We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We recently stayed for 2 nights and found the Hotel somewhat of an experience being it was our first time and we found not only the staff to be happy and cheerful and the meals good also. The surrounding area had plenty to offer in boat trip around the Loch as well as Arrochar etc we shall use this Hotel again

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davesomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 816 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2008

Booked a Shearings bargain break at quite short notice. Only paid £25 per night for bed. breakfast and dinner and were very pleased with the hotel and food. Okay the hotel could do with a bit of a facelift and lick of paint but the rooms were comfortable and service good.
Beware, there is no internet access here and considering that they seem to get most of their bookings online this seems a little strange!
Great location for sightseeing in the area.
I would recommend the hotel and would visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank treesnthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

First time Visit,Food Great,Service Great,Room Great,Entertainment Great,People Great.
We had a as you can guess from Above a GREAT time and will definitely be back,Special Thanks to the Bar staff who were first class David & Andrea.
The surrounding Area has some of the most fantastic scenery in Scotland and is perfect for walking/Climbing.Ben Lomond-Ben Arthur and many more..and to top it all the perfect place to stay,chill out and just relax after a day out.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AuldAndra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We had a wonderful few days. The hotel is atmosperic (unlike modern chains) and a lttle quirky. It is situated in a beautiful setting, almost on the loch, and the roads do not detract from feeling of peace.
The service is very friendly and you are quickly made to feel at home. Although the standard of entertainment was not very high there was no compulsion to attend and the TV lounge was available for quiet reading or board games.
The meals were good with a variety of options and were served with friendly efficiency by the young staff.
The hotel offers very good value for money and is ideal for those who seek something a bit different from the bland American- style hotels so prevalent today.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kenjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Am fed up reading the reviews about the hotel. Yes it is a three star hotel however it was perfect for us. It was clean, the food plentiful the linen on the beds were spotless , hotel was warm and the staff were very obliging.

What more do people want for a three star hotel.....

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank wandererWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

Spent 5 days at The Tarbet hotel loch Lomond. We had a Loch View Room which was both spacious and clean, unfortunatly we were over the stage in the entertainment room, I took ill while there with a very bad Chest infection, I did not want to stay up for the entertainment but in our room it was as if they were in there with us. The noise was unbearable from both the entertainers and the guests. we are not party poops by any means people are on holiday to enjoy themselves, but do feel that guests should be asked to return to there room quitly to consider other guests. I am talking about be kept awake every night until 1.45 am sometimes 2.30. my Husband did ask david the Bar Manager who is very helpful, he tried his best to keep the noise down after 12 o clock but it was a losing battle, I came home feeling quite ill from lack of sleep. Considering we had paid extra for a Loch View I would have thought we could expect peace and quite. We have stayed here before but was in a quite part of Hotel. thats my only complaint the Hotel, Staff are excellent, food for what you pay is ok, but dont think the Chef can count 2 Guests 3 potatoes, people (Group of 4) were arguing over the potatoes, Hotel spotless and in a most delightful spot, would go again but would ask for a quite room.Apparently a lot of Shearings Hotels have Bedrooms over the entertainment room, other guests told us they had experienced the same problem. Shearings need to do something about moving the entertainment where it wont disturb guests or sound proofing the rooms. there are alot of very elderly guests stay in Shearings hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatyNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Just spent a very relaxing weekend here with the attention of a very helpful, friendly,hard working staff. The room and food were fine for the money we paid and the evening entertainment was acceptable. The short female caberet act on Saturday night was excellent. This hotel was enjoyable, with the company of a wide age range of people, but is a little tired and requires a bit of T.L.C.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norm1cumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
563 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range: $77 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing