We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“buyer beware”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“buyer beware”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I recently stayed at The Tarbet Hotel as part of a package deal; never again! My single room accommodation was totally substandard and cold (Feb, 2013) The bathroom sink was so small I could hardly get both hands in at the same time, leaving pools of water on the floor. The food was good but the dining room was in near darkness. I didn't sample the entertainment; this hotel needs refurbishing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post you review.

I’m please to read that your enjoyed the food served to you at the Tarbet.

I’m disappointed to read that you did not like your accommodation. However, had any of these issues been reported to reception I’m sure we could have done something about them.

The Restaurant lighting is perfectly acceptable and this is the first time I have ever had a complaint about this, so I will review this and see if any changes require to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    273
    149
    97
    96
See reviews for
103
419
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked 3 night shearings self drive break over Easter and thoroughly enjoyed it. We paid extra for room with a view and the view was truly fabulous, the room itself was large, clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water, towel etc. The hotel is on quite a busy junction but across the road only from loch lomand and you can pick up a boat from here frequently to several destinations on the quieter eastern side of the loch. We used the hotel as a base for walking including stretches of the west highland way and it is excellent location for this. The food and entertainment were a little mixed, some nights good and other not so good. The hotel has some lovely Victorian features, the staff were good. It is not a country house hotel but for what you pay it is good.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view . We had 123 and the view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post this review

It’s great to read that you enjoyed your Easter break with us and found it to be good value for money

The views from the scenic room are excellent and I’m glad that you took the time to appreciate them and enjoy your surroundings, including the boat trips which are both informative and relaxing.

I will pass on your comments regarding the food and entertainment, I apologise if you feel that was not up to our usual standard

We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked Easter Weekend with Shearings, on arrival we encountered a problem when checking our room key and id room card to find no drinks package card for the inclusive drinks package we had paid an upgrade for, on returning to reception, we were told in uncertain terms THERE WAS NO DRINKS PACKAGE ON OFFER THIS WEEKEND. in a curt way, i asked to see they duty manager and again was informed we had only booked half board, having travelled with coach holidays before i had highlighted certain requests and other important things i may need to refer to , i showed the manager the Yellow highlighted documents showing the upgraded paid for the drinks package, finally after seeing this a photo copy was taken and we were handed our 4 drinks per day id card.great start to the weekend, later that night we went for a drink and produced the cards no problem bar staff very good , we sat down and enjoyed our drinks on observing other trippers using these cards I spoke to a few and they said had encountered the same problems when booking in. anyway that problem sorted.
The hotel is ok we had a twin room on 1st floor 131 very big but no view and creaky floor boards but not a problem we have had worse accommodation, restaurant big and waitress Joanne we had most of the stay was very good the food was ok but not very big portions, coffee and tea available to help yourselves outside the restaurant, bar area nice entertainment ok Saturday night very good he was on for over 2 hours with a bit of comedy and songs. Sunday he did more talking than singing ave seen him before at Melrose bit patronizing to the trippers and frowned at any one that wasn't paying full attention to him. the bar prices are high, beer £3,20 Carling £3,40 Guinness £3.80 so good job we had paid up front 8 drinks £15.00 per night.
the views are great from outside and Loch lomond is just 5 mins walk.but its a very busy junction the road leads to Oban and Fort William.. all in all we had a good weekend the Shearings driver was new but very competent and we didnt get his name

Room Tip: you needn't pay for upgrade unless your going to stay in your room a lot and look out of the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review

I’m glad that for the most part you have enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff polite and efficient.

I must apologise for the administration error that led to you not getting your voucher when you arrived, I have spoke to the staff member about this and our head office to ensure this does not happen again. I had to ask for confirmation as no information had come through at that time, but this was quickly resolved once you very kindly showed me the paper work.

I have taken note of your comments regarding the entertainment, especially on the Sunday night and i will pass this on for investigation.

We hope to see you again at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on here, my wife and I were dreading going with Shearings on 18 March for a five day break. How glad we were that some were nonsense. You are never going to get five star luxury for three star prices. We had a great time, the Tarbet Hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and the food adequate, with a good choice. Our driver, Graham was funny and knowledgeable, and the trips out well planned. The evening entertainment was the best we have seen overall on this, our third break with Shearings. So the floorboards did creak, what do people expect from a hotel this old? Finally, we came back in some of the worst snow of the year, and arrived back into the Normanton interchange about 20 mins late, well done Graham. Hope you enjoy your holiday in loch ness. Alan & Carole Goy

Room Tip: Try and get one overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank classicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review

It’s good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to draw such positives from it.

I will pass your comments on to Graham as I’m sure he will be delighted to hear that someone actually found him funny!! Joking aside he is a very knowledgeable driver with a wealth of facts and information built up over years of doing these tours.

We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just returned from a Mon-Fri break at this hotel, thoroughly enjoyed our stay, found the food to be of a very good standard, especially the breakfast, staff were first class, polite, hard working and professional.
Entertainment was very good, local amateurs (pipes and dancers) and also pro singers and comedians, occasional bingo.
Found the rooms to be of a acceptable standard, a little dated (TV should have freeview/flatscreen), but for the price we paid perfectly OK, pay for a Loch view as this is well worth the extra (we had R132).

The bar area is comfortable,this has been refurbished since we last stayed.

All in all, great value for the price paid.

Room Tip: Pay for a Loch View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LochLeeGlenesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It’s good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to be to your enjoyment.

I will pass your excellent comments on to all the staff and the entertainers, who will be happy to hear the positive feedback.

The Televisions are due to be updated in the near future on a rolling programme, but unfortunately due to our location, we are unable to get the range of channels that most other places can get despite several technicians visiting the hotel.

I totally agree that the scenic view rooms are certainly worth that little bit extra as they provide some stunning views of the local views.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel could not be faulted as far as value for money and friendliness of the staff were concerned. The food was nothing to write home about. The hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment and a very deep clean (the inside door of the lift does not close properly because of the dirt in the groove). Because the hotel caters for the more mature market many guests like to spend some of the evening in their room watching TV or accessing the internet on their tablet/laptop. The hotel has NO wifi access. Speaking to other guests, I get the impression that all the TVs in the rooms are old fashioned models from, the 1960s and 1970s. The only watchable channel was BBC1. I would prefer to pay a little bit more and have wifi and a reasonable selection of TV channels in my room. There are only two parking spaces dedicated for disabled guests and I have been told that the parking spaces close to the hotel are mainly taken up by staff. I would not recommend this hotel if you have mobility problems or intend to spend time in your room watching TV or accessing the internet. It is definitely the worst Shearings hotel I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Room 122 was adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewSElgin_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I’m glad to read that you found this break good value for money, however I am a bit confused as to where the rest of the review went after this.

Firstly, the hotel is subject to a continual refurbishment/maintenance programme and has had a substantial amount of work done in the public areas, bedrooms and lounges. There is more work planned for this year on top of our own rolling refurbishment.

The lift doors do close properly and the lift itself is subject to a continual inspection programme by a specialist contractor, it is true to state that we do not have wifi and that our T.V’s are slightly older models. We have five channels due to the location and all are in working order, should there have been any issue with your reception we would have been able to sort this problem if notified.

There a two designated disabled parking bays, however there are several parking bays just across from there and they are certainly not taken up by staff. I will look at the possibility of putting in further disabled bays in the near future if demand requires this.

The hotel is perfectly accessible for any person with limited mobility as all public areas are on the ground floor, there is a lift to all other floors and very few rooms have any steps to them.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just had a 5 day break to Tarbet Scotland and great value for money trip. Location on
Loch Lomond was superb and outside of hotel so pretty. Rooms are a bit tired but reflected in price. Food not the best I've had but service was really good from the main guy waiter but could have been much quicker in his absence. Bar staff were really good as were the drinks offers. Entertainment was much better than expected with Jay on Tuesday having a world class voice, Des on Wednesday was a hoot and Robbie Thursday was a great bloke. Graham our driver was the highlight of the holiday with his stories knowledge and jokes. All trips were great value for money and would recommend this trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmTarbet, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I’m happy to read that you found the break such good value for money and that you enjoyed our entertainment schedule.

I will pass your comments on to the staff regarding service and also ask the Restaurant manager to investigate your issues.

We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
404 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Property: Bay Tarbet Hotel
Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing