We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor new years eve”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“poor new years eve”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

arrived at hotel 30/12/13,went up to our room like a fridge they said hotel had been closed since Friday 28/12/13 .so they gave us an electric heater.hot water would stop in the middle of a shave,basin plug did not keep water in.went to plug bed side light in moved the bed two dirty beer mats there on yhe floor plus plenty of fluff and dust,never been hooverd. there was a dirty towel hanging over the shower from previous occupents plus dirty toilet.new years eve not enough table and chairs if you did not get in quickly youdid not get a table people had to sit in the corridors dance floor like a postage stampbig enough for twenty people.both singers rubbish. bag pipes 11 25pm till11 55pm no count down to midnight no music after midnight that was it .early start for journey home cases out for 7 15 am got up at 6 15am no hot water happy n/year

Room Tip: ring hotel to make sure heating on and room has been cleaedn
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harrycolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Regarding the situation with the towel, I am aware of the situation and would like to apologise for this as unfortunately this was a error on behalf of one of our staff who was carrying out cleaning on the arrival day and accidentally left it in the bathroom. The housekeeper was immediately sent to the room as soon as you made us aware of the issue and removed the towel and apologised.

We are unaware of any further issues regarding your room as no more were reported and the duty manager and the head housekeeper inspected your room the following day to ensure there were no further issues, had these other issues you state you had been reported we could have remedied them very quickly.

New Years Eve was an exceptionally busy night (as expected) and while we are aware that we do not have a massive dance floor, I disagree with your statements regarding there not being enough seats on that evening and people having to sit in the corridors. No one had to sit in the corridors on New Year’s Eve as there were 140 seats for 130 people in the bar/function room area. I am fully aware of this as I organised and counted them.

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the entertainment on the Hogmanay, the majority of people who I spoke to on that evening seemed to have enjoyed themselves and had found it to be a good night. The countdown to the “Bells” was done by the entertainer and I will pass your comments on to him regarding this, I was present during this time as I was releasing the balloons from the net and I can only say that it was perhaps unfortunate that some confusion on the dance floor caused one or two to celebrate a bit early and as such caused the countdown to become a bit drowned out. The live entertainer finished after the bells at about 12.30pm and music was played after that until about 1am, if not longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    277
    157
    98
    96
See reviews for
104
426
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Okay. Nothings perfect. Corridors in need of painting. Hand gel dispenser hanging off the wall. As was the toilet roll holder. Lack of attention to detail.

Our twin room was spacious and a tad dark with the economy bulbs used in the ceiling fittings. Assisted greatly by the two bedside lamps.

We did not come to watch television, but the one in our room was a portable.

The staff,without exception,were a credit to the hotel industry. Nothing was too much trouble. Given that the majority of patrons thus Xmas were elderly and or disabled,i thought the staff did remarkably well. I even witnessed the manager carrying a bath board to someone's assistance.

For what we paid as self drive guests, it was ridiculously inexpensive. The food over the four days was of a good quality,and certainly plentiful. Served by young staff,of a foreign disposition,who were superb. They never stopped. Always smiling. For ever helpful. If anyone wishes to know why these charming folk can come to our shores and,ostensibly,steal our jobs,then they need look no further than this hotel to see why.

I do not drink enough to comment,but I was assured the drinks at the bar were not unduly expensive.

The 5 days may have looked like a SAGA Convention, but most folk were at least polite if not truly
friendly.

Not my first stay at a Shearings Hotel,and it will not be my last.

A much earlier review commented negatively on the carpeting of the lift interior. It was quirky. Nothing wrong with it at all.

In conclusion, read the reviews by all means. If you were paying £1k for 4 nights full board you may find reason to be critical. At £219 per person, self drive, it had to be the bargain of the year.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros1ep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your Christmas break with us and found it such tremendous value for money.

I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff regarding their attitude and professionalism, I’m sure they will be overjoyed to read such lovely comments from you.

The hotel continues to improve its decor as part of the rolling programme we have in place and I shall look in to the issues you have raised and we will press on with the programme in 2014.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

this was our first Christmas away from home ,we had a great time ,I had read some of the comments on here , and they said some nasty things ,but I can honestly say not all were true , yes the bedroom was cold but we were given another heater and that really warmed the room up lovely ,it was lovely and clean there and we were made to feel really welcome , the staff there are all helpful and so friendly , the food was lovely and a lot of it , it was a wonderful Christmas thanks to all the staff in the tarbet ,the view of the loch is stunning ,I would recommend to anyone , Ronnie the manager is one of a kind , really nice man

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for spending your first Christmas away from home with us. It was a privilege to celebrate this time of year with you all.

I’m glad that you found your Christmas break to be wonderful and will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff, I’m sure they will be delighted to hear that you thought so highly of them all.

We hope that this is the first of many visits to us and would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for 2014. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Went with Shearings in November 5 day break fantastic value for money. Coach driver very good, hotel very nice in need of refurbishment in the bedrooms, which are getting done so no complaints. Food excellant, staff very nice, entertainment great had lot's of laughs, location of the hotel very beautiful over looking Loch Lomand. If your thinking of booking do not hasitate a good time will be had by all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review.

It’s good to read that you enjoyed yourself and found the food and service to be an excellent standard. I will pass on your lovely comments to all concerned.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Went and stayed in hotel in November stayed in room 204 room very good and clean all staff all very good ronny the manager was excellent all staff were excellent don't be leave what you read on trip Advisor go and see for your self best hotel ever and best views in the world even the food was excellent and you can't beet the price and hotel was always warm

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

I would like to thank you very much for posting your kind review of our hotel.

I am glad to read that you had such a special time and that the staff and everything concerned with the hotel met your expectations.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future and wish you all the best for 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just got back from a 5 day break at the Bay Tarbet Hotel and had a great time the hotel is a little tired in some parts but our room 214 was a big room with comfy bed and very clean white sheets it had 1 double and 1 single bed for the price we paid it was ok the food was very good and the staff could not do enough for us ,The loch was just across the road and a great place if you are into walking ,This was our 1st Shearing,s break and we loved it great value for money we will be booking another that's for sure , Lovely old looking Hotel with loads of character

Room Tip: 214 room is big ok for 3 people sorry don't know about other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review.

It’s good to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the break such good value for money.
I will pass on your comments to all involved and would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for 2014.

We hope to see you back at the Tarbet soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burstwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just spent a brilliant weekend here with 46 friends and family to celebrate my birthday. We booked through Shearings, who did us a value for money package, including transport, drinks vouchers, entertainment, half day excursion and half board meals basis. The Hotel is an old hunting lodge in a fabulous location, although it is quite remote if you cannot walk too far or don't have transport. Consequently, it has creaky floorboards, areas in need of refurbishment, and some bedrooms with more dated décor and facilities than others. The staff however, were welcoming, friendly and very accommodating. The food was adequate, given what we'd paid, and as far as I know, everyone in our party was well catered for. Despite initial reservations about the "entertainment" provided, both evenings turned out to be good fun, and helped make our stay pleasurable. My only criticism relates to some of the single rooms having inadequate heating for the time of year. Unfortunately, my mum and her friend occupied 2 rooms on the first floor, which never reached a constant, warm temperature during our stay. When my husband complained about this situation, after the first night of them being frozen, the man on the reception offered them the use of one heater between them. We found out as we were leaving to come home, that there were in fact more heaters available, had the member of staff concerned not been too lazy to go and get another one! Perhaps the hotel management should place additional heaters in these particular rooms whenever they are booked out in the winter months.

Room Tip: If you travel to this hotel in the winter, beware of rooms 103 and 104. These are single rooms, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am really glad to read that you had a brilliant time with us during your stay.

I can only apologise for the confusion over the other heaters, I have gone through this with the staff member concerned and ensured that he is aware of the location of other heaters if required.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,128 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Property: Bay Tarbet Hotel
Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing