We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service makes up for small-ish rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalkell Cottage Guest House

Dalkell Cottage Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dalkell Cottage Guest House
Ranked #7 of 7 Tyndrum B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Friendly service makes up for small-ish rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

When you first get here, you might think the rooms are a bit cramped and a little dated. Even the en-suite room is pretty small. But, the hosting more than made up for it when we visited last week - Chris was a great guy and very welcoming indeed. The breakfast was great, and it was so nice to have the large living room to relax in after a long day's walking.

The rooms themselves are adequate, without being anything special, but the whole place is kept nice and neat, and the hosts have done all they can with the place.

It's really near the Real Food Co fish bar, which is worth a visit too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali_tabari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    29
    22
    9
See reviews for
8
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
alshfer
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Conveyor-belt B&Bing at its worst. Charmless, soulless, functional, utilitarian, parsimonious. The concept of welcoming hospitality is utterly lacking. Not a semblance of warmth, in either of its meanings (by 1900 in one of the wettest, dankest Septembers on record, the central heating had been shut down and the gas fire in the guests' sitting room disabled). The overriding impression given is that the bare minimum shall be provided to paying guests. And TINY. By chance I caught a glimpse inside the garden shed, considerably bigger than our room! The Flymo and the Hayter were luxuriating in space my wife & I could only dream of. It comes as no surprise that this establishment is currently ranked the lowest of 6 B&Bs in the village. The owners are in dire need of a refresher course in what standards are the norm elsewhere nowadays.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alshfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We found this B and B to be adequate but not special. The rooms were small and we felt squeezed in. The sitting room was good and we were pleased to be able to play Scrabble and watch TV. The breakfast provided us with lunch as we were given 2 croisants and some cheese which kept us going till supper on the West Highland Way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venetiastent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I was travelling with a group of cyclists on route to Oban from Glasgow. ( I was the driver of the recovery vehicle ). When we arrived, we all got a very warm and friendly welcome. After completing our breakfast request forms, we were shown to our rooms.
They all varied in size. I had a room to myself (room 6) which was just the right size for me. It has a very comfortable single bed, nice clean shower and wash hand basin with three clean towels for my use.
My one night stay at Dalkell Cottage gave me what was very possibly the best night's sleep I've had outwith the comforts of my own bed. I awoke at 6am to the sound of birds singing and when I opened the curtains, I was rewarded with a very beautiful view of one of the nearby hills with the sun already shining. It was one of the most beautiful places I've ever had the pleasure of staying in.
After a nice warm shower I went for breakfast. I was a little early but was made welcome and watched the TV for a short while. I stood at the large window and enjoyed the beautiful scenery and the friendly wave I got from people as they walked along the road. The breakfast was just the right portion size for me, it was warm and feshly cooked and the cereal was abundant.
Chris was extremely helpful with regards to local knowledge and suggested where we could get an evening meal.
On the whole, I would say that Dalkell Cottage Guest House is a clean, friendly and warm place to recover from the Scottish weather and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Have a look at the photo's of the rooms and, if in doubt, call or email Chris to make sure you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a nice friendly clean place,the bedroom we had was just done up so was very pleasant.The breakfast was very good and filling and the owners very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotlass123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

I would throughly recommend staying at Dalkell Cottage. Angela and Chris are exceptional hosts and will do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms were clean, fabulously warm and the breakfast was hearty.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

After being stranded in Tyndrum on a rainy February morning, this lovely copule took us in and provided us with clean and warm rooms. They also dished up a hearty breakfast without having to do so! Scottish hospitality at it's best. The rooms are basic but have everything you need and the lounge is large and comfortable. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
4.5 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
5.8 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
21.9 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ewich House
Ewich House
#1 of 11 in Crianlarich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Crianlarich Youth Hostel
#3 of 4 in Crianlarich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalkell Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalkell Cottage Guest House

Property: Dalkell Cottage Guest House
Address: Dalkell Cottages Lower STATION, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dalkell Cottage Guest House Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing