We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Claymore Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Inversnaid Hotel(Inversnaid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardgartan Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardlui Hotel(Ardlui)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveler rating
147
297
172
105
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
297
172
105
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalue for moneyhot waterbay tarbetcoach driverevening entertainmentshearings holidayfree drinksbit datedweekend breaksaturday nightstaff were excellentold buildinghalf boardsqueaky floorboardsfantastic valuefood was finethree courses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 825 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just returned from a brilliant holiday break with shearings.We really enjoyed every part of the trip.Hoetl was great.Set in fantastic surroundings overlooking Loch Lomond.Food was excellent.Room and bed was comfortable.Staff were were really polite and hard working.We only went one night for the entertainment. he was brill.
As we enjoyed the walking in the evening.The excursions were great.Saw some fantastic scenery and called at places(Glencoe,Aberfoyle,Fort William,Luss. that I had wanted to return to from previous holidays.Went on train over the remote part of Rannoch moor.Last but not least the driver (Graham)we had was fantastic,he kept us entertained the whole time.I so recommend you going.Thank you so much for a fab time.Looking forward to going to another shearings trip in the near future.Just remember you are not paying for 5star décor in your bedrooms.They are ok and didn't bother us one little bit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LincolnshireAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a lovely review.

Its good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff looked after you well.

We hope to see you return to the Tarbet in the near future

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Yes as other reviewers state there is squeaky floorboards and the TV is prehistoric with one only watchable channel but the hotel was amazingly good value. The decor was dated but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good. Dinner was good but the veg caters for the older clientle by being a little over cooked for us. Its winning point is the staff and we found all to be efficient and cheerful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkshireladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I’m glad that you found your stay with us Amazingly good value for money, this is always great to hear.

I will pass your feedback on to all the staff regarding the standards, I’m sure they will be happy to hear this as well.

We hope to see you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

But you're not paying for the Ritz!! My Wife and I recently spent a most pleasant 4 days at this lovely scenic venue and were more than delighted. We went independently by car and not as part of a group tour party though the staff were not aware of this. We were treated admirably by all the staff we came into contact with, especially by Dominic in his extremely well organised and well run Restaurant where the food was plentiful, of a good standard, and promptly and politely served. The two lads behind the Bar were polite eager to help and very efficient. The bedroom was small and dated but regularly and well serviced. Reception was always available for assistance and well represented by Kirsty and Ronnie the General Manager. All in all a most enjoyable stay at give away prices in an Hotel which is blessed with an excellent location backed up by a caring and hard working staff. We would have no hesitation in visiting again. If you want the Ritz pay for the Ritz but don't look a gift horse in the mouth.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a scenic view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank URsMrCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I agree with your comments, we are not the RItz nor do we claim to be, we aim to provide excellent value for money breaks at affordable prices with good food, staff who care about what they are doing and enjoyable entertainment, to mention but a few of our goals.

I'm thrilled that you recognised the hard work and dilligence shown by all the staff during your stay and will gladly pass on your comments to them. (Not sure about that Ronnie Chap right enough!!)

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tarbet in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Five day tour with shearings weather marvellous hotel needs work on it,food acceptable particularly breakfast big choice,trips excellent,entertainment good and no hotel could have better staff they were helpful,hardworking and most of all friendly with a sense of fun.Value for money top marks.

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank Rosalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. I will pass those lovely comments on to the staff.

When you were here we certainly enjoyed some fantastic weather, it was actually warm enough to take you jacket off!!! joking aside the weather was fantastic.

We hope to welcome you back to the Tarbet in the near future & please bring the weather with you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went on a mystery 5day trip with Shearings and ended up in Tarbet, not knowing what to expect we read the reviews and as usual a mixed bag on good and bad. Well we knew what to expect as far as the building went, an old style hotel some 200 years old with creaky floorboards and windy corridors; that was fine for us we like a bit of character.

We were in room 230, recently decorated with all new furniture including bed and all fixtures and fittings: the only downside was the en suite which was rather small and not as well refurbished as the room, however, for the cost of the holiday we were not about to complain. Our room was at the rear of the hotel with a view of the very small village and hills behind, yes you could see the car park but to all those who have previously complained about views get a life and go and look out of another window. bedrooms are for sleeping in. sit in the lounge or go for a walk.

Food and restaurant staff were good for all the meals that we had, I had read about the cheese and biscuits comments and waited a couple of days to try it, when mention to our waitress about the rather small portions she did not hesitate to bring along extra for us. I have spoken before about portion size and as most of the guests are from an older generation who do not eat great amounts of food, the portion sizes are kept quite small as you have a three course dinner with tea or coffee to follow. If you want anything extra or different you only have to ask. It is no good waiting until you get home and then write a scathing review because you are too daft, proud or full of your own importance to speak to the staff.

The staff were all very good, special mention to Diane in the dining room, Graham was our driver, a passionate and knowledgeable Glaswegian who was an encyclopaedia of information about Scotland and the area around the hotel.

So in summary, good value, good holiday, you can't pick your weather but it did not spoil it for us.

We would go mystery again and hope its not Blackpool, sorry about that

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank issytheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review

I’m glad that you appreciated the buildings character as it has this in abundance. Yes there are some areas that are a little tired, but we continue to work on this to strive to make the Hotel the best it possibly can be.

I will pass you lovely comments on to the staff, especially Diane and Graham, both of which I am sure will be delighted to hear that they had such a positive impact on your holiday.

I also appreciated your comments regarding the food served at the hotel, We do try to get that fine balance between portions and demand, its good to hear that you were happy with your situation and if asked for more, our staff served promptly and without issue.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews