We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the royal hotel”
Review of The Royal Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Tyndrum B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the royal hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

just returned home from our stay at the royal hotel we were very impressed how clean the hotel was the staff were first class the trips out were very good other than the trip to bute we found this very run down town. overall the holiday was first class we will be booking again and the driver frank was brilliant people moan about using the gels but we did not have a problem if it keeps virus away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    77
    30
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
100
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was with trepidation that my friend and myself embarked on what I would have called a Coach Holiday, I was to say very pleasantly surprised. We flew to Edinburgh from Southampton with Flybe and again were very impressed with this airline.
We were picked up dead on time by our coach and taken to The Royal for our weeks accomodation. Our room and food all week were first class and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The coach outings were all well planned and informative, the highlight being the trip to Mull.This trip has converted an old man to worry free holidays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASHIRE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently returned from a holiday with Highland Heritage staying at the Royal Hotel Tyndrum. On joining the coach we instantly knew it was a mistake as the coach was full of people aged 70/75 plus, on boarding the coach we were asked to use the hand gel provided every time you left the coach and reboarded. On arriving at the hotel we were given our rooms,which were definately in need of a makeover. We were told dinner would be at 7pm there is no flexability everyone is seated at the same time, you were seated at a table which you were then expected to have for the rest of the week, regardless of the fact you may be seated with someone who you did not gel with, which is what happened in our case we spoke to the manager and explained we would like to be seated somewhere else and were told that was not possible that we we have to spend the whole week with two men who were not on our wave length. However after pointing out that as a manager it was her job to do her best to resolve the situation so after along discussion we were moved to another table. The entertainment in the evening was geared for the older person with sequence dancing. There were no credit card facilities everything was cash including the optional tours which were CASH only no receipt given ???? WHOEVER HEARD OF A LARGE HOTEL THESE DAYS HAVING NO CARD FACILITIES. The whole holiday was regimented, rushed, and worked to a time table did not feel relaxed. Even the trips every day there was very little time to appreciate the surroundings . My friend and I are late 50s early 60s. I feel it should be pointed out in the brochure that this type of holiday is suited more to the over 70s. Would never go again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ANGELA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is our first coach holiday and we were not quite sure what to expect. It exceeded all our expectations, the coach was on time throughout and we arrived home 1.5 hours earlier than planned. Excellent value for money in every respect.
Hotel is very nice, the shower is a bit small in the room but OK otherwise. Staff were very pleasant, food was good, and always on time.
Our driver was John, who put us at ease right from the start, and was the perfect host throughout.
His knowledge of the area and its history was superb. A lot of little known places and features were pointed out that most would miss if they were in their own car.
Could not fault the service at all.

Room Tip: We were in room 69, which is on the top floor at the North East side of the hotel. This room is fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rovinobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST BROMWICH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Well what can I say that as not been already said. We loved it from start to finish coach on time to pick us up. Our driver John was one of the best got us there early and back two hours before we were expecting. We had two days with other drivers which at first I didn't relish but no worries. Our first was Kenny one of there longest serving drivers Scottish and very knowledgeable the second was Paul local lad they all three entertained us and gave we great days out. Thank you to all our drivers. Loved the Royal had a lovely upgrade room the only thing the bathroom was a little noisy, staff were excellent, food well what can I say we didn't leave much, entertainment was good something to listen to with a drink. We did the Locks & Islands and although we were tired when we got home all I can say is we will certainly do another one in the future. We had looked to go with another company but I am so glad we didn't. Value wise you couldn't beat it. Thank you all at Highland Heritage for great hoilday.

Room Tip: Book early get a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAZZWestBromwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The holiday was excellent value for money, the hotel was clean and the food was good. Our upgraded room was all that was advertised, but I would have appreciated a bathroom rather than a cupboard. The staff were friendly and very hard working.

The entertainment was also good, although we only watched two nights, the one being presented by an all rounder (music 60's onwards and not folk). The dance floor was also excellent to dance on and I made the most of it.

However, six hours on a coach and 2.5 hours stopping was not my idea of seeing Scotland. We were told the coaches were tracked and I suppose this was the reason for not stopping enroute for photographs. We saw Ben Nevis and then we were passed it. Lovely lochs to take photographs were driven past at speed. The trip to Edinburgh was a bit of farce again it was six hours on the coach and just 2.5 hours to explore the beautiful capitol of Scotland.

We did have good trips, the one to Mull and Iona were delightful, freedom from the coach. Forty five minutes on the sea to Mull and later the coach could not go with us to Iona, so again a chance to stretch ones legs. Also we did take some photographs.

I am not sorry we used the coach company to see the Western Isles because neither my husband and I wanted to drive the distances. However, I can see coaches are not for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

coach and drivers brilliant and trips out.bit to much of a rush getting up in the morning to go on trips.our main gripe was how they went on so much about hand gel very regimental.we all know about hygiene.meals were nice but very spars.staff worked very hard but none of them were from scotland only the drivers.no disrispect to the workers.problem when the fire alarm went off my partner went down to see what was going on because alarm stopped.porter said falsh alarm but he never went to tell us.another prob leaving cases in hall way at night ready for leaving next day which was a no no if there was a fire.if you didnt want too go on trip there were n aminites for people no staff about.you had to go to the shop for something.hotel was clean carnt fault that.but i would not go again.

Room Tip: we had a room second floor overlooking the front lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suzy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
3.3 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
15.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ben Doran Hotel
Ben Doran Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tyndrum
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dalmally Hotel
Dalmally Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dalmally
171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#6 of 7 in Tyndrum
15 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#3 of 10 in Crianlarich
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: A82, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tyndrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, and with its stunning setting in the village of Tyndrum, in the middle of the Scottish Goldfields, this hotel has fantastic views and four acres of sheltered gardens. With plenty of space in both the dining room and the entertainment lounge for dining, relaxation and dancing, each capable of accommodating 200 guests. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing