We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of The Royal Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Tyndrum B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and pleasant to stay in. Overall a very pleasant stay and excellent value for money. I would recommend this holiday to anyone and will be returning for another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarnric@sky.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    77
    30
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
100
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Royal in March 2013, the coldest March in decades. We were part of a Highland Heritage Tour but had driven up in our own car. The welcome was warm and friendly, our room was large, comfortable and nicely furnished. Only complaint was room was not very warm, a result of being at the far end of the building and the outside temperature being well below zero. It didn't help that I only noticed four small vents in the double glazing on the penultimate day, one of these was open, closing said vent greatly improved the warmth of the room! There was a superbly efficient shower in the bathroom.
Staff were curteous, friendly and amazingly efficient, meals far exceeded expectation, food was very good and there was a decent choice. Bar prices were very reasonable.
Evening entertainment was good on the whole, only one evening fell flat.
Highland Heritage offer remarkable value for money and deliver a quality product, the trips we went on were interesting, the coach drivers very informative. The Famous Grouse Experience was particularly enjoyable.
I would highly recommend The Royal Hotel and Highland Heritage.

Room Tip: Go for a 'Superior' Room. This is included if you drive yourself to the hotel but worth pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthhuston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Hotel, amid beautiful surroundings, as part of a Highland Heritage Spring Break. We were well looked after from start to finish. Our feeder coach driver, Les, was very good, and our courier for the holiday, Paul, was excellent. We can only compliment Ian Cleaver on running such a tight ship, everything organised and efficient to the last detail. Our hotel room was clean, warm, well furnished and comfortable with little personal touches like Galaxy hot chocolate sachets and cookies on the hospitality tray every day ! Customer service was superb - well done Alex and team ! The food was plentiful and good, the entertainment was - even if not to your own personal taste - jolly - and bar prices were very reasonable. The tours were a good way of viewing beautiful Scotland in comfort, and, as mentioned, Paul, our courier, was great - amusing, friendly, informative and flexible. If you want to have more time to 'stand and stare' well drive yourself. This is after all, a coach holiday,and we were happy to sit back and enjoy the view. The concert was a riot, and it was a pleasure to meet 'Mr. Cleaver' who seemed to be enjoying it immensely !
Yes, if we wanted another coach holiday in Scotland, this could not be better value for money !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annew12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Having recently returned from our 5 day break I feel that I must say how much my wife,myself and our two companions enjoyed our stay.The hotel was very clean,all meals were very good and the manager and all the staff were helpful and very efficient,rooms were clean and comfortable.Throughout our stay we had no complaints at all.The entertainment was also very good.John our driver was very informative every time we went out on trips and was very helpful and pleasant.This was our first tour with Highland Heritage and will certainly not be our last.The telephone call on our return home was the final touch to a fantastic break.People are quick enough to complain but few give credit.Full marks to Mr Cleaver and his company.
Kath & Alan Ford

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Have just returned, this being our first time with Highland Heritage. We had a lovely few days.
Hotel was clean and comfortable. Our room was a bit on the small side and the bathroom tiny,
but this not a problem as you are not in it for too long. Not much wardrobe space.

Meals were okay. You had to sit at the same seat every time at meal times, but we thought this was not a problem as it tended to avoid some people moaning about "somebody's in my seat".
Meals were delivered efficiently and with a smile.

The hotel insisted on using hand gel on entering the hotel, the dining room and before getting on the coaches. This only takes a few seconds of your time, but if it prevents viruses spreading then it's a good thing. Our driver said that it had made a big difference.

The trips were good. Our driver, John, was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about Scotland and was very amusing. We particularly enjoyed the Mrs Galloway tapes he put on for us.

We found all the staff very helpful and pleasant. They were nearly all foreign. They put our service industry workers to shame.

Some people complain, but when you consider what we paid for the holiday it was really good value. We will definitely be travelling with them at some time in the future.

Room Tip: On these tours you cannot choose a room. They are allocated to you when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suestravels50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Having stayed at Tyndrum in the Royal Hotel last October and thoroughly enjoyed myself I decided that a Winter visit was needed to see me through this dismal long winter. My wife and I asked along a couple of younger friends and we can only say we had a fantastic and relaxing break. We flew up from Sothampton to Edinburgh and stayed for two nights taking in a visit to the Royal Yacht and the Castle both being a first visit for my friends. On the Friday we took a train from Edinbugh to Tyndrum, the only part of this line I have not travelled along and to our great surprise there to meet us was the general manager to take our cases the short distance from the station to the hotel.The new manager and staff greeted us with as warm a welcome as you would expect from close friends and family. During our four days stay nothing was too much trouble for the staff and our courier,John a real comedian and genuine nice guy. The icing on the cake for us was the Ceildh at Oban featuring the group "Skipinnish" and not forgetting the one and only "Ian Cleaver". We will be back in the autumn for more. Many thanks Roger Sissons

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have done many coaching holidays with many companies but our latest trip with Highland Heritage was by far the best. The coach was spotless and comfy and our courier John Reilly was an absolute star, very knowledgable and pleasant. The hotel was superb and the manager Alex and his staff were brilliant. Fantastic food and great entertainment. Lovely comfy lounge area with very reasonable bar prices. We had a lovely very big room which was very quiet at night. The trips out were great. We will recomment this trip/hotel.

Room Tip: We had room number 18 which was a large twin room at the end of a corridor. It was very comfy and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly_tom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
3.3 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
15.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ben Doran Hotel
Ben Doran Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tyndrum
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dalmally Hotel
Dalmally Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dalmally
171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#6 of 7 in Tyndrum
15 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#3 of 10 in Crianlarich
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: A82, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tyndrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, and with its stunning setting in the village of Tyndrum, in the middle of the Scottish Goldfields, this hotel has fantastic views and four acres of sheltered gardens. With plenty of space in both the dining room and the entertainment lounge for dining, relaxation and dancing, each capable of accommodating 200 guests. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing