We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland Heritage coach tour's”
Review of Ben Doran Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ben Doran Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Tyndrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highland Heritage coach tour's”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Thank You for a really great holiday, we stayed in the Ben Doran hotel in June and did the Scenic West Coast tour. The whole experience was great, the hotel staff were lovely, friendly, and cheerful the night time entertainment was also good. Our bus trips were also excellent, and our driver Paul was very informative and amusing at the same time. We have been on coach holidays before but this one was by far the best. So thank you Ian and all your staff, and we will see you again next year. Mary,Lawrence, Rodney, and Marion

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolnmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    131
    63
    25
    26
See reviews for
66
252
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent five nights/six days which were very enjoyable. Friendly and efficient staff, good food, comfortable beds, and excellent entertainment each evening. Very good value for money and hope to return to see more of Scotland.

Room Tip: Book early and get a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at The Ben Doran in April for 5 days. The package is excellent value for money. Rooms spotless, clean towels everyday, tea and coffee making facilities in the room, replienshed everyday.

As we were on a loch & Island tour we were out all day, everyday.

Entertainment geared towards senior customer.

Food quality good, disappointed with veggie option as felt uncomfortable requesting it even though I had told the company when the holiday was booked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babygirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Ben Doran from the 11th -15th June 2013. We were on a highland Heritage mini break called Scenic West Coast. The standard of the rooms and appearance of the Hotel were high. The meal times were set as per days journey and everyone eats at the same time. The food quality is good and the service slick!! However the menu is possibly restrictive as there are only Two choices of starter and main courses. The evening entertainment is very much geared to the more senior clientele!! One man and a guitar first night, second night one man and an accordion, third night (cabaret night haha) one man and a guitar again, fourth night we did not go to the entertainment as enough was enough!! Overall the hotel was good....would we stay again.....possibly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drobbers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just arrived back from this hotel and had a wonderful time. Gorgeous setting and the flowers were amazing. Our driver for the duration of our stay was Frank, and he really made the holiday very interesting with his vast knowledge of the area. Clean towels every day, plenty of hot water and tea & coffee making facilities very good, with 'top-ups' every day. Staff in the dining room were also amazing. Everything went without a hitch, even the 'change-over' at J38. The whole holiday was completely organised without any problems.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

we have just come back from a great holiday in Scotland with heritage holidays at ben doran the staff were fab they could not do enough for us every morning at breakfast we were greeted by all staff including manager frazer. all tours were great informative .great value for money.
long trips to get there but views were fantastic.
anyone who is shy would enjoy everyone makes you welcome

Room Tip: all rooms were spacious clean ,bags got taken to your room and put on bus at end of trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was our first experience of Highland Heritage coach tours.The hotel was very good value for the price,our room was excellent and the staff were very helpful and gave very good service.We feel the change over of coaches at Tebay services needs serious attention,we had to wait nearly two hours for the link coach to arrive from Nottingham and apparently the exact same thing had happened the day we travelled up to Tebay,when we arrived there, several passengers going home told us they too had a long wait to transfer to their coach,so why did we have to leave our hotel so early only to have to sit and wait two hours?We have travelled numerous times with Skills coaches(our link coach)and never had this treatment.Our driver John was very good natured but even he had difficulty expl;aining why our optional excursion on the Saturday was a trip to Fort William costing £13,which wasn't too expensive,but what we weren't told was that we were being taken there anyway on the sunday as part of the planned excursion...you can work that one out for yourselves..coach full x £13.00...am seriously having second thoughts about using the company again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
4.6 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
16.1 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#6 of 7 in Tyndrum
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalmally Hotel
Dalmally Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dalmally
171 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Doran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Doran Hotel

Property: Ben Doran Hotel
Address: Tyndrum, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tyndrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Doran Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, and with its stunning setting in the village of Tyndrum, the Ben Doran is a great place to stay. Purpose built for Highland Heritage group by Ian Cleaver, MD, this beautifully kept hotel has a sparkling glazed entrance filled with flowers and plants providing year round colour. Uniquely, the dining room and the lounges can be found on the top floor making the most of the location's spectacular views. Here you can admire the panoramic outlook across the glens and mountains. Free WIFI in Quiet Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ben Doran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Doran Hotel Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing