We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it and you won't be disappointed!!”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Went on a shearings holiday with my husband and had a very enjoyable time. As in previous reviews this is not a 5* hotel. Yes, the hotel does need refurbishing but as far as location, service & cleanliness goes we certainly had value for money. We found the staff to be very efficient and the choice of meals were varied and of excellent quality.
The entertainment was not brilliant (mainly geared towards the older person) but have to say that even pensioners were moaning about the 'acts'. Nice touch of young children showing their skills at scottish dancing and bag pipe playing.
The floorboards do creak, the shower is intermittent and the radiators make a noise but don't let this put you off as the good points far outweigh the bad points and we will certainly be going back again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 816 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2010

This has got to be the most discussing hotel we have ever stayed in our list of the problems would be never ending it is a fantastic building in the most unbelievable location right on the edge of the loch once in side you see what over development has done room 108 should only be used as a storage unit (if we had been of a big build we would not have been able to even use the toilet ) there is nothing wrong with food when bought its how its cooked it was just dreadful even the toast cold cardboard i feel sorry for foreign visitors and what an impression it makes

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bradluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

dont usually do reviews, but after reading all the bad reviews on this hotel thought i should state a few points!!
this hotel is in a perfect location for exploring loch lomond. the staff very friendly and helpfull. food was good, typical english breakfast, and evening meal was good 4 choices to choose from starter, main and dessert . nice hotel bar with entertainment, not the best but seen worse.
in general the hotel could do with a good refurbishment, beds not the comfyest and creaking floor boards but at the end of the day you get what you pay for if you want 5 star luxury go down to cameron house hotel and pay a fortune!! for a weekend break at a budget price which includes breakfast and dinner this hotel is fine.
hope this review helps!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaz082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Just enjoyed a 3 night break at the Tarbet - food, service and entertainment were excellent. Very pleasant and efficient staff. Bedrooms could do with a bit of refurbishment but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Worth paying extra for scenic view.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My son and I stayed at the hotel for four nights, on a self-drive break. My son is blind, and we were given a room with a walk-in shower, near a lift, as we had requested. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable; the food was excellent, with a good choice at mealtimes; and the staff were unfailingly courteous, friendly and helpful. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nostalgist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We live very close to this hotel but as we got such a cheap deal we decided to give it a go!

I honestly find it hard to believe some of the reviews you see on this site!! People book into a hotel paying £90 for 3 or 4 nights then expect 5 star luxury.

This hotel DOES need some work done to it. The bedrooms are tired and there definitely are signs of some condensation damage but in my limited experience it is NOT dirty.

The staff when I visited went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. We have stayed at the PITLOCHRY HYDRO which is the same company and it has been modernised so looks a good bit nicer but the service here was just as good and since we had some nice weather it was a really nice stay.

Food was ordinary but enjoyable and most people I spoke to were happy. The drinks package was excellent value and while some of the entertainment was kitchy it was all a laugh.

Must mention Gary and young David who did everything they could to make our stay comfortable.


I think some guests don't give a place a chance but please make up your own mind.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EGGBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I have travelled all over the world on business trips but I have yet to find a hotel with such ill mannered staff. I saw a waiter standing near the kitchen, PICKING HIS NOSE !!!
In addition, the room that I was provided with was not clean. There were fungal spores on the wall next to the bed.
I can only hope that you take my advice and steer clear of this place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keentraveller1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
563 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range: $77 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing