We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good place to stop”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beinglas Farm Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“a good place to stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here in September (sorry for the late review) after our second day on the WWW. The farm and lodges lie right on the Way, as opposed to places like the Drovers out on the A82 where I stayed the previous time.
We had booked one of the lodges and were very impressed with it. It was well furnished and clean, with a good shower area. The night we had was quiet and we had a good night's sleep.
The food in the bar area was fine, and plenty, and we could see that for much of the time this would be a good place to spend a couple of hours, but unfortunately the day we were there a bunch of locals, who had had too much to drink were just too rowdy and spoiled the atmosphere. We wouldn't let that put us off staying here should we do the walk again, and have put that down to bad luck on that occasion. We would recommend it to anyone walking the Way

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    133
    48
    8
    24
See reviews for
40
116
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

As a campsite type place when walking the west highland way this is an excellent place. We booked one of the cabins (for 3 of us). Unfortunately they are not very high so perhaps could have booked something a bit bigger. The evening meal was very good, which was most welcome after an arduous day walking around loch Lomond. The wash rooms where clean but could have done with some pegs to hang clothes and perhaps a bench would have helped.

Room Tip: Check before booking what you are getting with the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikem1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stopped here for lunch during day 3 of WHW. As the WHW goes straight through the campsite, this was an easier option than walking out to the A82 for an alternative eatery. Pleasant staff with good menu and good food. Dining area was empty as the other customers were just leaving as we arrived. There was also a sheltered area next to the café to store our gear while we ate. Would definitely return again and the wigwams look ideal for a holiday or overnight stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StravaigingJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high peak, derbyshire, uk
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

A very convenient place to stop off when walking the West Highland Way. Rooms fine, staff helpful though the breakfast was not exactly startling. The bar was a bit like a scene from the League of Gentleman - Friday night in Royston Vasey, but the food was fine and we were allowed to leave! (and the campsite was quiet)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

After an arduous track along the shores of Loch Lomond, we were overjoyed to find the campsite was smack bang on the route.
We slept in the yurts, which were clean and comfortable. Shower facilities were large and clean.
food was average and we were very disappointed with breakfast, I sliced of toast with a poached egg for £3-very mean!
signage for the whw is very poor around the campsite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TartanladRetford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Reached Beinglas by bus from Inversnaid (ferried to Tarbet, bus to Inverarnan) on the second day. At this point my girlfriend and I both felt we'd bit off more than we could chew with the hike, hence using the Scottish transportation services. Beinglas isn't far from the bus stop in Inverarnan.

The facilities themselves are as described by the name, a farmhouse and campsite. We left the tents at home to save on pack weight and slept in one of the wigwams. They are comfortable and affordable. We made food in the shared kitchen. The facilities are ok. Felt kind of like a military barracks. There is a decent restaurant on site that serves dinner and breakfast. I opted for a beer with dinner and had their breakfast instead of eating my packed food. The shower facilities aren't anything to get excited about, unless you've hiked 15+ miles that day in which case it doesn't much matter. If I did the hike again I would probably stay here, but I'd actually try to hike the whole way to Inverarnan!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelj1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Ives
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night in September while walking the West Highland Way. Good clean rooms, Great facitlies and a wonderful Breakfast. The only down side is you stay in chalet and the place lacks a bit of the personal touch

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyVdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
1.9 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
21.0 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
18.4 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
12.9 mi away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Rowardennan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beinglas Farm Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beinglas Farm Campsite

Property: Beinglas Farm Campsite
Address: Beinglas Farmhouse Loch Lomond | Dunbartonshire, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beinglas is a walker/family friendly campsite with 8 en-suite B&B rooms, 6 camping cabins and 2 large camping fields. We have a shop, cooking area, bar/restaurant, toilets/showers, large campsite shelter,laundry facilities and a children's play area ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beinglas Farm Campsite Hotel Tyndrum
Beinglas Farm Campsite Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing