We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland Heritage - Ben Doran”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tyndrum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from a coach trip, staying at the Ben Doran. Room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with a fantastic view. Food was excellent and the service was very well organised and all the hotel team gave first class customer service. We enjoyed all the coach trips with friendly drivers who had sound knowledge of all the places of interest. Will be booking again very shortly. Ideal holiday for anyone who enjoys coach holidays and wants value for money.

Many thanks to EVERYONE in the company.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GinLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 570 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just returned from lochs and islands trip. Good value for money, don't expect 5* when paying 3*prices. Hotel remote but excellent views. Go to Green Welly if you want a change from hotel food. It is quite regimental but with 200 people, many of them elderly, there has to be some organizing. We had a day to ourselves and walked part of the West Highland Way which was lovely. A good taster to Scotland but beware coach trips are not everyone's cup of tea. If you like to do your own thing, don't do this trip.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have excellent views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visitor529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

just returned from ben doran, 5 day break. hotel a bit isolated a s no other venues at night to visit, but a couple of good nights entertainment in hotel. for the money we paid food was good value, it was served hot and certainly enough of it. the rooms were clean and everywhere was warm, in fact we had to have window open to cool the room down. the staff were friendly and always willing to talk. the only thing we found disappointing were the trips, 30 mins in some places does not give you long enough to do anything, but then you get 3 hours in Rothesay on a sunday, when all the shops are shut! overall a nice break and lovely scenery.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Scotland with Highland Heritage, having been there previously with their competitors Lochs & Glens. Stayed at the Ben Doran Hotel in Tyndrum. There were plusses and minuses to our trip. The plusses - the hotel is attractively styled, in a beautiful location, and the rooms are comfortable and adequately fitted. The daily excursions were well run, on comfortable coaches with pleasant and knowledgeable drivers. Overall it was good value for money, however there were a few minus points that detracted from the complete package:

• The ‘link coach’ system of being collected by an external coach company and then being transferred to the Highland Heritage coach on some remote motorway services car park is less than ideal. Our link coach arrived almost an hour and a half late (after we had all been up at the crack of dawn to arrive at the pick up point for the pre-arranged time) resulting in us not arriving at the hotel until almost 7pm in the evening. The sooner this system reverts back to one coach for the whole trip, the better.
• Our room was immediately below the kitchens, resulting in a lot of noise through the floor into our room in the run up to, and during, dinner service. [Some soundproofing between the kitchen and the rooms below it would be prudent]. We were also disturbed from our sleep in the small hours by noises coming from the ceiling joists above our room, of pattering feet and gnawing sounds which we concluded were some kind of creatures that had gained access into the fabric of the building (possibly rats as they were too noisy for mice) and had either worked out, or were trying to work out, a way to access the kitchen in order to obtain food. We reported the noises to staff but they seemed to want to think we had imagined them.
• We were allocated a twin bedded room and so decided to push our beds together to make a double bed. On doing so, it became obvious that the cleaning staff only clean what is visible, as the carpet underneath where the beds had stood was covered in dust and bits of fluff.
• Service in the dining room is somewhat chaotic since every course is served individually rather than using a buffet system which, if you don’t want all of the courses offered means a lot of waiting around while you wait for the staff to get around to bringing the next course. This is particularly awkward at breakfast time when you are on a deadline to get to your coach for the departure time of the day’s excursion and you constantly feel you have to rush through the meal in order not to be late. Using a buffet system, at least for breakfast, would make life a lot easier, for customers and for the very overworked staff. Food is adequate for the price you pay for the holiday, but don’t expect Ritz quality!
• The hotel’s doors are locked at 11.45pm promptly, so no late night outings!
• Tyndrum consists of one pub, a mini-market, a gift shop and one café so guests at the Ben Doran are pretty much a captive audience in the evenings, so it was disappointing that little attention has been given to providing guests with amenities to amuse themselves in the evenings. A nightly entertainer is provided – usually a singer – but mostly the entertainment is very ‘middle of the road’ to cater for the mostly older clientele (being in our mid 50’s we were some of the youngest clients there), but for guests who don’t like, or don’t wish to stay and listen to it have very little else to do. There is a snooker room, but the staff told us there was a £2 fee to obtain the snooker balls which we were pretty disgusted with. In our opinion all of such amenities should be free for the use of guests. Some guests wanted to play cards but the only suitable table they could find to use had legs so wobbly it would barely stand up. The provision of a proper card table as well as playing cards and perhaps dominos and even a dartboard for the pleasure of guests who don’t want to listen to the entertainer would be considerate and encourage guests to stay at the hotel and purchase drinks at the bar rather than make an exodus across the road to the pub, which is what a good proportion did.

These minus points didn’t put too much of a dampener on our holiday, since the main purpose of it was to see the Scottish Highlands and in that respect Highland Heritage delivered, but in comparing our trip with our previous one with Lochs & Glens, they do lose them points, giving Lochs & Glens the advantage.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindyLoo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I can categorically agree with "hazels" experience, we did not know this lady but we did witness her distress, she was NOT banging the counter nor was she screaming and shouting?? Certainly not at the point we were near reception any way?
The change over was not organised well? We offloaded and had to return with our luggage on the same coach, the elderly man was taken off the coach, the bus did break down, we waited at an industrial estate for the replacement coach. Please read the small print in your paperwork! If you become ill while you are staying at one of their hotels they have the right to remove you from the hotel! Put you in a taxi/train ..... this we experienced ourselves by colleagues that came with us who became poorly, no concern of your age or disposition, we were worried about our friends who were too frail to lift suitcases? We were told there were porters at the station but they are few and far between and when we raised our concerns the gentleman who was extremely rude said " that's not my problem,and if you don't clam down you will be removed from the hotel too" we have later read the paperwork and yes they are entitled to remove you from their hotel. Ok but there are ways to speak to guests and the gentleman in question should seriously re evaluate his position and maybe think of finding a job that does not involve communicating with the general public? During the day there was no reception, that is also true, and yes breakfast was served at 7.45am as we were going on a trip but some people were not booked to go on the trip? Why did they only have such a small allotted time to eat? They had a day at their leisure? All in all this whole experience will lead us never to use Highland Heritage again and we will certainly not be recommending them to anyone! It was said by the rude manager/deputy manager that there was no bug at the hotel until we arrived yet the coach driver had openly said there had been an outbreak of a sickness bug there the week before? There were more guests unhappy with the hotel and it's manager than just ourselves and "Hazel" who has had the decency to warn others of the terrible aptitude of this hotels management and I am just sorry that a lot of people our age do not access the internet to warn other elderly/pensioner guests of the way the hotel management handle themselves. Lets hope his parents/grandparent's never have to endure the same awful treatment as us our friends and other guests did at this hotel?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Returned refreshed from our 6 day 'Castles and Gardens' holiday with Highland Heritage, staying at The Ben Doran Hotel.

Our room was clean, bright and very comfortable with all of the usual things you would expect.

The manager ( Fraser) and all of the staff were friendly, efficient and polite.

Our coach driver/courier ( Gary ) was excellent & made our journeys to the various locations both interesting and enjoyable.

We were also very impressed with the entertainment provided, with The Homelanders being our personal favourites.

The food was first class, efficiently served, plentiful and piping hot. Quite an achievement when you consider they had 4 full coaches in, making for over 200 people to be served all at once.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Highland Heritage & The Ben Doran Hotel and we would certainly like to holiday with them again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyladyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from our first Highland Heritage holiday staying at Ben Doran. The staff are very efficient providing excellent service in their multi tasking roles. Meal times were at a set time but it was amazing how organised things were and the food always arrived hot. My only criticism would be that you could have done with a bit more time for breakfast and the departure time of the coach for the days outing. We were pleasantly surprised by the price of drinks in the hotel bar which were very reasonable compared with other places we have stayed at. The Heritage Lager was rather bitter and it would be nice to have an alternative choice of lager like Foster.
Stevie our courier did a good job and made the days out enjoyable being a mine of information on the History of the area. We would have liked a bit more time in some of the places we visited
so it may be an idea to reduce the number of locations to allow extra time at others. We had a couple of people in our party that are diabetic so it was difficult for them to fit in meal times as the various stops weren't long enough at the time they needed to eat. The ceilidh on Sunday at Fort William was a lot better than expected as quite a few people were thinking of giving it a miss
wrongly anticipating just bagpipes and Highland dancers instead of singer and accompaniment of accordion and bagpipes. It must cost Mr Cleaver a fortune in hand sanitizer in a year but its better than problems from noro virus etc.

Room Tip: Room with a back view overlooking mountains is amazing when covered in snow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AljanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
4.6 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
16.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,271 reviews
16.1 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
702 reviews
19.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
20.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Ben Doran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Ben Doran Hotel

Address: Tyndrum, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tyndrum
Price Range: $72 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Ben Doran Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, and with its stunning setting in the village of Tyndrum, the Ben Doran is a great place to stay. Purpose built for Highland Heritage group by Ian Cleaver, MD, this beautifully kept hotel has a sparkling glazed entrance filled with flowers and plants providing year round colour. Uniquely, the dining room and the lounges can be found on the top floor making the most of the location's spectacular views. Here you can admire the panoramic outlook across the glens and mountains. Free WIFI in Quiet Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Muthu Ben Doran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing