did. I had forgotten what hard work was the WHW. We decided not to swim the river (it was beginning of April and that was still a fair amount of snow around) and so we veered through the campsite, out on to the very busy main road, and back the way about 200 metres to the accommodation, hoping we weren't going to get knocked out by a fast-moving people-carrier or RV on this last leg of the journey.
What a wonderful welcome from Ellen, one part of the owners. She showed us up to a twin room with fabulous views looking to the south and towards Ben Lui. The room was beautifully appointed, incredibly comfortable and all our needs had been thought about. Ellen had created a menu with choices of gluten-free meals. That was really very thoughtful as feeding a 16 year old with strict dietary needs is not the easiest on the West Highland Way. Dinner was lovely, freshly prepared and very very welcome.
We had a peaceful and wonderfully good night's sleep - and if there was a busy road outside I didn't hear any of the traffic. In the morning it was a real pleasure to see my son tuck into a huge cooked breakfast - fuel for the next stage of the journey. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Glengarry and would highly recommend it as a great place to stay on the Way. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny_orme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My Dad & I stayed on a WHW stopover. Everything was just perfect and superb quality- including the hosts. They have thought of everything you need and it's fabulous not to spend any extra energy where you don't have to. Ellen's arrival flapjack was to die for!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely service from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Clean, warm and bright accommodation with good sized room and lovely en suite. We had dinner, bed, breakfast and packed lunch and all was excellent. Dinner was lovely, best we had and the same was true of the packed lunch. Breakfast was even better knowing it was the eggs from the free range chickens outside. A wonderful stop on the way and would definitely go back. Strongly recommend you pop in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnReid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

very nice and friendly , on arrival we were welcomed with a nice cup of coffee a slice of cake and a cheery smile just whats required after a long days slog ,rooms were very clean and comfortable with ensuite facilities , it is a wee bit out of the village it is advised to take a tourch for the return journey.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely B&B, the couple were very friendly. They carried our bags up to the room. This was great as we were tired from the days walk.
Dinner was available but did not use this service. They also offered a packed lunch for the next day.
The house was very clean, a welcome cup of tea and a cake was well received when we arrived. Drying room available for wet boots and clothes. The lady of the house had walked the west highland way south to north and north to south so she knew what we were going through.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie14_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here on Good Friday for one night, warm welcome, stayed in twin room with private bathroom just across from room. Room itself was lovely and warm, normally I would prefer en suite but as I booked late then this was a more than suitable replacement. I can't comment on the actual breakfast as we had to leave early but I was offered cereal, tea and toast beforehand even though it was early which was very thoughtful. Overall, clean, welcoming and comfortable so definitely recommended. Only fault I could mention was TV a little small but that in no way takes anything away from this lovely B&B. Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
4.1 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
15.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#4 of 7 in Tyndrum
18 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ewich House
Ewich House
#1 of 10 in Crianlarich
795 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry House

Property: Glengarry House
Address: Glangarry House Main Road, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tyndrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glengarry House is a friendly and comfortable Guest House situated in Tyndrum where the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park and the breathtaking Highlands meet. We are centrally located which is perfect for hiking, munro bagging, cycle touring, mountain biking, golfing and walking the West Highland Way. It's also an excellent base for touring by car or motorcycle. In addition to the B&B there is a separate self-catered Lodge which sleeps 4. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glengarry House Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing