We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

just returned from the tarbet hotel we were rather worried after some of the previous remarks yes the hotel is very tired and in need of upgrading but the food was good and staff very polite but good value considering what we paid

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ding20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    269
    148
    96
    96
See reviews for
101
413
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

We had read the reviews on this place, mostly tales of woe, so we were a little apprehensive to say the least. The Tarbet is in a beautiful location, there are no shops nearby, as somebody mentioned, apart from a little tea room, but who wants shops spoiling the views? There is a nice bar/restaurant about 15 mins walk from the hotel. The room was dated but spotlessy clean with plenty of hot water. The food was really good, offering three courses with plenty of choice, we never went hungry. Anybody who has complained about the portions must be either, very greedy or just likes complaining. The staff were friendly and helpful, and hard working too. The entertainment was what you'd expect for the price you had paid. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay in the Tarbet, and yes, the ice cream was frozen!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanLeedslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

Just returned from a 3night weekend at the Tarbet Hotel. For the price we paid £66 each for 3 nights - come on what do you expect. Yes the hotel could do with a revamp but the rooms and public areas were clean and kept so the entire break. Hotel staff were busy but always polite, helpful and worked their socks off. The food was really better than we expected, good choice at all meals, well cooked. Fair enough there was a certain amount of portion control and an element of 70s school dinners (potato croquets) but all in all no complaints.

The entertainment was typical for this type of hotel, but at least they put in an effort. The downers seem to want the service of Cameron House down the road where you would probably spend on dinner what we did for the entire 3 night break.

Genuine gripes were the condition of the lift, really do get this sorted but then again I could have worked the food off by taking the stairs. I found the hotel too warm, I would suggest that they turn the heating down 5 - 10 degrees and spend the money on updating the decor. Also the car park was very dark at night. Had too go out to our car one night and found it rather scary!

All in all an excellent, value for money break. Be prepared for the odd drawback but no reason at all not to go. (by the way one of the contributors here complained about frozen ice cream? sorry what do you want - I always thought ice cream was supposed to be frozen.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetmcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

lovely room ,hotel in lovely location,in desperate need of updating.Cold carboard toast every day,meals poor inedible frozen ice cream,no hot water 4 showers in other rooms also no tv,s.This place made faulty towers look good,never again,good idea 2 pass.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimboandmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed at this hotel with searings 5 days holiday,The rooms were clean,
The food was more than enough well cooked and well presented with plenty of choice on the menu, The entertainment was not the best but was ok. All the staff was more than helpfull from the porter to the general manager. The hotel could do with a lick of paint here and there as most coach holiday hotels are that we have stayed in.
The coach drivers are the best we have ever had, helpfull funny and give you good history on all the trips, in fact Graham ( the driver ) only stops talking to breath.
After reading the other reviews about this hotel we were concerned but this is one of the best coach holidays we have been on. Dont belive the bad reviews you read about this hotel, if you want value for money superb, if you want a 5 star hotel, pay £200 a night and dont go there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stenpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

for the price we paid it was good value but rooms could do with upgrade and some of the hotel . good base and in prime postion for sight seeing

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

We have never had such a horrible holiday the hotel was dirty old fashioned and not
value for money there is nothing there no shops or even a bank .cudnt use my mobile
cause no signal for virgin .The food was basic i may aswell off sat in a old peoples home for a week entertainment sad all in all i will never do another shearings holiday again ever do not do this hotel its bad .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buddy068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Property: Bay Tarbet Hotel
Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing