We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Highland Way stop off”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Way Hostel and Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“West Highland Way stop off”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our third stop on the West Highland Way. It is ideally situated for this as 'The Way' passes right by the entrance to the Hostel and campsite.
On arrival, checking in was easy and fast. The reception also includes a small shop where some food and essential items can be purchased. The receptionist was welcoming and told us all we had to know.
The hostel building itself was really pretty good. The kitchen was large and very well equipped. It formed an open plan room including the common/dining room. This was situated centrally in the building with a corridor off either side, where the bedrooms, shower rooms and toilets were found. There were plenty of tables and dining chairs for the number of people there, although there could have been a few more comfy seats, especially when you are wanting to relax after a hard days walking, and some people are taking up all the soft seats by sprawling all over them.
The bedroom was small but adequate. We had a private twin room, which had wooden bunk beds. Unfortunately the beds had foot boards which means that when you are the height of myself and my son (6'5"), you can't stretch right out. Not a great problem, except our legs were killing us after the walk!
The shower room was good and the drying facilities were also good with a fairly large room just as you come in the door to the hostel.
If you don't feel like cooking, the main part of the village is just a short walk away and has a really good 'Real Food Cafe' , hotel/bar and of course the 'Green Welly'.
The people in the hostel were from all over Europe and all were friendly. It is a great way to meet other people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calumgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    46
    16
    14
    7
See reviews for
28
59
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tring
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here at the end of day 4 of our walk. We had difficulty finding somewhere which would take a dog so the cabin here was ideal ..and right next to the WHW. We were welcomed by a very nice lady who explained where everything was and gave us the biggest towels we had on the whole walk! The cabin was quite small but perfectly adequate for our needs. It had a wall heater and electricity. The kitchen area was large and clean and we cooked our breakfast here before leaving early next morning...in the pouring rain! The showers were hot and the washrooms spotless. An ideal stop off-and excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamTring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The perfect place to stop off if you're running or walking the West Highland Way.

A really quiet and clean hostel with good showering facilities and a great kitchen/common room area.

The owners have been spending time and money improving the camping and campervan areas and the "Hobbit Huts" and chalets give you that little bit extra if required.

A great place to stay over :)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms further away from the common room if you want a bit more peace ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Amazing quiet campsite and hostel. In the middle of the village of Tyndrum but away from the main Road, so no traffic noise. Really clean and very relaxed atmosphere.

Owners couldn't be more helpful and would love to have stayed longer.

Perfect :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camping-is-great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

What an excellent place to stay. I have stayed in the Hostel several times and would highly recommend it, comfy beds, lovely hot showers and a nice big kitchen area, and very reasonably priced. An ideal base for bagging the local Munros or somewhere to stop over if walking ( or running ) the West Highland Way, where the Hostel gets it name from, it is literally "by the way". I am going to try one of the trekker huts or Hobbit cabins next time, they look really cool. Site has a nice wee shop to stock up your supplies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 142Andy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A great place to stay after a long day's running or walking, after all there is nothing better than a good hot shower and a comfortable bed to sleep in. The facilities are good and it's very reasonably priced. I will always use By The Way when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapsed_athlete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just spent a few days at bytheway, i visit this site quite a lot, tried the new motorhome park and found it perfect, the tv point and free wi-fi are an added bonus.
The owners have put a lot of effort into making it a great place to stay, and i will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimfer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyndrum
4.5 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
21.9 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#5 of 7 in Tyndrum
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ben Doran Hotel
Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalmally Hotel
Dalmally Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dalmally
171 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Crianlarich Youth Hostel
#3 of 4 in Crianlarich
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Way Hostel and Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Way Hostel and Campsite

Property: By The Way Hostel and Campsite
Address: Lower Station Road, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By The Way Hostel and Campsite has varied accommodation. There is a bunkhouse that sleeps 26 people, two self contained chalets - one sleeps 6 and the other sleeps 4. There are three different types of huts - hobbit huts, camping cabins and trekker huts. The camping cabins and trekker huts take dogs as well. There is a heated toilet/shower/pot wash area for campers, as well as a very efficient drying room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
By The Way Hostel And Campsite Tyndrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing