We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
$87
$83
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clachan Cottage Hotel(Lochearnhead)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardanaiseig Hotel(Kilchrenan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveler rating
252
165
90
40
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
165
90
40
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshighland heritagedining roomturkey and tinselcoach drivertop floorquiet roombowl of fruitgreat holidaybiscuitsbar priceseach eveningkipperslong journeythird floorcoach holidayhand sanitizerexceptional value
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 585 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I went to Ben Doran for our wedding anniversary, it was wonderful. The hotel was lovely, staff could not be faulted, the room and bathroom was excellent. The food was very good and plentiful, service could not have been better. Our courier Gary was very good and full of local knowledge. One of the best holidays I have ever had. Thankyou Highland Heritage for a memorable spring break.

Room Tip: Our room at the front was lovely, the views spectacular.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Myself and a friend had a 5 night Highland Heritage holiday here for Easter week. Once you get used to the regimented order of things it isn't too bad, there are a lot of guests at this hotel and I think that is why it is done like this. The premium room upgrade equates to getting fruit in your room and I'm not sure it is replaced as we didn't eat it whilst we were there. Everything else, whilst clean, I can only describe as tired. Our bathroom needed a refresh. A definite rethink on the bedding required - looks cheap and like its a few years old! The entertainment was typically what you'd expect, and there was enough opportunity for dancing for me. Not much else to do around the hotel, and with trips every day, we didn't get much time for exploring. Trips were excellent, drivers very informative, but would have liked more time at Mount Stuart House. Having to use the antibacterial Gel every time we boarded the coaches, or entered the hotel or entered the dining room, got a bit wearing but I don't think anyone got the Norovirus, so worth doing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Took my Mum (who's 85) away for a short 4 night break with Highland Heritage holidays. We had a beautiful room on the ground floor, which was spotlessly clean and the en suite had a bath as well as a shower. We also got fruit, really nice biscuits, and tea, coffee and hot chocolate in our room to chose from. However, it was cold at times in our room and the electric heaters on the wall were automatically switched off at certain times during the day night which disturbed our sleep when we woke up cold.

There is a lovely roaring fire in the reception area, but you cannot sit around it as the only chairs are tucked away in the corner. The reception is only staffed for part of the time and wifi connection is a bit dodgy to say the least.

The only downside is the catering. Everyone in the hotel has to present themselves for breakfast and dinner at the same time. You are not given the choice of where to sit. In fact one poor lady who was travelling on her own tried to sit next to us for company and was made to sit somewhere else on her own. It made no sense at all. The food can be best described as like school dinners! My advice would be to order fish rather than meat, as this can only be described as the kind of processed sliced meat you get from the supermarket to make sandwiches. But like I said you get what you pay for and this holiday was budget.

The other thing you need to be aware of is that if you want wine or beer with you meal you need to get this from the bar beforehand as the bar closes during the restaurant service. One night I only just got to the bar in time and was told, "I shouldn't be serving you you need to be sat down for your meal. It all felt a little bit controlling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

highland heritage holidays are really good,hotel is very good,clean,meals are really nice and there is plenty to eat.the trips are good too most of them are included,the drivers are very helpful and the rest of the staff are very good to.all in all i had areally good time

Room Tip: if you book by certain dates you get a up date
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A beautiful hotel with beautiful surroundings

The hotel is set in a little village called Tyndrum. It has its own gardens with lots of lovely views no matter where you are within the grounds.

The hotel staff from management-bar staff- house staff- waiting staff were all as helpful as possible and would go out of there way to help.
We askedd for bath mats and extra pillows, they were with us within minutes,

A pleasure to stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews