We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Girls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tyndrum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We spent 6days at end October and thoroughly enjoyed it The hotel was very clean, food very good staff very pleasant and helpful and the trips were all very enjoyable showing us what a beautiful country Scotland is, the snow on the hills was the icing on the cake.
The only thing we didnt like was the doors shut at 11.45, quite early really but cant say it ruined holiday. Very good value for money and we would certainly recommend it to our friends.,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 570 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

dusty rooms poor internet access, food basic, and very little choice, small portions, you wont put weight on on this holiday.nothing is person centered institutionalized everyone eating at same time. hotel turn off heating during night bearing in mind there was snow out side. reception only open ten minutes at night and ten minutes in morning no managerial staff available at anybody time. make you put on hand sanitiser because scared off people being ill. meat made people ill. facilaties usless showers eather boiling or freezing. even in ladies toilets to hot to wash hands. food dispendsed from hosets trolly all at same time no leway on time not there no food. two lifts to hundres of customers full of able bodied people pushing people out that are not able to use stairs.

Room Tip: dont even bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just had a five day coach trip with Highland Heritage .we had to change coaches going up and back it was it was 50 minutes stop.Hotel looks nice from the outside.carpets dirty.We got served last on a number of meals.This made getting a seat to watch the entertament was a no go.food average but a person got egg shell for breakfast.soup was cold.served out of two bowls ( got dregs ).cost ThirteenPounds for a trip to fort William.and extra three pounds to get in the famous grouse experience. Not a good three star Hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank timmyrotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

First visit to the Ben Doran Hotel, My husband and I and two friends,we had the most wonderful time. The staff were very efficient the food was brought to the table and was always piping hot, We were given a free upgrade to a premium room which was always lovely and warm, the hostess tray was filled every day, and was always spotless and clean,we had our room number given to us by the manager before we got off the coach. Paul and John our tour drivers were excellent and very entertaining also gave us great knowledge of the places we visited, the coaches were always clean and had plenty of room. We have been travelling on coach holidays for many years, this is the first time we have been with Highland Heritage and will certainly be travelling with them again in the spring of 2014 Gillian White Boston Lincs

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

First visit to this hotel but the staff were as efficient and helpful as those at the Dalmally and Alexandra. The views from the lounge and dining-room were amazing - blue skies, sunshine and snow on the mountains! The gondola ride up Aonach Mor on such a day was breathtaking and something everyone should do at least once.
Already looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a welcome, staff waving in full halloween fancy dress, after the long journey it was a sight for sore eyes. It was my husbands 65th birthday and straight away we felt at home. Nothing was too much for the manager and staff. What a system, manager gave each person a room number before you got off the coach, you just went to the room, suitcases outside and key in door, put kettle in and we were home. Trips out excellent and well orchestrated. Not sure about Mr. Clea ers sanity but meant in a nice way, a lovely sense of humour and so friendly, great jokes. Entertainme t was good the wee chappie with that electronic accordian was amazing and you could see he played with pride. We will be back. Only down side brilliant the hand spray but can you get one with moisturiser in my hands are sore and chapped, but something that is well needed. Dyl and Roy Edwards, Telford

Room Tip: Remember that dining room and bar are on top floor, higher up you are closer to amenities. Good lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlys e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just spent 6days at the ben doran hotel. Having been there before we thought we new what to expect. How wrong we were. Having driven by car we were given an up grade instead of normal £20 you used to get.If the room was an upgrade I would hate to think what a normal room would be like. The carpet was threadbare in places and the bed was so uncomfortable as some of the springs had gone. We complained mattress was change but still not much better, didn't get much sleep. The food used to be excellent but not this time. You were rushed at mealtimes. This used to be a first class hotel but I think standards have slipped to second class. Won't go back unless standards improve.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Elsieb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
4.6 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
16.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,271 reviews
16.1 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
702 reviews
19.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
20.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Ben Doran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Ben Doran Hotel

Address: Tyndrum, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tyndrum
Price Range: $72 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Ben Doran Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, and with its stunning setting in the village of Tyndrum, the Ben Doran is a great place to stay. Purpose built for Highland Heritage group by Ian Cleaver, MD, this beautifully kept hotel has a sparkling glazed entrance filled with flowers and plants providing year round colour. Uniquely, the dining room and the lounges can be found on the top floor making the most of the location's spectacular views. Here you can admire the panoramic outlook across the glens and mountains. Free WIFI in Quiet Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Muthu Ben Doran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing