We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B in Tyndrum”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tigh-Na-Fraoch

Tigh-Na-Fraoch
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh-Na-Fraoch
Ranked #3 of 7 Tyndrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in Tyndrum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Tigh-Na-Fraoch for one night whilst walking the West Highland Way and it was probably our favourite B&B of the week. After a horrible day of torrential rain, we arrived soaked through and despite arriving an hour before check in time, Heather welcomed us with coffee and home made scones and made sure our waterproofs and boots were taken to be dried off.

Our bedroom was lovely and comfortable and the breakfast (including fresh fish caught the night before) was delicious. The packed lunch was great value for money too, and included one of those lovely scones to see us through the 19 mile walk that day!

I'd recommend this B&B to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy_H_0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here whilst walking the West Highland Way. We were given a very warm welcome by Heather, who also provided tea and home made cakes, which were delicious. The accommodation was very comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was yummy with, amongst other goodies, home made scones. I would highly recommend the trout - perfectly prepared. Heather's packed lunches also delicious and great value for money. If you get the chance do stay here. Thank you, Heather.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillianou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Four of us walking the West Highland Way arrived wet and tired to receive a warm welcome and tea and cake. Our wet things were whipped away to be dried and Heather soon got on board with our sense of humour and made sure she gave as good as she got! Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast choices were interesting and extensive. The house is conveniently located for the WHW and for eating out in the evening. We would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 212MoiraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at Tigh-Na-Fraoch for one night on West Highland Way walk. Heather was very welcoming and served us tea and home made cake on arrival which was super. The room was comfortable and I slept well. Has lovely local fresh trout for breakfast. Overall, Heather could not be more welcoming and I recommend having a chat to her if you have the time. Recommended
Very close to West Highland Way so a good stop on that route.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early at Heather's B&B, at 2pm soaking wet and cold. Took off our boots and wet clothes off and Heather took them away to be dried ready for the next day.
Was offered tea and home made cake but decided to warm up in a hot bath and dry clothes first.
Next morning I has a delicious whole trout fillet hand caught by her husband.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RanoTori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was one of the places where five of us stayed on our trek of the West Highlands Way north of Glasgow. Tigh-na-Fraoch (Heather's House) was very pleasant, a modern rancher with pleasant rooms. Heather made it for me, though. She told me that she was "mad for golf," and with a smile told me that she'd kick us out early on a Monday because she had a standing tee time! :-)

Coffee, tea and cakes upon arrival once we got cleaned up. It was a very pleasant stay and I'd go back and see if I could play golf with her.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very friendly, we were met with tea and scones on arrival. Excellent breakfast and good packed lunch. Very helpful too. Just a couple of minutes off the West Highland Way so very convenient for hikers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
0.0 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
0.0 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#6 of 7 in Tyndrum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh-Na-Fraoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-Na-Fraoch

Property: Tigh-Na-Fraoch
Address: Tighnafroach Tighnafroach Lower STATION, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tigh-Na-Fraoch Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing