We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel - Good Facilities, Friendly Staff”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Good Facilities, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here recently with Shearings in a discrete group from our local church - 47 of us. We had a lovely large room having paid for a loch view and this was both clean and comfortable. The food was excellent with very generous portions - we both had the chef's special of haggis, neeps and tatties - the first experience of haggis for my husband - and really enjoyed it. The staff were all friendly and accommodating and the entertainment was just about the best of any hotel we have stayed in - and we have been to many Shearings hotels as we go with this group every year. The location is superb - we walked into Arrochar and went part way up the Cobbler but the weather was not fit to go further. The only downside to the hotel was that the bar and dance area could have done to have been a bit bigger and we felt that the bar prices were a bit steep - but our son and his family live in Edinburgh and that seems to be the norm for Scotland! All in all a very enjoyable week and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Worth choosing a loch view - our room no. 123 was superb and the fact that it was above the bar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianVaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did, it was a pleasure to look after you. I will pass all your comments on to all the departments mentioned, I am sure they will be very happy to hear that you found them all very accommodating. Chef will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed his Haggis as he took a long time to catch them when they were running round the mountain!!!!

We hope to see you again really soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    276
    153
    97
    96
See reviews for
104
421
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
teesside
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Arrived via sheerings trip exterior location superb, so close to walks and loch lomond.check in first class , bar area warm comfortable but small if 2 coach trips in however first class ample seating area's on ground floors. Excellant food in well appointed dining room with disabled facilities to aid a few stairs to it.very busy but polite young staff ( thanks girls especially gena ) .access to some rooms can be like a rabbit warren of corridors a lift is availble to floors . Rooms are dated but well stocked clean and warm ,staff very good and sometimes went over and above expectations thanks to all .

Room Tip: Rooms 118 119 prone to early morning traffic , as they are on corner of busy junction, however great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teessidecolonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review

It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff, especially Gina, who will be delighted to hear them.

We look forward to your return visit to the Tarbet, hopefully in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

having stayed and worked at tarbet, i can say that its an excellent experience to see loch lomond and ben lomond aswell as the arrochar alps including the cobbler even a visit to luss on loch lomond where they filmed take the high road is a must, the staff are freindly and the hotel is a good craic for a we swalley and haggis.

Room Tip: room with loch veiw, you may get the room robbie burns stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post the great review.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to all the staff, they will be delighted. Chef will be delighted that his Haggis got a mention!!!

We hope you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stopped off at this Hotel for a snack & drink as we were limited for time.
The bar/dining area is well presented and both the menu and seating area are quite modern and tasteful. The menu has the usual that seems to be on all the menus in the surrounding areas nothing out of the ordinary but what we did get was plentiful and well presented.
A nice place to stop for a pleasant drink and some food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlyjulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review about your dining experience with us.

I'm glad to see that you found the meals well presented and the lots of it, I'm also happy to read that you found our refurbished bar lounge are to be to your liking.

We hope you will drop in again for something to eat or even for a short/long break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed over Xmas from 23rd to 27th .This is our 3rd Xmas stay at this hotel and we were just as pleased on this occasion as we were on our two previous visits.
The staff,without exception are a credit to the hotel and it is thanks to the efforts of Ronnie and Kirstie that the entire 5 days ran smooth .
All meals were waiter service and were of a very high standard,with more than enough to eat.Good quality produce was used and everything arrived at our table fresh and hot.(big thanks to our waiter John)
Entertainment is such an individual thing and therefore was not to everybody's liking.However, it was laid on for us every night and there were plenty of seats for everybody,with quieter areas throughout the hotel should you wish to use them.
We upgraded to a room at the front of the hotel,with loch views.Our room 123 was large,well maintained and cleaned and presented to a very high standard.Think our housekeeper was called Ian(sorry if I've got this wrong) but a big thanks to you for your work over Xmas.
Anybody,considering a Xmas stay in this area of Scotland,should give the This hotel some serious thought.We have previously paid a lot more for a lot less and would recommend the Tarbet and it's fantastic staff to everybody
Thanks again to you all.See you Xmas 2014
Terry & Margaret - Gretna

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

It's great to read that you enjoyed your Christmas stay with us, it's such a special time of the year and for you to have had such a fantastic time is always good to hear,
I will pass your very kind comments on to all the staff and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again next Christmas.

Take care and we will hopefully see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

After having read the reviews to this hotel, I was obviously concerned about what I had let myself in for. Having returned from my break just 3 days ago, I would just like to say what a lovely time we have just had. Would like to say a big thank you to Dominque in the restaurant and Ricky our room cleaner, what two lovely people, infact couldn't fault any of the staff. Food was good and yes floors were very creaky but we found it very funny and added to the whole experience in the hotel. If your looking for peace and quiet this is the place to go. Would certainly go back again!!

Lorraine & Lesley (Lincolnshire)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 83jemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review

I’m glad that you chose to take the opportunity to visit us and draw your own conclusion and opinion on our hotel and standards

I will pass on your lovely comments to all those mentioned, I’m sure they will be very happy to hear such high praise.

We hope to see your return to the Tarbet Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton on Sea. UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from trip with Shearings. Cleanliness,staff everything but meals very good. Food was dreadful. Breakfasts were plentiful.The taste I cannot comment on as I only had porridge( hot) and toast which was always served cold as it was hanging around before being served The evening dinner was mostly disgusting on every night. Of my choices 3 were inedible and all were served lukewarm. Worst was the one with a concoction of Haggis. The presentation resembled a huge ,3 in thick by 4 inch lump of shepherds pie with a trickle of gravy.This was again lukewarm as were all the evening meals. The second worst were some things resembling fish fingers but classed as some connection with turkey. They were nearly cold and seemed to be uncooked.The veg served was a nice surprise as it all looked fresh and was fairly hot.The best offering was grilled ham slice which was good but also only lukewarm. The sweets ( although sounding nice)were obviously very cheap frozen served with exceedingly thin ,tastless,watery custard. Coffee and tea were self service and mostly luke warm as flasks were put out before entering for dinner. No labels or any indication of contents of flasks so consequently a lot was poured and wasted. Exceedingly poor after my experience in Shearings. Eastbourne.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank eenide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

I am glad to read that you thought our hotel was nice and you found the staff to also be good.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us and can only apologise for the poor service you appear to have received. I have passed these comments on to our food service team for immediate investigation.

I am sure that if these issues were raised with our management team at the time, we would have done everything to resolve these issues for you. The vast majority of the guests who dine with us do enjoy it and compliment the food.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Property: Bay Tarbet Hotel
Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing