We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodges smaller than we thought, but would stay again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathfillan Wigwams
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Buffalo Lodge for 1 night on 26th October, I wish the website had more pics so we could have gotten an idea of the overall size as it was much smaller than I expected, we assumed it would comfortably house 6 of us as there is actually space for 8 to sleep(4 beds and 2 sofa beds sleeping 4)but we found the living space quite cramped for 6 people! It's £80 for 2 adults and £10 for every extra adult, so we paid £120 in total. On arrival we were shown a map of where our lodge was and had to find it on our own, it was a bit confusing but we eventually reached it, and liked the location of Buffalo Lodge, the very last one backed by forest so relatively private, although we did see a lot of walkers pass our lodge during the day. The lodge itself was clean with a small living area with 2 sofas(which turn into beds)a medium sized tv with freeview channels, a small kitchen area with full sized fridge and mini freezer compartment, microwave, oven, plates glasses and cutlery. The bedrooms are tiny but would be fine for a smaller group than we had, and do not have bedding, you have to either bring your own or rent a set from the farm shop for £5 per set. The man on reception wasn't the most talkative or friendly guy, and he failed to tell us that the electricity was pay as you go(we had the impression we used the electricity then paid after checking out and handing keys back)which resulted in us sitting without electricity for an hour looking for a fuse box until we found the coin meter! The surrounding area is lovely, the lodges are surrounded by trees and fields, and the wig wams looked a good size, they have regular and large ones. The farm shop is quite well stocked, with some nice souvenirs too. We ordered rolls and bacon but unfortunately discovered they were mouldy(after eating two...)but we did get half our money back. There is a shower block and toilet block on site for the wig wams without these facilities, and also a kitchen area with cooking facilities etc which is useful if you're camping rather than staying in the wig wams or lodges. Apart from the lodge being a lot smaller than we'd expected, we would stay again, the weather was really bad so we spent most of our time in the actual lodge which has everything you need for a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichelleMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Strathfillan Wigwams
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 255 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in beaver lodge for the night, 2 adults and 2 kids for £80 which Gave a wee bit more room than the standard wigwam with the addition of shower and en suite shower/electric hob. Can't fault it, views were cracking, staff in the shop were friendly and the choice of "posh meat" to barbeque made it slightly different. Camel burgers all round.....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjedinburgh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just had a great time at Strathfillan Wigwams, saw a couple of reviews but i had no problems, everyone was really nice and friendly, the wigwams were clean, and the view was fantastic right on the West Highland Way i will definately be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morag C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We (a family of 2 adults & 2 kids age 6 & 4) are just back from a mid week two night stay in the Bald Eagle Lodge. We'd originally booked the Firewater Lodge but were upgraded as they needed that for another booking. We paid £162 for the two nights.

Although the Bald Eagle Lodge was the perfect size for us it was quite tired & in need of some much needed maintenance. There was a lounge section with 2 sofa beds, a fully equipped kitchen with table & chairs, a small bathroom with shower, toilet & sink & a twin bedroom with wardrobe space. The beds in both areas are literally just a foam mattress but they were surprisingly comfortable.

We had the fire pit outside with a table & benches & were very close to a little burn. We hired the linen also & were each provided with a pillow in a pillow case, liner & sleeping bag. These were all clean & surprisingly cozy! These cost us an extra £20 but you only pay £5 each set & it doesn't matter how long you're staying for so it didn't seem too bad to add that onto the cost of the lodge itself.

We used the shop a few times however we were only there for a few nights & had brought our own food. We spent our full day out so really only used the lodge as a 'base' from which to explore.

Our kids absolutely loved the whole experience! The excitement of the sleeping bags, seeing the stars at night, toasting marshmallows on the fire pit & guddling in the burn was like a little adventure to them which is what we wanted to achieve. The walk to the waterfall through some trees was again like a little adventure & they enjoyed it immensely.

Our only slight concern really was the state of repair of the lodge. As mentioned earlier it is in need of some maintenance & upgrade. However if you just need somewhere warm & dry to sleep while you explore the area then it was ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed in the yurt, was very cosy, probably perfect for a couple wouldn't recommend with youngsters but we left ours at home so was fine! Could get claustrophobic with the lack of windows if you stayed in during the day I guess but why would you want to in that part of the world - and if you book a yurt, you know what one is presumably! Facilities very nice, the campsite has some beautiful spots and scenery. If you use the fire you will smell of smoke but its all part of the fun!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Firstly booked in a small wigwam - bad mistake they are awful, felt like an old scout hut!! Managed to change to a normal wigwam the girl was very pleasant and didn't see this as a problem which I was so grateful for! When entering the 'normal' wigwam the smell of fire smoke hit you straight away - it was awful!! And before you all say it, I know that's what camping is all about having fires etc but I don't expect to have to eat, sleep and breathe the smokey smell - the wigwams are so old that the smell has soaked in to the wood!!! I think a bit of reinvestment is needed in to giving the wigwams a new coat of paint inside and out!! The price was puzzling to me too, originally the small wigwam (old scout hut!!) cost £68 for 2 adults for 2 nights - rip off!! But when we moved to a 'normal' wigwam I was charged an extra £6 so overall totaling £74 for 2 nights (£37 a night) this is very expensive for the condition they are in!! We have travelled all around Scotland and stayed in lots of wigwams for less price than this and in a lot better condition!! I can't really say much about the staff as we did not see them because we didn't stay much at the wigwam due to the smell - our sleeping bags etc now stink!!! We definitely won't be back unless the wigwams have a makeover!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstyandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with our grandchildren, they loved the freedom especially the Trading Post little shop where they could spend their pocket money, the campfire is a must to toast the marshmallows, Try the goat currie burgers cooked on the campfire,,,, they were brilliant,
Toilets and showers were always clean and staff were always helpful,
A great wigwam experience,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
2.9 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
4.1 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
957 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#5 of 7 in Tyndrum
23 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ewich House
Ewich House
#1 of 10 in Crianlarich
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathfillan Wigwams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathfillan Wigwams

Address: Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Strathfillan Wigwams Hotel Tyndrum
Strathfillan Wigwams Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing