We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andy and Ellen demonstrate hospitality at its very best”
Review of Glengarry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glengarry House
Ranked #1 of 7 Tyndrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Andy and Ellen demonstrate hospitality at its very best”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

When we planned our driving holiday in Scotland this year we had just one “must do” – another stay at Glengarry House where we’d stayed on a previous West Highland Way walk.

There was a genuinely warm welcome, a pot of tea and some of Ellen’s divine flapjacks to reassure us that nothing had changed and our stay was to be every bit as good as our last one.

The en suite room was comfortable, well-furnished and a good size with a good quality flat-screen TV – now with digital reception (which visitors to some parts of Scotland over the years will welcome after the fuzzy pictures of the past!). There is also a comfortable conservatory in which to relax after a hard day.

There is a well-cooked excellent quality breakfast in a light and airy dining room and, on our first night we opted for an evening meal - beautiful food, beautifully cooked with a home-made dessert.

All of this places Glengarry House in an excellent position when compared with others – but it’s set above the rest by an extra secret ingredient – Ellen and Andy’s welcome and hospitality.

We look for professionalism and high standards wherever we stay – and, if our stay achieves these ideals (at a fair price) we are content. There’s another aspect, though, which can’t be faked and is difficult to find – a genuine pride in making the visitors’ stay everything it should be. Andy and Ellen exude an easy charm and friendliness, always have time to chat and want all of their visitors to get everything they can from their stay and from the area.

Don’t think twice, stay here and, don’t think twice – have an evening meal!

http://www.glengarryhouse.com/

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meldrew1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
177
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This B&B was our absolute favorite in Scotland on a 10 day trip in June 12. The hosts were extremely welcoming and friendly. Andy even came into town to find us and drove us back to the B&B, assisting us with our luggage.
The breakfast was our favorite of the trip with homemade marmalades adding to the meal. The full Scottish breakfast was delicious!
The room was comfortable. A sunroom offered a relaxing place to unwind in the afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Fantastic B and B. great location, Fresh pot of tea on arrival, luggage waiting for us in our room. Friendly attentive hosts. Absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyjamamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Three of us stayed here on the 28th of April on our walk along the west highland way.

What a welcome fresh tea and homebaked goodies awaited our arrival.

Very clean very comfy and very homely.

We didn't have dinner but I'm a little disappointed we didn't get to savour the home cooking that Glengarry had to offer. Breakfast was made for you there and then yummeeee food. Take up the offer of the packed lunch here!! Fab and definitely request the flapjack! Mine lasted two days!!!! Was soooo yummy! That packed lunch got me from tyndrum to kingshouse with some very sore feet!!

Glengarry is a great place to stay!

Laura, Louise and Heather -
The Well Hott Walkers

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootiefruitie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford. Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed at Glengarry House this weekend with two friends for two nights whilst climbing for Wateraid. Ellen and Andy are the warmest people and the welcome, food and friendliness shown us during our stay made up for the horrible weather in which only the midges thrive. Attention to detail, interest in what you are doing, time to chat and share in what is one of the best bed and breakfast accomodations we have stayed in are some of the things that make this the only choice if you are looking to stay in Tyndrum. Thanks for looking after us - sorry again for waking you up :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munromonsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed at Glengarry with my mum and 2 friends on Wednesday night when walking a few stages of the WHW. Andy & Ellen are great hosts. Rooms were spacious and beds were very comfortable. We had evening meal cooked by Ellen. The herb crusted salmon was amazing. It was the best salmon I'd ever ate! Also the lasagne, sticky toffee pudding with ice-cream and apple crumble with custard were truly scrumptious. Would highly recommend booking for evening meal, as it's well worth the money. Breakfast was lovely too. Overall, a great stay. Would stay again if returning to the area :o)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesalee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very highly recommended. We stayed for 1 night whilst walking part of the WHW. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Comfortable bedrooms, dining area and a conservatory with lovely views to relax in. When we arrived we were greeted with some refreshments and some lovely home baking. Don't even think about going out for an evening meal, the meal we had in the B&B was absolutely excellent and good value. We've stayed in several places in Tyndrum in the past but this was by far the best. If you're staying in Tyndrum then stay here without hesitation. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules35Alloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
4.1 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
15.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#4 of 7 in Tyndrum
18 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ewich House
Ewich House
#1 of 10 in Crianlarich
795 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry House

Property: Glengarry House
Address: Glangarry House Main Road, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tyndrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glengarry House is a friendly and comfortable Guest House situated in Tyndrum where the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park and the breathtaking Highlands meet. We are centrally located which is perfect for hiking, munro bagging, cycle touring, mountain biking, golfing and walking the West Highland Way. It's also an excellent base for touring by car or motorcycle. In addition to the B&B there is a separate self-catered Lodge which sleeps 4. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glengarry House Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing