We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
Review of The Royal Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Tyndrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel is beautiful, food is excellent, staff work amazingly hard, coach drivers are brilliant felt very safe. Rooms are shabby, stayed in room 82 not sure bedding had been changed, did not smell clean and that is an upgrade room. Excellent value for money. Trip to highland concert was introduced by the hotel owner "IAN" I think the whole audience was disgusted by his joke of "run to nearest exit if a helicopter lands on roof" In view of the dreadful Glasgow disaster and the services still searching for bodies at that time both myself and my mother were horrified!!! For this reason alone I would never travel with highland heritage again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sawtry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    77
    30
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
100
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Have just returned from a 5 day holiday in Tyndrum at the Royal hotel. Been here before. I go up by car as I can't stand the 3/4 hours driving round the country before actually getting on the way. Hotel good and clean. Meals are regimented due to the number of holiday makers. Food good, hot and tasty. Went on the 2 tours but chose to go out in my car when the optional tour took place. Drivers were very good and made the holiday with their knowledge and jokes. Am booking for another holiday next year, this time at the Alexander in Oban. Again I will travel up in my own car!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day holiday at The Royal Hotel, Tyndrum with Highland Heritage Tours. This holiday is very good value for the money and the tours each day are excellent and our bus driver pointed out everything about the area. The Hotel is run very efficiently and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My son and I returned from a Highland Heritage coach holiday on November 17, we were very pleased with the hotel and the food was excellent. We had single rooms and they were spacious and comfortable. The staff were attentive and courteous and we would recommend this hotel to anyone. We were also very impressed by the efficiency of the drivers and the trips arranged, all together a very nice break, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We returned from A Highland Heritage coach tour on the 13th Nov 2013. Scotland is amazing we enjoyed the tour and the coach drivers were first class. However we were a little dissapointed with some apsects of the hotel. We were told that we had been upgraded to a superior room but if the room we stayed is in one of the superior ones then I'd hate to stay in a standard room. We had room 57 the decor is dated and the bed linen curtains etc were faded. The bathroom door wouldn't close and there was a lot of dust on top of the wardrobe when we placed our bags there. The whole room needed a refurb. It was however clean and the food was good. I felt that the hotels ritual of squirting all diners hands with antibacterial foam on the way in to the dining room to be a bit demeaning and it made me feel like a child with dirty hands.

Room Tip: The whole hotel is quiet. Ask for a room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterfieldBobbyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night break at the royal hotel with highland heritage, the hotel and staff were excellent. The food was excellent also, my husband had his 60th birthday there. One comment is that there were no telephones in the bedrooms, which usually are in all hotels. Definitely would stay there again, will go in the summer months next time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have just had a lovely 5 days at the royal hotel with highland heritage the hotel is clean and all the staff are realy friendly,the food is of a good standard,the room we had was warm
the bed was very clean, also the bathroom was clean and tidy and there was plenty of really
hot water, we also got a dressing gown each, the entertainment was good,we had a trip out every day, so for the price we paid i don't think you could find better having been all over the world in 2*-5*hotels i have been in a lot worse, therefore when you rate this holiday ask yourself what did i get for what i paid??

Room Tip: try to get an upgrade they are a little better than standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozzie-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
3.4 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
4.6 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
15.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#5 of 7 in Tyndrum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#3 of 10 in Crianlarich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: A82, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tyndrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, and with its stunning setting in the village of Tyndrum, in the middle of the Scottish Goldfields, this hotel has fantastic views and four acres of sheltered gardens. With plenty of space in both the dining room and the entertainment lounge for dining, relaxation and dancing, each capable of accommodating 200 guests. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing