We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money break”
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Birmingham UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Value for money break”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We travelled by car from the Midlands and timed our arrival so that it was after the advised checkin time by about 45 mins . We were advised that ,as it is being refurbished there would be a delay. Invited to wait in the bar ( no free drink there then!) and had our room keys at 1700. On arriving in the room we were disappointed as we had paid a premium for a " scenic View" . The view was quite limited so we embarked on a quest for another room. Initially there was some difficulty but in the end we did get a room change. The room we were allocated was superb on the second floor and was partially refurbished, comfy bed, reupholstered chairs , we have to assume the TV;s were to be replaced soon. Tea and coffee was in copious amounts and the water was hot all the time. Great Views from our windows.
OK so now food. We were worried due to the amount we had paid £74 per person plus scenic supplement for three nights half board, with good evening entertainment every evening. Bargain....Food was of good quality and in sufficient amounts. The breakfasts were standard with porridge and kippers ( soft and juicy!) full bacon/sausage/egg/beans and tomatoes and a hash brown Toast and so on . Evening meal was good as well, the starters were small but the fact it was a three course meal with tea or coffee you did not need a large amount. The trout I had one evening was as well cooked as I have had anywhere , there was some frozen veg Puds were good as well . So overall food better than expected. Service was swift and sure with busy staff bringing hot food without delay. Only quibble was the short time slot for food. One hour for dinner is quite limiting. 6.30-7.30 pm.
Bar staff were obliging however banter was limited.No local draught or bottled beers , a pity.but I suppose it is all controlled centrally.
The ground floor has been refurbished and overall a clean but dark ground floor . The position is good but there is not a lot to do in Tarbet except the Loch Cruises , of which we enjoyed , especially the story about the Haggis factory.
Our best day out was on the train from the local station to Cruachan , see seperate report .
Overall well satisfied just wish there was time for a good refurb of the furniture and sort the creaky floors..

Room Tip: Certainly book a scenic view but be aware not all these have a "" Loch " View..Second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdwooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review

I am glad to hear that enjoyed your stay with us and found the service and meals to be of a good standard. I will pass your lovely comments on to the staff and departments involved for their reference.

The Hotel is continually improving the furniture and rooms on a rolling basis, We have made significant inroads in to this in the last 12-18 months and will continue to do this. Unfortunately the floorboards do creak in some areas but that is to be expected as it is a 350 year old building with bags of character!!

Regarding the late check-in on the Friday, unfortunately due to the corridors being cleared, the decision was taken to ensure guest safety by not allowing anyone on these floors until the work was complete, as was stated at the time of check-in, All floors were ready just after 4pm which should have been in time for your arrival. I apologise if you were given the incorrect information on this occasion and hope this did not cause too much inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    279
    163
    99
    96
See reviews for
105
431
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful looking old building the hotel is well situated beside Loch Lomond. We were there on a Shearings coach holiday. It is really a 3 star hotel that needs some major expenditure on renovation and modernising especially in the bedrooms. Our room with a view was plenty large enough but needed more storage space, shelves and pictures on the walls to make it feel more welcoming. TV was ancient and only got 2 stations clearly. Bathroom was functional at best! On the positive side the staff were great and helpful. Food was very good standard generally with excellent service by the great waiters/waitresses. Bar area was large with plenty of seating. And the scenery around is stunning with the loch and the mountains brooding over it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikerdave117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review.

It’s good to read that you enjoyed staff and the food served at the Tarbet Hotel, I will pass those comments on to the departments.
As I have mentioned in previous responses, the hotel is continually being reviewed to see where improvements can be made. We will continue this process going forward to ensure that the areas you have mentioned are addressed.

We have made great strides over the past 12-24 months and will continue to do so
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Met by a member of staff smoking at the front door, turned out to be the receptionist. Room rather small and in very poor decorative order. I paid a premium to have a view. Actually got nothing but road noise and the evening entrainment from below. Next morning went out to car park and saw a Shearings coach driver smoking in his coach. Just sums up the the overall standard of the hotel and the business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HerenowForfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Regarding the problems that you encountered, The entertainment usually stops at 10.45pm each night and usually does not disturb too much. We apologise on this occasion if that was not the case.

The Scenic view rooms boast an excellent views of the mountains and the surrounding features, but there is a road between us and Loch Lomond which can have some degree of traffic during the day however it is usually minimal at night.

The smoking incidents relating to the staff members have been passed on to the relative supervisors for investigation.

Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just returned yesterday after a weekend break at the lovely Tarbet Hotel at Tarbet on the bonnie bonnie banks of Loch Lomond . We travelled there as part of a four day break with Shearings coaches, although our coach was from a company called Lakeland. First impressions were very good, but I must say that this hotel is in the middle of nowhere, I didn't even see any shops, so really it is better served if you travel by car not coach. I have read the most recent reviews and agree with some comments, our mattress in room 225 badly needed replacing and the tv needed replacing very poor choice of channels. You couldn't fault the food it was excellent good choice and hot. Bar was good, my Shearings deal came with four free drinks each on the Saturday night, branded spirits included. Two coach trips out on the Saturday and Sunday and all this for £109 each excellent value as always from Bay Hotels and their staff and Shearings themselves. Special thanks to Aled our driver

Room Tip: Depends on what you require in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I’m glad to read that you enjoyed you stay with us and found the break excellent value for money.

I will pass on your comments regarding the food to our kitchen team who will be happy to hear a satisfied customer.

I asked the maintenance team to have a look at the mattress in that room and have had it replaced as this was the second time it had been mentioned. The T.V just required tuning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

a weekend break organised by local newspaper. Reception and public areas very nice and welcoming. Staff were helpful Meals very good.Room was very poor in urgent need of upgrading. Felt every spring in the mattress and did not need wake up call as the heating came on at 0545 each morning and banged its way through the pipes in our room.

Room Tip: refuse room 225
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I’m glad that you found the stay to be, for the most part, to your satisfaction, I will pass your comments regarding the meals and staff to the relevant departments.

Regarding the mattress and the banging pipes, I have passed this on to my maintenance officer and he will look in to this, as there was no report of this at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a week end ,weather was terrible but had a lovely week end hotel was warm staff friendly and room clean and had been re decorated what a diffrence as we have visited 3 -4 times in the past and the rooms were past there sell day .meals as usual good menu ,and resturant staff very attentive and although busy had always very professional .We had lunch in the lounge price was good and was the food Down Side after dinner coffee was always Luke warm as is in all the sister hotels ,I know trivial as you can always have a cup in your room ,We will be back again in a few months for another few days and would recommend the hotel to our friends The Downies

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for posting your review.

I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and have noticed the considerable changes we have made to the Hotel over the last few years. At a time where money is tight for everybody, Bay hotels have continued to invest in their properties and refurbish where possible.

It’s disappointing to read that you found the coffee to be luke warm, what I tend to find happen here is that too much milk is added or that it is expected that to be the same temperature as when you make it out of a kettle. I will however pass these comments on to our restaurant team for investigation to make sure we are doing everything right to ensure all beverages are at their maximum temperature.

The only thing I can change for you is the weather!!!!

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We only stayed one night on the way home from the Bay Dornoch Hotel but the hotel was excellent & the food was very good, the hotel is ideally placed for a holiday in the Loch Lomond area & we shall no doubt return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of the loch its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind review. I will pass your comments on to the departments mentioned.

We also hope that you make good on your promise to visit us again for a longer period.

Haste ye back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Property: Bay Tarbet Hotel
Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing