We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathfillan Wigwams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathfillan Wigwams
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Thursday for one night with my partner and our 9year old son

We booked a large wigwam, we were given wigwam 10 which was comfortable but I must say I think it had the worst position in the camp! Looking over the animal pens! and the farm building! We went a walk about and it really was the only one with a bad view!

But we still had a fab day and night the fire bin is great and the built in bricks on the outside table for your bbqs :) Our fridge wasn't switched on for us arriving which was daft! And they don't sell bags of ice,, so it was warm drinks for us all night!

Overall we had a nice nights stay, and I would return, but would asked not to be put into wigwam 10 :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summerhols30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    71
    26
    17
    16
See reviews for
63
69
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armadale
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed a couple of times before, and enjoy the experience, we were lucky with weather so enjoyed cooking outside, the wigwam location, and the company of friends made it a very enjoyable trip - but the big downside is the owner and customer service (or lack of!)

A friend booked by phone, told us how much we were all to pay, but upon arrival, the price had changed / increased. We tried to discuss this with member of staff, who told us he didn't have authority to offer any refund, he didn't know if we'd been overcharged or not when we told him what we'd been quoted on phone, he couldn't confirm the prices so I asked to talk to Manager. He wasn't around, so I was told to call back, some time later.

We finally got to talk to the Owner - but before I could finish explaining what our concerns were, he was interrupting me in a very confrontational manner. It felt like he'd decided he wasn't going to listen to what our issue was, and it ended up turning into a heated discussion when it needn't have, because of his rudeness & the unprofessional manner he has. It meant our stay started off in a very negative way, and I'm not likely to return to spend my money there.

If he wants peoples money, their custom and future business, in my opinion, he needs to learn some people skills.

As for the wigwam itself, ours was a new one, which was nice & it was bigger than we had previously, it was close to our friends so good location for us all to be together, and we were close to toilets which was a bonus. The downside was the fridge was on so low it didn't chill anything for hours. We didn't use the kitchen facilities, and I didn't spend any other money on site due to the earlier run-in with management.

With regards to the issue about the price, its still not clear where the miscommunication arose, so I cannot say if were charged incorrectly or not, but we are angry about the way our query was handled.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandg187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time with work colleagues and friend, The place is stunning and wigwams very comfortable. The main problem is the old man (manager) clearly has no people skills!! We were quoted £40 per wigwam and when we arrived this jumped upto £50 a night so an extra £30 for the 3 wigwams, my friend went to ask why this was and the young guy in the shop said he didn't know and it was usually £40 a night, then the grumpy old man came out his office like a raging bull (funny our wigwam was called raging bull, maybe named after him) and gave her dogs abuse!!! Lucky for him we never heard or seen this. All in all wont be back, he is a chancer!!! And his wife wasn't very pleasant either!!! They will rip off the wrong person someday!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlhrangersfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

very disappointed when our 2 day trip was cut short, we had booked wigwam a few weeks ago and checked in thursday afternoon for our 2night stay. when leaving for our day trip friday we were met by a member of staff with a key to 'move to another wigwam' i explained to staff several times that my mother was disabled and we had 2 young kids- aged 4 and 5 and that the wigwam they wanted us to move to was not only a major disruption to our day but also an inconvienience where toilets etc were at the top of A hill. eventually we got our money back but due to short notice were unable to find accomadation elsewhere and had to come home with 2 very upset/ disappointed kids who had lost out on their 'big adventure'.
they told the people that turned up with the key for the new wig wam that we already knew we had to move, which we didn't. Then the manager used the excuse it was because the shop was busy when we checked in when it was only us there- so why lie and say he had told us on check in? Apparently it would cause "even more hassle to move other people so we had to move".We were expected to give up a day moving all our things to another wig wam which was unsuitable or hang about all day waiting while they found one more suitable, meaning missing out on seeing everything nearby. Not even so much as an apology, and the manager is so very dour and unprofesional.
Forgot to mention about the wobbly bed as well. We were scared to move all night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunderheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Spent two nights in one of the older wigwams while my wife and I walked various parts of the West Highland Way.

The site is well laid out with the lodges and wigwams spread out so you do not feel as if you are in the middle of a "village".

The Wigwam was clean and secure and we found the other facilities very well presented. Very clean showers, good hot water supply and we were quite impressed with the additional kitchen facilities.

£1 per shower is an acceptable and it is understandable that fuel for fires are bought on site. The site shop also well stocked and most of the staff on duty during our visit quite welcoming.

Overall we found the site a good choice for two days away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nkernohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The issue that we had with the lodge that we stayed was that it was incredible DIRTY! I mean seriously they have never done a proper cleaning on these lodges. Where to start! They only clean the obvious places. By coincidence, the minivan of cleaning of the Strathfillian wigwam came to clean the lodge next to us. I counted the minutes they where in there: 13 minutes for a big lodge for 12 people! Seriously.

In general, there is no maintainance to the lodge that we stayed for. Plus the man behind the reception was very unfriendly and unprofessional (in my opinion).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariannanarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent one night here in July. We were lucky the weather was great. Really enjoyed ourselves was peaceful in a beautiful setting. The night we stayed was quiet and we had our own space away from others as they weren't fully booked but I wouldn't expect this on weekends. We stayed in a small wigwam very cosy and good value for money. There are facilities near the wigwams with toilets, kitchen and lounge area everyone is welcome to use. I had read some reviews about bad customer service in the reception / shop. I wouldn't say it was great but I wasn't there to be bothered by the customer service I received, when your up at your wigwam everything else is irrelevant. Great sitting with the fire going under the stars :). Will definitely return to the wigwams.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
2.9 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
4.1 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ewich House
Ewich House
#1 of 11 in Crianlarich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#3 of 11 in Crianlarich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathfillan Wigwams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathfillan Wigwams

Property: Strathfillan Wigwams
Address: Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Strathfillan Wigwams Hotel Tyndrum
Strathfillan Wigwams Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing